We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place, Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Stay”
Reviewed December 28, 2005

We stayed in a 2 br/2 ba 7th floor condo from Nov 26 to December 7, and had a great time. Our unit was newly renovated, with beautiful granite countertops, maple cabinets, and stainless appliances. The furniture is lovely too. The grounds are immaculate, and were even prettier after they were decorated for Christmas. We didn't swim at the beach, but did go for a long walk down to Black Rock--a good way to get some exercise and get our feet in the water. The hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. Our only complaint was the ambience of drinks served at the bar--tropical drinks served in water glasses take away from the mood (the drinks themselves were good, though). Great vacation, great value for the money. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank chrisdo655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,176
    851
    289
    120
    43
See reviews for
1,047
791
46
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 26, 2005

We stayed at Kaanapali Shores for Christmas vacation. 5 adults and one child (10 yr old) We were in condo 154...ground level looking out to the garden and the beach side pool. Our condo was wonderful! Kitchen and bath featured granite counters. Kitchen also featured high end silver appliances. The Castaway Cafe was good, pools were decent size and the grounds where well kept. We didn’t like the fact that you had to pay $9.00 a day for parking even though we were guests at the resort. Beach was fine for lying out and great for watching surfers, kiteboarders and windsurfers. Yes, it was windy at times but we weren't going to let it ruin the trip. The water at our beach wasn't the best for playing in. As stated in many reviews, it is rocky. If you're looking to just relax in the sun(as we were) then it will be just fine. The location was great...easy access to shopping, dining and to all the different activites we wanted to do. Maui is wonderful as is Kaanapali Shores..will visit again!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 21, 2005

kaanapali shores was the best of both worlds...true condo but hotel ammenities....small pools but garden pool was quiet and a great place to read a book and relax...nice remodel job...oceanfront unit was beautifully done...had it all..market..shopping option..activity desk...pool bar...restaurant.
convenient location ..walkable to shopping and dining.
great staff...friendly...clean rooms...upgraded furnishings....will recommend it highly to all.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 15, 2005

The hotel was great. the people there are very nice. Didn't have a problem one. A+ on everything. It is a great spot for honeymooners like us. wished we could have stayed longer want ready to leave.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sedona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2005

As with many of the users on this site, I to was apprehensive about staying here. We had a wonderful experience. We stayed in an ocean front 2 bedroom Aloha Suite which could not have been nicer. Huge condo with great views being oceanfront. The bedrooms were comfortable and the lving areas clean and nicely decorated. I would consider these condos well above average. Our unit was on the eighth floor and gave us sweeping views of the ocean as well as Molokii and Lani. We booked our unit through hawaiiconnection.com and could not be more satisfied with the service we received from this online travel service (agent). I really felt we got a lot for the money we spent. I could see that some of the rooms at this hotel, condo project, may be somewhat dissapointing as far as the view. No complaints from us regarding housekeeping or services we received. Everyone we spoke with at this hotel was friendly and willing to help however they could. Very good location, very close drive to whatever you need and to the more tourist areas (shopping etc). Easy drive to Lahaina for all of your tours and watersport events.

The grounds as many have said were beautiful and well maintained.

The restaurant on site is quite good and we enjoyed a couple of meals there. Of course as with all of Hawaii, the restaurant was not cheap.

The only complaint we had was that the $9.00 per day parking fee. We realize that many downtown hotels require you to pay for limited parking available. This is not the case here, pleanty of parking, I just think they have you pay for it because it builds the revenue. I must say we really do feel that for the money spent it should be included. Other than that, all of us on this trip would recommend staying at the Kaanapali Shores.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank sedonaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2005

Like most of you, after reading some of the negative reviews, I was somewhat apprehensive about staying here. However, my wife and I (with our 17 month old child) had a great time. We stayed in room 822 (one bedroom suite) which had a view of the ocean (albeit far off) and it was about 800 square feet. We had absolutely no complaints about it. Granted, it's not a suite at the Venetian or the Bellagio (Vegas) but you can't expect that for the price.

The negatives:
- The pools and hot tubs aren't awesome. By that I mean, no slides or waterfalls to swim under.
- In reality, it's not on the Ka'anapali beach that everyone knows about. Both this and the Embassy Suites next door are really in Honokawai which I'm sure is the reason the Ka'anapali Shores is less expensive. What this means is that you have to drive to Whalers Village to get to the real Ka'anapali beach where all the other hotels (Westin, Hyatt, The Whaler, etc.) and activities are located. If you stay at one of those hotels you can walk along a longer sidewalk, have a wider/deeper beach and you have more choices to dine and shop (Whaler's Village is essentially an outdoor mall).

That being said, if you do choose to stay here, I don't think you'll be disappointed by the rooms. Also, the Ka'anapali Shores has a Wed night Polynesian show in front of the pool just off the beach. It's nice for families. We essentially chose it b/c we wanted a large suite with a kitchen, washer/dryer, didn't need an awesome pool area and didn't want to pay an arm and a leg.

Also, there is a supermarket literally across the street where we bought groceries. And be sure to try out Honokowai Okazuya & Deli just down the street and get the Maki Maki with lemon capers. Best mixed plate we had (and we tried many including the more well publicized Aloha Mixed Plate in Lahaina - which does have a better location (right next to the Old Lahaina Luau and the beach).

Overall, I would have rated it excellent had it been located on Ka'anapali beach. As it is, I still recommend it highly. Just know where it is and where it isn't. It's all about expectations...we did our shopping in Lahaina and eating all over the place. If you're the type of person who wants everything to be in one place, don't stay here. Of course, I'll argue that if you are that type of person, you'd be better served to stay at an all inclusive resort in Jamaica.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
34 Thank NewEnglandTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Soto, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2005

Very few of the ocean view rooms have a decent view compared to other hotels, but they a well maintained grounds and rooms. Our over all opinion was it was a nice and pleasant stay. We would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TK815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.1 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Property: Aston Kaanapali Shores
Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing