We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great vacation destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kaanapali Shores

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great vacation destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I had a one bedroom condo with a gorgeous view of the pool and the ocean. Although I missed not having a jetted tub, the condo had everything else I needed including the convenience of a washer and dryer. The hallway closet was spacious and all the rooms were a very comfortable size providing plenty of room. Staff and residents (condos are individually owned so I met several residents) were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The location was good for jumping on the walking path that runs up the coast of much of the Kaanapali beach area. Snorkeling was good just outside the hotel. There is a nice grocery store, some dining options, and stores just across the street from the resort. I liked the gated parking with 24/7 security. I was there with a timeshare program, but loved it and would certainly stay there again. Of my three trips to Maui, I enjoyed staying here better than any other location.

Room Tip: Room numbers show distance from ocean. I loved unit 305 which was 3 unitsfrom ocean front but perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnieGirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    794
    251
    115
    38
See reviews for
946
724
44
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terrell, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

THE BIRDS!!!! Kaanapali Shores is a beautiful place to stay. I stayed here for a week, actually I'm currently here as I type this, and it's a wonderful place. However, if you intend to sleep past 4am you may want to bring some ear plugs. There is a LARGE group of Miner birds that congregate in the trees by the garden pool every morning and they are NOISEY. I have a ocean view room and wanted to sleep with the doors open to get the sound and smell of the ocean and that works well until the birds show up. Even when you have the doors closed they are loud. I still would stay here again because I've walked up and down the beach and looked at the other places and Kaanapali Shores is the best I've seen. Next time I'll either bring ear plugs or spring for a ocean front room and hope the waves drown out the sound of the birds.

Room Tip: Don't get a room close to the garden if you want to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davec1692013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
How wonderful to read of another very satisfied guest!

Many of our guests return each year because of the beautiful, tropical and homey feel of the resort. It appears that some birds feel the same way and grace us with their presence each day. What's noise to some is a welcomed bird song to others, but whatever your feeling regarding this, if guests choose not to want to hear the birds, simply closing the door usually does the trick.

Mahalo...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel was beautiful and clean. The room was outstanding with a full kitchen and washer & dryer!! We were greeted with such nice people and accommodations! Aston Kaanapali Maui made us fell like we were on the very special Hawaii vacation we planned and we felt like royalty. I wished we had spent our entire vacation at the Aston Kaanapali in Maui!! The views, the gardens, the room and of course the ocean! This was a real WOW for us. I wish every hotel room, staff and stay could be like the Aston Kaanapali Maui!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with washer and dryer so you can pack less clothes! The rooms are wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LittleMacFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

On of my friends and I go to Hawaii each year for our annual shopping holiday and this year we decided to include 5 days in Maui. We received a recommendation from a friend to stay here and thought - why not!

The gardens, lawns, pool area and all surrounds are beautifully tended to - manicured paradise.

Our ocean view suite was lovely - modern and typical beach oriented furniture. It was cleaned daily, fresh towels and sheets as requested and the staff were friendly and attentive.

The Shores is suitable for singles, families, friends, couples - whatever really. It's totally relaxing and makes you stop and breathe.

We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Ocean View Suite we had was up on Level 7 - good views, nice breeze and fairly quiet. Anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a fabulous five days in Maui. The hotel was excellent! The staff was friendly, accommodating and very professional. The hotel is very clean and modern. Very comfortable bed and we liked having a kitchen! We will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy9091929498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

really loved entire hotel experience, it was "FANTASTIC" from start to finish. Staff at front desk, baggage handling, trip organizers were very patient and very helpful. The grounds were beautiful and very well kept . And our room WOW, spacious and compfy as could be, the view was really cool and the sound of the waves at night really made it so easy to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rand262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We travel to Maui a few times each year and since staying at Kaanapali Shores originally, have always come back there. The staff is friendly and some of them remember us by name. The rooms are spacious, kept well and provide exactly what we need when traveling with family (love the washer and dryer in the unit). We ate at the restaurant this trip and it was good, but we mostly use the kitchen for our meals. The resort looks good in general. The outdoor areas are pretty and filled with flowers and tropical trees and such. The pools aren’t what you’d find in a mega-resort, but they satisfied our need and were just ok. This trip we had some folks above us that were quite noisy. This is the first time this was an issue. We could hear furniture moving at all hours it seemed. This was a bummer! Overall another great trip and we will be back!

Room Tip: Top floors may be best, less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,507 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Property: Aston Kaanapali Shores
Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing