We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best resort in HI” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Kaanapali Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best resort in HI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

Me, my to younger sisters, and parents went to Kaanapali for a week. It was so amazing, they redid the place with in two years and it is so modern and above average!! The two pools where the best pools in Maui, and the restaurant was great. The $9 parking was a little pricey, but other wise everything had a good price.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dtoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    840
    284
    119
    42
See reviews for
1,032
780
46
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

This was our first trip anywhere, basically, so I wasn't sure what I was expecting but what we got was terrific! Clean room, spactious and fully equipped. Hotel claimed it was on the beach and it was! Didn't spend much time in the room but we were well taken care of when we did! Would have preferred to be further down the shore, but once we got our bearings realized we weren't that far away from any attractions or restaurants we went to! Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maui32010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

We stayed here for 9 nights in March 2010. The property is about 45 minutes from the airport. Once we arrived, we initially received probably the worst condo in the place, dark dingy and right off the parking lot. We were not happy and needless to say the night staff did not seem to concerned about it. In the morning we even thought about looking into moving to another place completely until we inquired at the font desk about an upgrade. They did have an ocean view unit available for a minimal upgrade price so we took it. We moved later that day and were very satisfied. The complex is large, very nice to have a restauarnat on the grounds that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food is ok, but not bad. We swam in both pools, the beach pool was heated and the garden pool was not. We did not use any of the amenities such as acitivities desk, etc but we did have great wait service at the beach side pool for lunch and drinks while laying around.

The rooms are ok, you have to ask for an updated unit and even though we did, the first place was clearly not updated, but our second condo was. The resort for the most part is quiet. The on site shops are nice and the grocery store across the street came in handy. Not too crazy about the $9 a night for parking but that seems pretty standard or the fact you had to pay to use the health club. The free high speed innternet was spotty. All in all a great place, we would return!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

This was an excellent location to escape the winter weather of the Dakotas. We found the room to be clean, well furnished, excellent ocean view, nice beach, excellent pool area, and convenient parking. The staff was very friendly and cordial. I really enjoying the facilities available for grilling. March was an excellent time to whale watch!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

This condo/resort is located about 45 minutes from the main Maui airport on the western shore. A popular location just north of the whaling epicenter of the late 19th century - Lahaina. The facility is beautiful - beautiful grounds, nice pool area, a nice restaurant (reasonably priced) overlooking the pool and ocean. Our studio room was very adequate. The bed was comfortable, bathroom area very large and all worked well, it had a full kitchen which was minimally stocked ( a few plates, glasses, some silverware, a few pots). Our main purpose for our week was to relax and catch some sun. The pool area served us well. We did takes some drives around Maui - perhaps 8 hour round trip with a lunch stop to Hana (far eastern shore) and back. Beautiful adventurous drive with many switchbacks and one lane bridges.
There is a large grocery store across the street along with Subway, Mexican restaurant, Pizza Hut within blocks along with other restaurants. Lahaina, about 5-10 minutes south is a very interesting old whaling center with the usual tourist stops/restaurants. We took a whale watching adventure out of Lahaina harbor and saw many whales up close - marvelous! I did some beautiful snorkeling in a county park just north 5 minutes in Napili

We found the Kaanapali Shores a great location, reasonably priced, and very adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredandloveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

The room was fabulous, great kitchen, good housekeeping, very clean. Didn't use the pools but they looked nice. The restaurant was terrific for breakfast, dinner was only "ok".

We booked various excursions through the "local expedia" rep at the pool and consistently got better prices from him than anyone else we met up with. Our teenagers did the 4 hour zipline package for $150 and the whole family took surf lesson for $49.99 each. Great deals.

The one item that I'm surprised no one has mentioned is the wicked riptide that runs on the left side of this properties beach....and there is no mention of it ANYWHERE on Aston's grounds. From the beach you can see 3 bouys out in the water, which makes most people think 'great place to swim to'. If you walk to the adjoinging property, they have a sign up warning that this is a riptide zone. A young man from our hometown disappeared there this year. There is a cairn set up right under the warning sign. Needless to say...we opted not to use this beach the entire time we were there and never saw anyone swimming during our stay. The waves were high and the rip was so obvious that you could watch it from shore. I'm not usually a paranoid mom.

So....the snorkelling was fabulous at Honalua Bay, just a 5 minute drive north. We saw turtles, puffer fish, needle fish, and all kinds of reef life.

This is our 8th trip to Maui and as much as I thought the resort was great....the beach and rip tide had me just a little freaked out.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs. Richardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

The rooms were always clean, a problem with tub was repaired promptly as was the repair to the sink. Not much of a beach to place your lounge chair in front of hotel beach front. The room was quiet that we stayed in, but if you stay in the rooms around the gardens the birds are very noisy at times. Some of the bar staff need further training on customer service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TropicalJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.1 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
2.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Property: Aston Kaanapali Shores
Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing