We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remembering it's a condo and not resort, then it's pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Remembering it's a condo and not resort, then it's pretty good”
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We stayed in room 346 which is a 1 bedroom suite. Overall and good stay. Just remember it's a condo, not a resort so don't compare with that and it's the only reason why it's a 3 out of 5 stars. Front desk service was good when we checked in or when we had questions. Plase was pretty clean. Small resort but had what's needed. The 2 pools aren't very big but it wasn't busy at all during Septemer and pretty much had access to it at all times if we wanted. Though, I have to admit we spent most of our time beach hopping and checking out the island than at the place. Fitness centre was decent. Internet would cut out now and then so if you're going for business, probably not good for you.

Sleep accomadations were decent. Room was garden facing but that refers to the balcony off the living room area, not the bedroom. The window in there was more a sky window you can't see out of and since that faced the front of the hotel and beside the resort next door, it was noisy at times but bareable. Again, we weren't planning on spending much time there. Beach small but since majority of the beaches on Maui are public access, we were planning on checking out the other beaches anyways.

Kitchen was adequate with everything you need. Grocery store conveniently across the street. We intentially picked a condo resort not only because it's cheaper but so we can make our own breakfasts and pack lunch/snacks to bring on the road when needed. Microwave above the stove didn't work, including the vent/fan for the stove. They did provide a 2nd microwave though.

Washing machine leaked once with soap suds and all but we didn't even use it. Must have been a leak in the pipe from one of the suites either above or below us. Called it in and took several hours for them to come but was done by the time we left and came back after dinner.

Resturant onsite was convenient but service was REALLY slow so don't go if you're in a rush.

Overall, a decent place with good value for the price you pay, clean and comfortable. Again, not bad if you remember it's a condo and not a hotel resort. Would recommend if you're just looking for a comfortable, afforadable place to stay that's not far from everything.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpyoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,192
    858
    292
    121
    44
See reviews for
1,062
798
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Our 10 day stay at KS was great! We rented a 2 bed, 2 bath ocean front condo (361) directly from the owner through VRBO. The ocean was less than 40 feet from our lanai and we could hear the waves even with the glass doors closed. Condo had A/C, too. The kitchen was outdated and carpet was kind of gross, but the beds were very comfortable and the view more than made up for any faults. Be warned: if you rent directly from the owner housekeeping is NOT included so you'll be making your bed and washing your own towels. This was a suprise to us when we arrived. We ate in the restaurant a few times and the food was good (coconut coleslaw!)

The pools were very clean and always lots of lounge chairs available, but there was not much shade. Grocery store right across the street and Farmers Market on M/W/F mornings just down the road made it easy to eat in the room with our 2 year old.

The beach is a little small, but that was fine for us. It was easy for our 2 year old to walk to water to splash in the waves. There is a reef along the beach and my husband said it was good snorkling. There were also free lounge chairs on the beach.

Maui Grill at Whalers Village and Bubba Gump Shrimp Co in Lahaina are both very family friendly (lots of strollers and toddlers) and have good food.

We would stay here again, but book directly through the hotel next time. It was kind of a drag washing towels during our vacation, and we had to rent a crib from a private company instead of getting a free one from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbieDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, October 8, 2010
Yes, if you booked through the Aston rental program you would not have been using your vacation time to launder towels and would have received not only daily housekeeping services, but also immediate maintenance response should a maintenance need have arisen during your visit. And, yes, you would have received a free crib... Glad to hear you enjoyed overall! Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2010

I was traveling with my mother and we rented a one bedroom hote. Got an ocean view on the 5th floor which we were very satisfied with. The room was decorated very nicely, clean, and the king size bed was quite comfortable. The accessability to shopping and everything else we were interested in was great!. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, and the pools were wonderful. We were quite pleased to see that the ocean front pool was heated and quite warm. Loved our stay there and would definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindym2955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Overall good, okay location room was updated recently.
Loved the full kitchen, really dislike the pool area always crowded & the restaurant is overpriced also the salon was trying to charge $20.00 dollars for a nail polish change.
People at the front desk was okay not very friendly but not rude.
We would probably try a different hotel next time but is a great value for a big family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyPos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolono, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We were upgraded when we got there from a hotel room to a one bedroom condo. We had a partial view of the ocean. Very nice place. The beach was small, but we are not beach people. It had two hot tubs and two pools. It was easy access to get around. Very nice, clean place with friendly staff. Very, very helpful with anything we asked. We would stay there again. A small shopping mall across the street with a little grocery store, some little restaurants and a few other things. There is a mall not far from the hotel that also has a grocery store, restaurant and clothes shopping. It was about a 30 minute ride to the pier where we took a snorkle boat trip. Maui is beautiful. You can do a lot or as little and be satified. We drove the road to Hana. We had a rental car. It is a long ride and sometimes the road is narrow and a very slow drive (no more than 30 miles per hour at most) but it was a good trip and we are glad we did it. Not much when you get up there. One little restaurant and a couple little shops. But you are going for the views and not shopping! I would stay at Aston hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kreeves2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2010

This was our third trip to Maui and the third time we stayed at the Aston Kaanapali Shores. Our first visit was in April 2008, the door to my bedroom would not close. We phoned the front desk to get it repaired but no one ever came to fix it. We had an ocean view and it was great because we were able to see the whales. The second year we stayed there was in September 09 and the room we were assigned again had an ocean view which was spectacular. Only real problem was that the room we stayed in must have been converted to a two bedroom and the door locked automatically from the inside which made it difficult since we both didn't go to bed at the same time. The second bedroom the windows didn't open and it was always hot in there. This year we went in September and we were really disappointed. Our flight arrived earlier than we had expected so we picked up our rental car and a few groceries. By the time we got to the resort it was after noon and we had to wait to have our room cleaned supposedly. When we got into the room there was still hair from the previous tenants on the bathroom floor. The carpet was filthy and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a long time, the sliding glass door didn't close completely, one of the pillows to the chairs had a rip in the side of it. Housekeeping started coming in at 9 o'clock while we were still there. Later on in the week they would come later and they did a poor job of cleaning. All they pretty much did was replace our towels and throw out the trash and make the beds. They left sand on the floor and hair was left on the floors and in the tub. It was disgusting. Next year we will be staying somewhere else. Other than that they have great accommodations although I wouldn't recommend the restaurant unless you're too tired and don't want to go somehwere else to eat. Although there's a great pizza place across the street that we would highly recommend Pizza Paradiso, otherwise make arrangements to cook your own food or eat somewhere else. It's very pricey and the food is pretty blah. Oh and the beach in front of the resort was littered with cigarette butts that was gross!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kozmobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

The long span of sandy beach and friendly waters enticed us from morning to night. The sounds we heard and sights we saw were those of nature, not of crowds. The staff was very friendly, and the grounds were colorful and well-groomed. We discovered a gem in the restaurant on property with its varied and well-priced breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. My husband and I were so blessed to have been able to stay here. We leave refreshed and renewed. By the way, the Aloha Suite has one of the most spectacular views we have ever had, and we have had numerous visits to the islands during the last 20 years.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joelhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
3,996 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Property: Aston Kaanapali Shores
Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing