We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our family of 6 recently spent 10 nights at this property. This was our first trip to Hawaii and we were very pleased! We were pleasantly surprised when we discovered our ocean view unit was on the ground floor. Perfect access to the pool and the beach. Just steps away from both.The grounds were beautiful! It was so nice just to walk out our door and see such a beautiful view. It was also perfect because the kids could go in and out as they needed and we could keep an eye on them. We enjoyed the pool very much. My 2 younger children really enjoyed Camp Kaanapali. It kept them busy as we spent time on the beach. The kitchen had pretty much everything you need. The only suggestion I would have is maybe to just add an extra pot or two. Maybe a baking sheet. Overall, we enjoyed our stay her and would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a good value Maui stay. We hope to return someday!!!

Room Tip: I would recommend the 1st floor ocean view units!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,058 - 1,064 of 2,617 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Comfortable and clean rooms, great beds!! Beautiful grounds and the kids really enjoyed the frogs in the ponds. We used both pools and were happy with the towel service and availability of chairs and clean spaces to sit all hours of the day. Sara at the activities desk was a fantastic help on our first day!! We gave her an idea of what we wanted to do during the week and she told us to go sit by the pool. An hour later she had a calendar laid out with activities for the week (scuba diving, snorkeling, surfing lessons, luau, hula lessons, etc) and tickets ready to go with times that we had to leave the resort and directions on how to get to the various places all laid out!! The only complaint I would have about the hotel is that the food at the restaurant was not very good and it was very expensive. After eating there twice we choose to walk to the shopping center across the street. The pizza place and the pancake house there were fantastic!

Room Tip: If you are not right on the beach, higher floors will have a better view. Lower floors blocked from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie4homes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had 2 families and rented 2 x 2 bedroom apartments. Apartments were older style but very spacious with lounge, dining and full size kitchen (washing machine and dryer too). Heaps of room for family of four. The main bedroom was huge, king size bed and ensuite. We were on the 1st floor but think if you had small kids a unit on the ground floor, opening to the garden area would be good. The 2 pools were well maintained and there was a large grass area to relax or kick a ball around. Free hula show by the pool on set nights. Beach area was private and had sun lounges you could borrow (free). Prices of drinks at the pool bar were average but unfortunately I don't think the cocktails were as good as our Waikiki hotel. Across the road from the resort is a small group of shops with restaurants and grocery store. Spa/massage at the resort was good too. We visited a few other resorts and think this one ticks all the boxes for our families. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Touringfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We found the resort to be well maintained and comfortable. We stayed in a one bedroom suite and it was clean and well appointed with a full kitchen and living room. The rooms were comfortable and the pools and ground were well kept. We used the pool area and very much enjoyed the complimentary hula show. There is a shopping center with restaurants and a grocery store in walking distance across the street. The restaurant has a great view and the food was good. Over all, we enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was our third stay here in three years. This time we brought our kids with us so needed a two bedroom suite (usually have one bedroom suite) and were placed in a different condo building that we had not stayed in before. The suite was clean, but there was a couple dead cockroaches in the light fixtures in the closet area ceiling. We also saw one cockroach on the walkway. I do realize cockroaches are a part of Maui but I had NEVER seen them at this resort before in our other stays. There also seemed to be a lot more gecko's around this time than before which didn't bother me at all. They are fun to watch. They increased the daily amenity fee to $15 a day plus there is still a $9 a day parking fee.

The restaurant was still as excellent as before. Everyone loved every meal we had there and the service continued to be fantastic. All the staff we encounter at the resort have always been very friendly to us.

Still a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OADiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The grounds are very well maintained and clean. I observed the staff cleaning the sand beds, grass, pool areas, and beach several times per day. The beach is nice and typical for Kaanapali. There is a reef just off the beach that offers decent snorkeling with some nice reef fish. The restaurant is good and we had a nice dinner there. The happy hour at the pool bar is nice with well Mai Tai's at $4.25 each (cheap for Maui). The resort is geared for families and some rooms have a full kitchen and multiple bedrooms. This was perfect for us with 3 kids.

The rooms are clean and the staff vacuum sand off the carpet every day. The bathrooms are definitely out of date as is the decor, but I really didn't care much. We only spent time in the room sleeping and eating breakfast and sometimes lunch. My only real complaint is the shower head that was mounted too low and looked like a cheap piece of junk I would find at my local Walmart. I wanted a nice rain shower to wash off the saltwater and sunscreen, but I cannot complain given the package price.

The bottom line... If you are looking for a middle of the road resort with a family, this is a good choice. If you want luxury or honeymoon dreams, go to the Hyatt Regency or Kapalua Ritz.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbr_huskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just got back and had an amazing time. This is a great hotel for a family my only complaint is the pool. Wish there was a little more for the kids but all in all had a fabulous time. Best hotel for the money and had great customer service. Would definitely go again!

Room Tip: Stay closer to the beach- the birds are very noisy near the lobby area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,233 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $236 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing