We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay (w. one exception)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Foster City, CA
221
Reviewed October 17, 2005

Had an enjoyable stay at the ResortQuest Kaanapali Shores. Stayed there for 7 nights starting from October 1.

Overall - The property is accurately described in some of the other reviews.

Room - We stayed in a 1 bedroom ocean view room. If you can spend a little bit more, the ocean view is well worth the difference. Both the living room and bedroom have ocean views. Otherwise, in the garden view room, your bedroom might face the parking lot. The room had everything needed including a washer and dryer. Room was clean and the furniture was fairly new.

Pool - Depending on what you are looking for, the two pools are – two pools. They are not spectacular in anyway, but functional. There is an evening hula show at one of the pools that’s worth checking out.

Restaurant - Our package included $100 food credit at the restaurant. Though there isn’t any room service, the restaurant allows takeout. (The view from our 8th floor was much better than the view from the restaurant.) Fairly typically hotel/restaurant menu and food quality. Though the turnaround time for orders was excellent.

Location - The property is located on the North side of Kaanapali beach. Out of everything the beach was the most disappointing part of this location. I previously stayed at the Westin (located near Whaler’s Village) and that part of Kaanapali beach is very nice. This part is very steep, a little narrow, the surf is a little rougher and has a slight undertow. The beach itself had a lot of seaweed. It wasn’t my ideal Maui beach. If you don’t mind walking about 10 minutes south along the beach, you’ll find it to be much better. Since we had two young children (2 & 4) in our party, we ended up driving to Lahaina’s baby beach and Kapalua bay a few times. Lahaina’s baby beach is located behind some houses. The surf is very calm, so kids won’t get knocked down. If you want a good beach for toddlers, ask and get directions. You won’t be disappointed. Kapalua bay is located between Napali and Kapalua. It’s a good beach for playing in the sand and snorkeling. It also has public parking and restrooms.

Other amenities: A small strip mall is located across the street with a Star market. Star has most everything you will need, but if you plan major cooking, stop at Safeway in Lahaina. The Pizza place is decent for a quick bite. Going north there is an ABC store, past that location is a great little coffee shop and a snorkel shop.

Final thoughts – If you are looking for a condo, with good amenities consider the ResortQuest Kaanapali Shores. If you require an excellent beach within walking distance from your room, consider other locations.

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,447 - 2,453 of 2,618 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2005

My husband and I were looking for a place where we could be married and spend our honeymoon. Our travel agent recommended this hotel and it was AWESOME!!!! We did go in the off season in Nov, so we got a better deal, had a beautiful room and were married in the gazebo on the hotel grounds. The on-site restaurant is hit and miss. The first night we were there, the food was great. A couple of nights later it wasn't all that great. The whole staff was helpful and friendly and the concierge helped us plan the activities we wanted to participate in and gave us the inside scoop on getting better seats, etc. On the whole, we had a great time. We referred friends there who also stayed there and got married at the hotel, and they're still raving about it. We're going back for our anniversary this year and plan on going back again next year. A word of caution, however, if you plan to be in the ocean at all, make sure you get a pair of those rubber divers shoes (not the flippers) as the bottom of the ocean is full of very sharp coral and I sliced my toe open. Other than that, it's the nicest place to stay I've been at in Hawaii and very relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank diznykd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tehachapi, CA
18
Reviewed October 13, 2005

My wife and I spent 7 glorious nights at the resort and were absolutely pleased with all aspects of the resort. Room, staff and accomadations.
We booked out travel with Expedia and we couldn't be happier with their services. I had read reviews about the resort and Maui prior to booking our reservations. Several people had said to wait until you get to Maui to make any reservations for tours, shows ect. We did exactly that and believe me you will save quite a bit if you wait and book them through the wonderful staff at the resort. There was an orientation the morning after our arrival and within one hour we had all our functions booked and we saved a lot of $$$$. If you are a senior tell them right away because you can save even more!!
The room at the resort was just beautiful and we had the best of all worlds when it came to views. From our balcony we could see the ocean, gardens, fish pond and pool. Every morning we started our day sitting on the balcony. WONDERFUL!!!
The staff were all so very pleasant and helpful.
If I could change anything about our stay I would have to say, I would of stayed for the rest of my life!!
Enjoy!

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
mpls, mn
13
Reviewed October 12, 2005

ka'anapali beach will always be special to us since we were just married on that beach 3 weeks ago. We had a great stay at Kaanapali shores and would recommend the hotel to anyone...especially those on a budget. The lobby is beautiful and the front desk was very helpful. We stayed on the 1st floor and had a beautiful partial ocean/garden view. We could see the beach from our room and had a great big palm tree in front of the bedroom. We loved it. When we return we will request a room on a higher floor. Often in the morning, the garden workers were right outside our bedroom window and I felt we didn't have much privacy. We also had a mouse in the room one night. The front desk was very kind and offered to move us immediately, we declined, but they brought traps in that night. They told us he must of came in through the screen door. Nope, we never caught the mouse! The maids were great, they kept all the sand under control and were quick and efficient. The beach directly in front of the hotel is not the nicest part of Kaanapali but it's great for laying out. A short drive or long (1-2 mi) walk will take you to better parts of the beach.
we loved pizza place across the street. Pizza Paradiso. We ate there 3-4 times during our stay. It's spendy for here, but not there. It filled us up cheaper than anywhere else.

beach club resturant was expensive and not that good.
Star market across the street was very expensive.
Maui is the most beautiful place on earth!

hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2005

We stayed at the Kaanapali Shores from 11 sept 2005 thru 23 Sept 2005. The staff was very courtious and helpful. We stayed in a one bedroom which was very clean and well worth its value.We were upgraded from a studio. After reading all the negative reviews from others. I didn't know what to expect. Don't believe all those negative reviews. The place is not the Four Seasons but it is a very nice place to stay. I would definitely stay there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mauitravler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Alta, Utah
16
Reviewed October 12, 2005

My wife and I traveled with six of my Grandkids and their parents to Maui last week (1 Oct 05). We stayed at the ResortQuest Kaanapali Shores. We had a large 2 bedroom suite callled an Aloha suite and an adjacent 2 bedroom suite. the rooms were awesome. The Aloha Suite (2000+ sq. ft.) is full ocean front and the room is only 12 feet from the beach. The adjacent room also had a great ocean view and the room doors were adjacent as were the beach front patios. The staff was marvelous, the service was great - imagine arriving with 12 people (including 3 one year olds, a 3 year old, a four year old, a six year old) and 26 bags, which the staff magically got to the rooms within minutes of arrival. The property is great, 2 wonderful pools and the best family beach in America. The snorkeling for my six year old granddaughter was great right in front of our room, the waves were "safe" for the three year old and lots of kids were boogey boarding on the waves. The rooms had patios so we could eat and watch the kids from the patio when they were on the beach. The full kitchen and large dining area were great and the rooms were immaculately clean. All in all this was a great place to stay.

The big problem we had was Delta Airlines- they abandoned in Maui airport for 24 hours. Worst experience a family can have and Delta did nothing- no hotel, no food, no agent in the airport, no help to get needed formula/diappers, did not rebook us- but kept us on the hook until they could get us back on Delta 24 hours later.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2005

This was a condo unit with a completely furnished kitchen. The furnishings were very nice and clean. The staff were accomodative. Pools and beach were beautiful. We availed ourselves of the laundry facility which was very reasonably priced and clean. The washer did need some repair as only filled with hot water. I would certainly return to this resort for another stay.

2  Thank eyenurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $240 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing