We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aloha at Kaanapali Shores”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2006

Enjoyed our stay at Kaanapali Shores in Maui! The hotel staff are always pleasant and very helpful. They even go out of their way to greet you even when your just passing by in the hallways. The property is beautiful and the location is superb. Your right on the beach but if you want to sit at the pool you can still enjoy the incredible view of the ocean. The restaurant has great food and again great views of the ocean. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel for a vacation. SK

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SKLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,381 - 2,387 of 2,636 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2006

My wife and I and two boys 8 and 4 stayed here from Oct 5th to the 14th and it was great. We stayed in room 603 which is an oceanview 2 bedroom 2 bathroom room.

The room was very clean with updated furniture, tile flooring, full kiktchen and three tvs. The tile in the showers was chocolate brown straight out of the 1970's but very clean. The room overlooked the main pool and restaurant with a great view of the ocean and the island of Lanai.

The beach has good snorkleing right off shore and depending on the surf can have quite a bit of coral, but just about every beach in Hawaii has coral.

The restaurant was very good, try the seafood alfredo it is really good. Service is good not great. You also get a $100.00 food and bar credit to use at check-in.

Questions e-mail me at parts1595@yahoo.com

Star grocery store is right across the street so you can load up on drinks and food to keep in your room. The prices are a little steep but hey it's paradise.

The in room kitchen has all the basics to cook with and a coffee pot, toaster, microwave, full oven and full size frig. The maids don't do dishes but they make the beds up daily and resupply towels, toiletries etc.

Lots of families honeymooners, and older folks so it is a nice mix of people. There are two pools and two spas on site as well as a little convience store, souvenir shop, spa, realty office, internet access for 15 cents a minute on the hotel computers, and they also have free wi-fi if you bring your laptop.

Over all this place gets four stars out of five with me and my family. If you want true five star accomadations this is not the place for you. But if you want a clean room, very polite staff and a good location stay here and give it a try. I would defintely stay here again. This was our 3rd time to Maui in six years. Maui is the best.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ramonaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2006

I booked a 2 bedroom, 2 bath ocean view condo. My advise is to ask for a condo that faces the SUNSET. Tell them you want a room with a lanai that has a great sunset view. We got a great view on the 9th floor (we asked for a top floor for the great views) but we could not see the sunset because the building was in the way. We went down to the pool to watch the sunset and they are magnificent!! The beds were very comfortable. The beach out front is a little rocky with coral, so we drove to the sheraton beach front and went snorkeling there instead. The staff was great and the $100 included restaurant certificate was great with costco.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank falele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2006

We stayed at this resort at the end of September. When we arrived at check-in we were greeted very nicely, however, during the check -in process the phone rang and the person helping us took the phone call. She began offering information to the guest on the phone while we stood and waited for her to finish checking us in. We feel that the phone call should have been put on hold and our check-in process completed first. Our 1 bedroom oceanview room was on the 9th floor. We had a great view of the garden area as well as the ocean. The condo itself appeared to have been recently updated with paint, carpet and new furnishings. The kitchen appliances were old and could stand to be replaced. The refrigerator either froze your items or kept them luke warm. The bathroom was clean but it could also use some updating by replacing the tile in the shower, new tile on the floor and replace the sink. The restaurant had pretty good food and the prices were fairly reasonable. We ate there for 2 breakfasts and one dinner. We also had trouble with finding a place to park especially if you came back after 9:30pm. The charge of $9 a day to park is quite excessive. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this property and would recommend it to our friends and family. After reading some of the other reviews, we would tell them to make sure that they requested an updated unit when they make their reservations.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WORLDTRAVEL1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2006

My husband, two kids (4 and 2), mom, and I just returned a few weeks ago from 7 days in Maui. We loved the Kaanapali Shores. It was family-friendly, had a decent beach and two great pools to hang out at.

We stayed in one of the condos and paid for a garden view but from our lanai we could see the ocean and Molokai. It was amazing. The garden was gorgeous and the restaurant was pretty good. Everything we needed was either at the resort or right across the street in a small stripmall with a grocery store.

The staff was friendly and helpful. It was nice too because we had an Expedia Fun desk right at the resort to sign up for activities and their prices were much better than booking directly.

The resort was just a short drive from Front St in Lahaina so lots of food choices and shopping were close by. We also had a local farmers market about two blocks away that we walked to and bought fresh pineapple and other goodies to munch on.

There was a good italian/pizza/sub shop right across the street. There was also a Mexican joint and a sushi bar but we didn't try those but they were handy.

The room was great. They did want to charge us $20/day for a rollaway bed. We cheaped out and bought a $15 sleeping bag at K-Mart and had our 4-year-old sleep in that. It was worth it. Who wants to blow another $140 on a bed?

I would highly recommend this resort. We had a great time and hope to return someday soon!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank vandiepen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

If your looking for average rooms, average accomodations and average property for an average price this is your hotel. If your looking for a little more than average than this is not your place to stay.
First, The room had a musty, moldy smell that we could not get rid of........The property was very average, nothing extravagant. Pools were small. On the plus side, the hotel employees were very nice and helpful. It's too bad the hotel didn't help their cause.

In a nut shell, you could probably find a better place to stay for the same or better price.

I would not recommend this to my family or friends...

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kevbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

We occupied a two bedroom Ocean View Suite for three days in mid September. The hotel did not inform us that one of the two bedrooms would have twin beds, and since we were two couples traveling together, we had to flip a coin to see who would get the main room with the King Size bed. We lost and actually considered sleeping on the pullout sofa since my husband's feet were hanging off the twin. The room was at the very end of a hall, so we actually had an excellent view of the ocean and pool area. The room was large, but very worn out, the decor looked like Miami Beach in the 1960's and the carpeting, appliances and bathroom fixtures need serious updating especially for the going rate. The beach was nice and relatively uncrowded, the pool bar area is small, but there was also a small restaurant adjacent, however we did not try it. The Parking was extra and very crowded. The area has a lot of hotels, shops and restaurants nearby. The desk staff was helpful and friendly. I do not believe I would stay there again however since they charge extra for almost everything and it is so run down.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank id72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,285 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,185 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $262 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Vacatia, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing