We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Resort / be careful who you book through”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Very nice resort and enjoy the area very much. We stayed in unit 706 and it unfortunately showed it's age and what they called a remodeled kitchen was very poorly done. The views were wonderful as well as the resort grounds. We rented from a private property management company and would recommend either staying with Aston direct or deal directly with a VRBO owner. The management company "Kaanapali Beach Rentals" are not easy to deal with and very much represent the owner, not the owner. Any inquires made were responded with an rude and abrupt take it or leave it tone. If your planning a visit you will enjoy the resort, just avoid Kaanapali Beach Rentals / Properties

Room Tip: deal with responsible individual or organization who desires your return business
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbowers49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

999 - 1,005 of 2,634 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

We just returned from a week at Aston Kaanapali Shores and had a great experience. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite (#737) with an ocean view and loved every minute of it. The rooms were well-kept and the tile floor was nicer than having carpet. It was nice to have kithenware supplied and a fridge to store any food that we bought. The Times Supermarket is located right across the street and was very convenient to buy any food we wanted for breakfast. We ordered pizza and rented snorkel gear right across the street as well. We checked out at noon but since our flight wasn't until 10 p.m. that night, AKS was nice enough to offer us a courtesy room so that we could shower and change after a day at the pool before leaving to catch our flight. Overall, we had no negative experiences with this hotel. The view from our room was amazing and the view of Haleakala just outside our door was equally impressive!

Room Tip: Plan for an ocean view room - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndreaMHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We just spent 9 days at Kaanapali Shores and would go back in a heartbeat! My husband & our 2 kids (2&4) had a 1 bedroom suite (#106) & my parents & brother had a 2 bdrm (#104) next door. We had tossed around booking a 2 bdrm for us & the kids but glad we went with just a 1 bdrm as we had a HUGE sectional couch with a hide-a-bed, which made it much easier to keep our 2 yr old from falling out of bed. Our room also was where we watched movies or ate as we had so much seating space. We loved the resort and although its a bit rocky in the water, the beach itself is beautiful & we spent lots of time there. The restaurant on the resort was great & the gift shop and convenience store had many things we needed at pretty good prices, wish we would have stopped in there before heading into Lahaina! The concierge was really knowledgeable and friendly and helped us choose our activities.
There was construction going on while we were there on the railings on rooms directly facing the ocean & although they were working most of the time we were at the beach it really wasn't an issue, the noise was mostly drowned out by the ocean. Plus work didn't start until later in the day and was done before dark.
The cherry on top was them allowing us a late (2pm) checkout the day we flew out, letting us still use all the amenities on the resort & giving us access to a 2 bdrm suite for an hour before supper time to be able to shower and get freshened up. Thank you to all the staff! You made our trip!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pedlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The Aston Kaanapali Shores was a very nice place to stay. Our one bedroom condo had everything to make us comfortable. We enjoy their resturant for breakfast. I would be happy to return there in the future.

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade when you check in. I did and the gracious receptionist gave us a one bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaDukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was an older property which was well kept-up. Amenities: washer/dryer in units, pools, etc where nice. pool and hot tub had strict closing hours which was a minus for me as I like to swim late night. pools were nice but relatively small. Mostly very helpfula nd firendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anniep29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 508 (1 bedroom ocean view) with our 3 kids ages 9,7 and 4. The price was right, the room was spacious and the staff was wonderful. Liked having access to free movie rentals and games, loved the view and the kitchen was well equipped. When we booked I was worried that we might get one of the rooms with the dated kitchens because of photos I saw in here but we had a nicely updated kitchen with maple cabinets and granite countertops. They provide dish detergent and laundry detergent (I've been to other condos where they didn't). We spent a lot of time at the smaller pool for the kids and almost always shared it with maybe one other family. Nicely kept grounds and decent beach. We would happily return to Kaanapali Shores! The only gripe I had was the "kids eat for free" thing. Only between 11:30 and 4 pm so don't make your decision based on that. They do give a book of coupons, that helps.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Hillary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Beautiful location right next to Ka'anapali beach. We stayed in two bedroom oceanview suite. The sound of the waves at night was worth the upgrade in itself, but the view was fabulous. We saw sea turtles and humpback whales from the lanai.

Room: Very spacious. Two baths, with full kitchen and washer/dryer.

Beach: Nice beach. Very clean. Some rocky areas, but plenty of sand as well. We snorkelled right off the beach and saw lots of fish.

Pool/grounds: Well maintained. Two pools + two hot tubs. Lovely flowers, shrubs, etc.

Restaurant/bar: This was the only real downside. Restaurant was somewhat dated and a bit bland. Bar is tiny and not terribly inviting. Open 11am - 9pm. Just down the beach is Duke's though, which had a great vibe. We ate there 4 times in our 10 days.

Overall great place to stay, especially with kids. Would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank mamadagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,184 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $262 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing