We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would happily return (and would recommend it to anyone)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2007

We stayed at the Kaanapali Shores for four nights in early December. The complex deserves it's good reviews on tripadvisor: we were pleased with both our room and the hotel in general. After walking up and down the beach and peering in at other properties we could have chosen, we were very happy with our decision.

We arrived on a Tuesday at around 1pm; there was no early checkin, but I consider that a bonus, not a requirement. At 3pm, we were given room 249 (see map I uploaded), which was a one bedroom garden view (total for four nights came to $800 via orbitz). The location was great - try to avoid the rooms right near the parking as those seemed like they would have been noisier to me (such as 39, 41...) - and I was happy that we weren't on the first floor (more privacy.)

Our room was very spacious, with a wonderful king bed and nice linens. The living room was also very large, and the deck outside was great for sitting on and drinking wine. Everything was clean. Some notes: the kitchen had no food whatsoever (eg olive oil, spices, etc) so bring anything you might want (there was salt + pepper.) The w/d did come with laundry detergent for one load; perfect for us. Check your apartment carefully; it wasn't until the last day that we realized boogie boards were stashed under the bed.

In general, we found the resort pretty quiet and relaxing. The beach had plenty of lounge chairs, although the pool did fill up on the nice days. The bar didn't completely rip you off (drinks were about $6 each) and the restaurant food, although not the best cuisine I've ever had, was suprisingly decent. The staff was attentive: one night we spilled a drink on the bed sheet and someone came up immediately with new sheets.

Evenings are very relaxed: we spent time in the hot tubs or listening to the many birds that visit and sing at night.

One great perk we didn't expect: we checked out early Saturday morning and took an all-day snorkeling cruise (our flight left late that night.) When we returned to pick up our bags, we were given keys to a vacant room so we could shower and dress.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank janinep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,559)
There are newer reviews for Aston Kaanapali Shores
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,288 - 2,294 of 2,559 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2006

Went to Maui over Christmas with all my brothers and sisters and my parents to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary – total party of 25 in five separate condos. We stayed at Kaanapali Shores, a solid condo resort north of Kaanapali and Lahaina. If you are looking for lots of upscale touches and luxury (eg Four Seasons), this is not the place. However, it serves as a solid choice and a great base to explore Maui from the west side. The 2 BR unit was spacious enough - king bedded in master, two twins in other BR, a pullout couch in living room. Beds were quite comfortable. Living area had a nice kitchenette (sink, microwave, dishwasher and fridge, along with basic utensils), along with a dinette table and living room area and cable TV. It worked great for us and our four kids under 9. The grounds were nicely manicured and there is both an ocean side pool and a smaller pool more set back from the beach. Each room had a nice lanai to hang out on.

Definitely a family crowd here - a lot of kids. The location is also not on the main stretch of Kaanapali Beach, but two miles north in Honokawai, and not easy walking distance to Whalers Village, etc. There is a convenient strip mall just across the street with a Star Market (large grocery store) where you can pick up drinks, snacks, etc.

We spent mornings at the resort – early swimming in one of the two pools, and would then go out during the day and explore the island and better beaches, and might return for a late afternoon swim. We split our meals, eating about half in the condo and half out. The beach in front of the hotel is so-so - often windy like the rest of the area, sand mixed with lava rocks and not all that great for swimming (although always good for a daily plunge). Lots of activities for families, hula dancing lessons, sunset stuff, etc... Also had a good, informative island briefing on the first day by expediaFUN. They booked some of our stuff and did a decent job with good pricing. A woman named Kai was very helpful. Housekeeping did bed-making and towel service and vacuuming each day.

Parking is great in the garage, as we could park on the second level then walk 25 yards to our condo doors on the second level. In summary, solid choice on the west side – especially if you have kids. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2006

We spent 2 nights there to complete a week on the back of 5 days at the Westing Ocean Resort Villas. Evidently, all of these rooms are indivicually owned. The first one we were given was owned by someone who did not spend a dime on it in over 15 years! Original appliances, and thread bare carpet. Front desk lady, Rachel, was gracious and got us into another room that was much nicer, but not a good feeling that it is a roll of the dice at to weather you get a nice room. Very nice grounds and pool, restaurant, just basic, adequate.

Good location, great coffee across the street, Java Jazz. Good thing as they do not have free coffee beyond the first night the restaurant coffee was dishwater.

Charge you extra to park each day, and even $2 to use the safe! It is already there!?

Generally, it feels well worn, carpet in the lobby in dire need of replacing and the A/C units are horribly loud. Happy it was only 2 nights.


Stayed: December 2006
8  Thank RJM-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2006

Our honeymoon was from OCt 18-26th. The 1st week we spent in Honolulu (Hilton Hawaiian Village) but this week in Maui is what we were really looking forward to. Come with me now as I recap our wonderful experience on Maui & at the Kaanapali Shores (here on out referred to as RKS). After flying 6000 miles to get from NJ to Oahu I couldn't have been happier to be taking a 35 minute flight. Open seating, you get on, strap in, get some guava juice or a coke & you land, that's it! Of course you still have to get to the airport 9 days before you take of to go through screeing but hey, that's the world we live in now. When we pick up our luggage you exit the terminal I was a little confused, there are car rental buses that are going by but not stopping, so you walk 100 feet to the right & there are the car rental agencies. You get there & a sign says if you have a reservation then go back to the terminal & board a bus to pick up location??? Anyway right behind this sign is a pick up location that everyone gravitated to so we went around & it was very crowded for Enterprise (lowest rates). We kinda made it to the front of the line by approaching from the right hand side but we felt like we cut the line we waited for a bus to fill up & just took the next. Note: people who just came off of 9 hour flights are a bit cranky & will easily demonstrate this on line, especially that little Southern Belle who became the pack leader of the line & insisted we were cutting when we politely waited for an entire bus to fill up, but we just came off a 35 minute flight so we weren't. We get our jeep & it was yellow! Yellow? Yes, only in Maui would I ever be cool with this so Hakuna Mattata, we left for RKS. Being to Maui once before I vaguely remember how to get to Kaanapalli but it came back pretty fast, it's not hard at all.

Now for RKS, we arrive & check in & our room isn't ready, not a big deal it is 2pm though, but we get free drink vouchers (yeah) & head to the pool. Bartenders & staff are very nice. The drinks here are CHEAP. I mean price not quality, especially coming from Oahu where you had to take out a 2nd mortgage for happy hour. $3.50 for a beer! $6.50 Mai tai's etc. The Met's are losing to the Cardinals back home & everyone looks really cold (he-he) so we head back to the desk & our room was ready & we got a honeymoon upgrade. Thanks to the dude behind the counter who hooked us up! We get to our room & it's kinda far from the beach but it's huge, it has a kitchen, a huge lanai (balcony), it has a partial ocean view & it's a good deal so we are happy. We also got a $100 food & bevg credit which we wiped out in one meal there but it was a nice little perk.
The room: reading other reports I can confim this: it does have a slightly musty smell, nothing major, the bedroom faces the parking lot & there are thin walls there but no where else in the room, the kitchen has some antiquated appliances but they all work, the AC was pretty weak & it was also pretty loud on high. They make up your room around 3pm each day, a little late & they don't do much more than the bedroom & bathroom but no big deal. What I didn't like about the room: TV in living room had volume that would change drastically when you changed the channel, the tub had a drain that had to be pulled out completely to keep from filling up the tub. These were minor things to us though. I would go back there in a heartbeat.
The grounds: Could not ask for more, spacious, huge pool with an actual deep end & a bar right there. Beach looked much bigger when we were there then I remember seeing in pictures so that was good, too rocky to swim right there though. Pool has a glass fencing around it b/c it can be windy, nice touch. We used Expedia desk to book a tour without incident & it was competitively priced, sundry shop there was way too expensive! $9.00 for cereal?? Shop across the street at supermarket. Lot's of parking, just go into 5 level garage if you can't find any in front.
This place is very nice, very pretty has some mileage on it but the people are friendly, the price is good & it's a great location so feel free to stop having any concerns about here unless you are the type that has a problem with how much evian spritz they give you poolside at the 4 seasons.

Activities: We did sunset cruise, not really worth it booze was really cheap quality & pupu's were lame, besides you don't really feel like drinking after you are on board for more than 20 minutes.
Helicopter tour-A MUST! We used Alex-air & had a one hour tour, beautiful!
Snorkel Tour- the afformentioned Expedia desk-we went to Molomini & Turlte Town-MUST DO! Totally worth it, Pride of Maui crew was very nice.
Luau-Make sure you do your homework & pick the right one. The cheaper they are the more you suffer. We did the Feast at LELE. It was PERFECT! Had our own table instead of farm tables, no buffet, we had servers & show was really good. Food was interesting so go with an open mind, drinks top notch. Only thing that bothered me was they take your picture & you can buy them affter but they have 4 sizes of the picture & you have to buy all of them or none.
Road to Hana-we got there a week after the earthquake, got up early & were at Hana by 11 am. Great pace, however 4 miles past Hana a little rinky-dink bridge was out so we could not go all the way around. I almost cried (no not really) b/c that meant I had to drive 3 hours back the way I came & now against traffic across all of these 1 lane bridges & hair pin turns while people coming from the other way were'nt really paying attention. It was a tough drive & I was fried when we got done. But no sacred pools, no Tedeschi winery, oh well.

Dining-RKS reataurant was pretty good, didn't eat there after we used our credit.
Ruth's Chris-great steak, great wine, great scott, the bill!
Longhis-Very good Italian food.
Moose McGillacuddys-go there for burgers, wings, beer for lunch, dancing at night.
A word on pizza-Being from NJ I know good pizza, it is impossible to find good pizza on Maui, so don't expect it ok?
Can't remember the others but pick up a book on where to eat & you'll be fine.
So in summary RKS-very nice, Maui oh so nice much better than Oahu. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank devilspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2006

We stayed for 6 nights a week before Thanksgiving 2006. Didn't get the ocean view but the room has a kitchen, microwave and refrigerator and roomy.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank amulyadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2006

Booked a privately owned 2 bdrm/2 bath condo via VRBO. Was not sure what to expect as I stayed in Wailea last time.

I was most pleasantly surprised. Our condo (359) was beautiful and its lanai offered a gorgeous view of the ocean. Our condo was renovated in 2005 and because you rent directly from the owner, you know exactly what you're going to get. Loved the condo.

As far as the grounds go, the location just north of Kaanapali Beach was very convenient to Lahaina, Black Rock and Honolua Bay. KS also enjoys a very nice, sandy beach in front and beach chairs were always available.

The oceanside pool is a simple rectangular pool, nothing spectacular. However it, and the grounds, are well kept and clean.

The restaurant offers a nice variety of (for Hawaii) low to mid-range priced food (e.g. a burger is $12) and drinks (around $6 for a fruity cocktail). Next door (Embassy Suites) has more dining options if you want something within walking distance.

The only negatives I can think of is that it's $9/day to park and there is no oceanside walking path like the ones you will find along Kaanapali Beach or in Wailea.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LisaRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2006

We stayed at Kaanapali Shores mid Oct and had a great experience. Staff was very professional and friendly. Location is perfect...there's plenty going on if you like to be active, and it's quiet enough to just relax. Only a few minutes drive to the tourist areas if you want to take that in. We plan on returning to this area and will stay at Kaanapali Shores again, nothing about this condo that we would change. We had several meals and drinks at the bar/restaurant on site...excellent...and the shops in the facility had everything you would need in a pinch if you didn't want to leave the area. All in all, great vacation, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank wasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,094 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,066 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $228 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing