We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomadations were great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our second stay here in July! The place was very relaxing and the staff was very helpful. I made the reservation for a one bedroom with a fold out bed and we did not like it so we went to switch to a two bedroom and they went out of their way to help us. The two bedroom was great! Lots of room for 4 people and even if you had some kids it would be fine. The restaurant on site was good for all meals with views of the pool and ocean. probably the biggest down side of this hotel would be the beach. The beach is fine except when you go into the water the sand disapears and all you have are rocks to stand on. Very hard to walk out into the water. Also it would be nice if they had some chairs on the beach itself. Good location, a short drive to town and other parts of the island. We would stay here again, the price is very resonable compared to some of the other places near by. Very, very kid friendly hotel!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesnot face the pool area. You will feel like your the only ones on the island...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jostryjewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

969 - 975 of 2,583 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed here for 4 days and then rebooked for another 4 days as my trip here involved staying longer. Front desk staff couldn't help me during the early morning and told me to come back after 10am...that seemed very odd! House keeping only brought towels during the 4 days and never vacuumed up sand or gave us clean linens on the beds. After rebooking for 4 more days I was told to stay in the room I was in(which was fine, but I would have loved to have fresh bedding and cleaned floors). I called down on the 5th day to have a full housekeeping job done. After being gone all day I arrive back after 4pm to my room to find nothing done. I called Housekeeping and they sent a house keeper up, she was in a rush as it was time for her to go home. So need be the room wasn't fully cleaned on the 5th day. I would suggest to not stay here on a holiday that involves drunk people as we were woken up at 3:30am to a huge fight in the parking lot of the hotel with ladies yelling vulgarly. I called the front desk 3 times and finally spoke to someone who said he just heard the fight going on...during this time 15 mins had passed so Im not sure how he just heard the fight. The restaurant was not impressive one bit. The hotel promotes a $6.95 breakfast meal in which we thought we'd try. We went down one of the mornings and were told they weren't serving it, even though they were promoting it?! Went down another morning and they said we missed it by a minute? seriously a minute? So we got a meal for $10 that was well worth $4 if your lucky. Seemed odd that we were not said 'good morning' too or a simple "Hi" or any acknowledge when encountered by a hotel staff member. I work in a hotel as a reservationist, so I know the ropes. I know how you treat Guest and this hotel definitely could use some pointers on guest service!!! Ive stayed in a share of Aston resorts before and this had to be the worst one ever.
Also the dust/lint accumulated on the bedroom ceiling by the air vent and in the bathroom above the shower was absolutely disgusting and being hung up by the front desk while on hold to speak to a manage was absolutely the rudest thing to do to a guest who payed good money to stay at your resort.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeTHut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

2B Fair is the name on the response, because we try to view all postings with an eye toward using constructive criticism to help improve where we can. In some cases, the postings leave an impression with readers that isn't a complete or accurate representation of an occurrence. In such cases, we try to share a little background so readers can better understand circumstances.

As an example, in this case the writer shares that the FD couldn't help them in the early morning. This was not a case of incompetence or an unwillingness to help. The early morning in question was when the service agent was dealing with the unruly guests in the parking lot (eluded to later in the posting). Unfortunately, these folks came to Kaanapali to partake in the Holloween festivities and apparently went a bit too far. This kind of thing is not in our control, but the response is, which was to have them removed by local authorities, which is what was done.

I'm a bit perplexed as to the housekeeping and restaurant comments, and will be looking into this further to determine what happened. Our housekeepers are usually efficient and very pleasant and our restaurant staff typically are recipients of positive feedback. What has been shared here is very uncharacteristic and atypical. It is disappointing to read a "hotel" person sharing this kind of feedback relative to our guest service levels, as it certainly goes against everything we believe in and instill within our teams and as our "history" on this site will show, it is not what the overwhelming majority of our guests experience.

In the end, whether accurately representative or not, we take all feedback seriously and will look into areas that might provide us with some opportunity for improvement. We thank these guests for their input.

Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed one night here in a room with a king size bed. The room was tiny. The sheets were old and had developed the little balls on the linen. The tub did not drain and backed up. You could tell the carpet had not been cleaned in forever, because the high traffic area was a completely different color than the carpet in areas that do not get walked on. The AC was a window unit and did not keep the room cool. The curtains were sheer and did not block out the sun at all. The bathroom amenities only included poor quality shampoo (no lotion, so do not forget to bring some if you are staying here). Also, 36 hours in advance we tried to cancel because of a family emergency, but the hotels policy is 48 hours in advance and they would not make an exception nor give us a reduced price. This place is way over priced for what you get. We paid $175+$15 resort fee for one night. The person at the front desk and the bellman were both very nice and provided good service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashc022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

We're very sorry these folks weren't impressed with their experience overall. What they experienced was neither typical nor representative of the "normal" guest experience. The unit carpets are vacuumed daily and cleaned properly. This is the first comment we've head about blackout drapes not keeping the unit dark enough. I stay in our units regularly and have not experienced any problem with this or an inability for the air conditoner to keep the unit cool. We will certainly have our housekeeping manager give the unit some additional scrutiny We're also very sorry to read of their desire to cancel their trip in the last minute and do hope that whatever prompted that desire has worked out ok for them. We wish them the best....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights earlier this month. It was our first time visiting Maui and our first “home away from home” after landing.

We had booked a standard hotel room due to our short stay and only needing a place to sleep, so this basic room was perfect for our needs. Very clean and comfortable with good A/C, room 337B has no balcony so it gives a limited garden view (no ocean view). Still, it’s not every day that we get a view of tropical vegetation outside our bedroom window, so we enjoyed our view for the very limited time we spent in that room. Our room contained all the essentials except a mini-fridge; the bathroom vanity area is rather small for two people but the shower/tub/toilet area is completely separate which is always a good thing.

One of the hotel buildings was in the midst of renovations (outside repainting and balcony repairs) but it caused no disturbance of peace and quiet that we were aware of while lounging by the pool or beach.

Great, welcoming staff and service at this hotel! The beach is beautiful and we enjoyed a long walk that took us in front of – and past - other neighboring resorts. We also enjoyed the larger of the 2 pools but found there wasn’t enough shade, unless one paid for the sun shelters. Beach towels are available at the club near the bar and can be exchanged as needed for clean ones. We enjoyed a great lunch at the Beach Club restaurant; the hostess, noticing that we had been swimming, accommodated us to a great private table with wooden (cushionless) chairs, tucked in one corner of their outside patio. The Mahi Mahi sandwich and the Asian chicken salad were both very good! We cannot comment on dinner as we ate outside the hotel.

Across the street from the hotel is a strip mall with a TIMES supermarket, very handy and easy to walk to. All in all, we were very pleased with our stay at this hotel. It is in a great location in the Kaanapali area which we ended up enjoying more than Kihei where we stayed later on and found too busy for our taste. We would not hesitate returning to the Aston Kaanapali Shore for a longer stay and would, next time, book a larger unit.

Room Tip: This room has no balcony or mini-fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Staying here confirmed our view that Hawaii is a wonderful place to go for a holiday.
A king size bed in our condo was a lovely luxuary. Having a washing machine and dryer impressed us immensely. We could not fault the place other than for the daily resort fee of some $25, very little of which we required. We felt we were being ripped off with this charge.....we have never come across this before with our travels through parts of Asia Australia and Europe. Wefail to understand why we should pay for services we do not require.Not having a car, was not a disadvantage as our transfers to and from the airport as well as the tours we undertook all picked up and dropped off at this hotel.
A supermarket across the road was very handy. It was great to be able to buy our wine and some snacks there for enjoyment in our room.
We would return to this establishment as the friendlyness, cleanliness, and willingness of the staff to please will long be remembered.

Room Tip: Go for a condo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is our last night here and we don't want to leave. We stayed 5 nights in Maui at the Aston Kaanapali Shores after spending 5 nights on the Big Island. The beach is beautiful and only a short distance from one of two pools on the property. We loved having the washer and dryer in our room. There are two gift shops on site with a grocery store across the road and several other souvenir shops. The Expedia presentation in the morning was great. We booked a blue Hawaiian helicopter ride which was expensive but worth it. We also booked the road to Hana day trip and we're very happy that we didn't drive it ourselves, and we come from Cape Breton where the Cabot Trail is full of twists and turns. We also booked a luau at the Hyatt and that was very enjoyable. We visited the Beach Club restaurant on site and the food was very good. The concierge was friendly and took pictures of us before we went to the luau. Our flight leaves very late tomorrow night and we must check out of our room by noon. However the hotel is allowing us to use the facilities for the day and will even give us a key for the use of a room for an hour to shower and change before we leave for the airport free of charge. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we hope to be back some day. Thank you from your Cape Breton friends from Nova Scotia, Canada.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed for one week on our first time on Maui. We had a one bedroom condo with a king bed. After a the previous week in two different resorts, hotel style, this was a great choice. We had a full updated kitchen with granite counter tops. It was nice to not have to eat out. There is a washer and dryer and housekeeping service daily. The dining/living area was quite spacious. Flat screen t.v. in the living area and bedroom. The condo we had was first floor and had a patio with furniture. We looked out on the garden which is gorgeous. The lobby and grounds are beautiful and immaculately maintained. The entire complex is very clean. There is a small store with necessities and gifts. Tour services are available. There are two pools and beach front. We ran all over Maui and it was so nice to come back to a relaxing atmosphere. The parking was right outside our door. The night desk manager, Ross and his assistants were terrific help. At our request they suggested sites that I know we would have missed, like a drive around the north shore and the banana bread vendor. I'ao (sp) valley which was spectacular and I've never seen it advertised. As suggested we took a ferry to Lana'i and a gorgeous beach, Manele Bay, near the harbor. We had free DVD movie access which was nice after running around all day.
If we return to Maui we would stay here again without hesitation. It was so comfortable.

Room Tip: We had a ground level room which I don't usually care for but the parking was right outside and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hittheroadCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#15 of 32 in Lahaina
4,162 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,099 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $236 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing