We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 bed, 2 bath was great!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Kaanapali Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“2 bed, 2 bath was great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had a very nice 2 bed (king & 2 twin beds), 2 bath condo. It looked recently updated with beautiful tile throughout, granite counters and stainless steel appliances. This was my kids favorite place among all our hotels through our stay in the islands... mainly because they each had their own bed and they had their own bathroom. The kitchen is minimally equipped with the essentials (cups, glasses, dishes, pans, some cooking utentsils, toaster & coffee maker). But it is enough to get by - we had breakfast foods, but we only cooked dinner one night during our 3 night stay. (If we had been staying longer, we would have used the kitchen more.) The living room and each bedroom has a flat screen tv. The resort fee includes the playstation and DVD rental. We watched movies at night - so it was useful for us. The couch was extremely uncomfortable, though. Another reviewer was right... the birds in the morning were awful.. and the fountain and trees were right outside our condo. We used both of the pool areas, though the one by the restaurant closes early. We looked at the "beach area." One time the red flag was up and the other... well, the waves were crashing on the steps and it looked like the lounge chairs were going to be swept away.
Oh, and my husband spilled water in the kitchen... when he wiped it up, we realized how dirty the floors were.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandeeJ72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Aloha Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    838
    284
    119
    42
See reviews for
1,029
779
46
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strongsville, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

This resort is nice. We rented a one-bedroom, one bathroom room. You can partially see the ocean from the balcony, but the building is set a little further back on the property. We received a welcome pineapple and chocolates upon check-in to our room. The room was recently remodeled, and it is nicely furnished. The bed is comfortable. The grounds are beautiful, and the pool/hot tub is great. It is located close to shopping and Lahiana restaurants. We really enjoyed this property. It is not a five start resort, but if you are not picky, this is a great place for couples or families at a reasonable value in Maui. The location is perfect. We would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debra Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Aloha Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed in a 1 BR Ocean View (Rm 305) in Feb. 2014 through Diamond. The suite was very comfortable and had everything we needed, although the furnishings could use a little updating. We appreciated having a full kitchen as well as a washer/dryer in the unit. The view from the lanai was very good and there was ample room to relax and watch the whales jumping, eat breakfast or lunch. The suite and grounds were clean and well-kept -- the grounds are lush and lovely to walk through. Staff were friendly, and housekeeping was quick to respond when we checked in and found only complexion soap. They supply shampoo, conditioner & soap -- no body wash; and the tissues are of terrible quality - my only real complaint. We liked being able to use the lounge chairs on the beach watching the waves come in. We avoid swimming/snorkeling here because of the unpredictable rip currents (there is usually a red flag flying), but there is good snorkeling at the public beach a few minutes away. There is a plaza with a Times grocery store and multiple small casual eateries across the street, an ABC store and farmer's market just down the street. Whaler's Village is a short ride away, and you can access the Kaanapali walking/jogging trail a few resorts down. Altogether a very pleasant stay, and we plan to return. Because we were booked in through Diamond, we did not have to pay the amenities or parking fee. We plan to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SyracuseSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Aloha Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pitt meadows
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

being right across the street from a grocery store worked out perfectly for us. We could walk to restauratns, coffee shops and the area is perfect for a daily jog each morning. There is a farmers market nearby also on certain days of the week. Our suite had a great deck , perfect kitchen and was laid out perfectly. We loved the beautiful view everyday and great pool area- we would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jmacpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Aloha Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la porte city iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

This resort is very nice, well kept and very pleasant. The pools are nice, the condo type setting room was very nice-with new kitchen, the bedrooms are beautiful. The beach is a little rocky and not fabulous but still nice. The only downfalls to this resort is the amenity fees which add up for the nothing you get for them-unless you want to watch a movie or play playstation. There is a charge for parking too. AND, the birds in the early(like maybe around 4:30) morning are extremely loud and often wake you up, even with the windows closed and the air on. Still, avery nice place to stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deb m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Aloha Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

nice having the morning presintatoin on things to do places to see setting up for tickets and planning your vacation. the staff is very excellent in helping you plan your things to do have very good information.

Room Tip: garden view great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. The rooms are clean and spacious perfect for this family of 5. The kitchen is new. The table top needed refinishing, but no biggy. You are RIGHT on the beach!!!! Big Plus!!! I am so pleased that this piece of property was what we got. Love both pools. Let me mention the staff, they are wonderful. Grocery store on sight. Just everything is right here. Excellent beach and location. You will not be disappointed!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.1 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
2.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Property: Aston Kaanapali Shores
Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing