We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here at the Kaanapali Shores because the Kaanapali Beach Club (next door and sister Diamond Resorts company) was full. So, they put us at the "Shores". The hotel staff was very good to us, gave us a "penthouse" room because we were celebrating our 15th anniversary and using the "family and friends" discount from Diamond Resorts.

Room (room 926) was nice (a bit outdated), bathroom was on the small side, but adequate. Bedroom was good, Kitchen and living room were very good. Had a full kitchen and washer/dryer which was very nice. View of Molokai outside our sliding glass door was amazing! Hotel grounds was kept in nice shape as was the pool. We did not eat on property...no reason than it didn't fit our days.

This was a very nice "Plan B" hotel and would recommend it to others. Again, the hotel front desk staff was incredibly courteous and friendly. They bent over backwards to please us! They made sure everything was right!

Room Tip: Nice location and nice hotel. Try to get a room with a suite so you quiet space between TV/Kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,102 - 1,108 of 2,636 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, and exceeded our expectations. We stayed in a one bedroom condo and it had a washer and dryer, full kitchen and was very nice. The front desk staff and the Expedia staff were all very helpful, which made our first stay in Hawaii even better. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MNtraveler004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Kaanapali Shores from June 25th to July 2nd. I was so excited to return to this resort again after having a wonderful experience almost 5 years ago when it was a Resort Quest hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted by Tiffany at the front desk who is amazing at her job! She was so polite, patient and went over all the details thoroughly. Our room was located on one end of the 7th floor. We had one window overlooking the mountains and our balcony had a partial ocean view. We had a studio suite that had a queen sized bed, full sized kitchen appliances, counter top with chairs, a couch and a large TV. The room was spacious, very clean and looked recently updated. The balcony was a great size and had huge sliding doors/screens. They also separated the space for the bathroom sink from the toilet and shower. We thought the water pressure was great, the bed was really comfortable and we loved having a full sized coffee pot right in the room. The property really is beautiful with an open air feeling throughout. The resort is located right on the beach and has beautiful views of Molokai and Lanai. We also witnessed multiple stunning sunsets’ right from the beach. They have two pools and two Jacuzzi's, the garden Jacuzzi was open until 11. We ate at their onsite restaurant once and thought it was fine, the food was good, service was prompt and the macadamia nut ice cream is delicious!!! We found their prices to be comparable to most restaurants on the island. They have an activities concierge located right at the pool where they had any activity available imaginable. They even have some free activities available to guests. My fiancée and my dad signed up for the free 30 minute scuba lesson that takes place in the pool daily. They loved it! They actually decided to sign up with the same instructor for an ocean dive as well ($90 per person for about an hour dive that happens right at the hotel beach) and they both felt it was a great experience. While they were diving, my mom and I decided to rent one of their beach front cabanas for the day. It was $40, which we both felt was reasonable considering it was for the entire day (8am to 10pm). I was slightly disappointed however that there was no bar/restaurant service outside of the pool area. They failed to mention this when booking the cabana. I felt like we missed out on some of the treatment that the pool cabana renters got to experience (which was the same price). Either way it was still an awesome day with an amazing view of the ocean and our guy’s scuba diving! The resort uses a key card system for their pool towels. Towels are available at a hut in the main pool area, you get one towel for each key card (one key card per guest is given at check in) that you turn in. If you need a fresh towel, they let you exchange it for a new one. If you are done with the towel for the day, you turn in the towel and take the key card back. However, the towel hut closes at 5pm so if you have any intention of using the pool or Jacuzzi after that you must hold on to the towel until the morning. Overall, the price was great especially for having a full kitchen. We felt the location and the grounds were perfect. We had originally considered a different hotel however, I am so happy we choose to stay at this hotel again. I would highly recommend this hotel and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BethanyS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I visited Kaanapali Shores in June and just returned over the July 4th holiday for a few days. As usual, the staff and management were very welcoming and exceeded my expectations. Lauren, Liz, and Tiffany at the Front Desk, Bob in Maintenance, Trixy in Housekeeping, Michele in Administration, and the General Manager, Mark Mrantz all went out of their way to ensure that my wife and I had an enjoyable stay.

After reading some of these reviews, I can't believe how some people complain about the beach that fronts this resort. In a perfect world, it would be as big as Big Beach but it's not. Any intelligent person knows that mother nature controls this, not the staff and management at Kaanapali Shores.

Whether you have stayed here before or not, you need to ask yourself the following questions before booking a reservation at this resort. What amenities are important to me? Do I need valet service, room service, and someone to spritzer me by the pool? If you are looking for someone to literally wipe your butt, a la The Four Seasons, then this place is not for you because they don't offer these types of services. This is a clean, comfortable, and relaxing resort with updated units at an affordable price.

The main reasons you should stay here are the following: THE STAFF..They are top notch and they will do everything within their power to create WOW moments for you. THE UNITS..They are spacious, comfortable, and updated. Always book with Aston or through a travel agent to guarantee that you are staying in an Aston managed unit. If you book your reservation through a private owner or VRBO you may be dissappointed. Non Aston units may not be updated. THE LOCATION..It's quiet and relaxing. If you want to stay next to Whaler's Village expect to pay a couple hundred dollars more a night for inferior accommodations.

Upon departing Maui, I realized that I had left $500 cash in the safe and a new Tommy Bahama shirt in the dresser drawer. Before I landed on Oahu, I had already received an email from the manager stating that they had found my cash and shirt and needed to confirm my mailing address so they could send these things back to me. It's refreshing to go to a property where the staff members are honest and proactive.

As a seasoned traveler, I know what to expect whether I'm traveling within Hawaii or around the world. If Maui is in your future travel plans, do yourself a favor and stay at Kaanapali Shores. The value, location, and superior customer service can't be beat.



  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank NoStress67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We just returned from a 12-day stay with our family of 5 at this property. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, garden view condo. Great location to everything, beautiful grounds and all the necessary amenities (and then some). On the plus side, we enjoyed a fully equipped kitchen with access to super outside grills (free to guests and turned on until 9-); washer/dryer; plenty of inside space with roomy outdoor balcony; nice community pool and hot tub; daily housekeeping service; very friendly and helpful staff (especially Charles in the parking booth); pickle ball and tennis courts (all free of charge). On the negative side, housekeeping was okay (not always evident they had come by). Sometimes they arrived at 4:30 when we had returned from our day's adventures and needed the condo. Also, the on-site restaurant was mediocre in both quality and staff (some distracted by their cell phones). All in all, our stay was fantastic and I would definitely recommend this property to large families looking to experience the best Maui has to offer without completely breaking the bank.

Room Tip: Garden View rooms above the 5th floor would probably also get you a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Shooby0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed on the 4th floor with ocean views...the room was spaceous and very clean. It had a full kitchen with beautiful granite counter tops.. We had full use of the parking garage, we felt safe at all times...washer & dryer in our 1 bedroom suite was a plus.Grounds were clean and beautiful. The staff were always smiling and friendly. The hotel had 2 pools and we were steps from the beautiful beach..we rented a cabana for the day and enjoyed every minute..family friendly with lots of activities...we highly recommend the Aston Kaanapali Shore in Maui...can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TSilvia58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent 5 nights in a 2-bedroom suite at this fairly standard resort. We were traveling with another couple, so this offered a nice opportunity to split the cost of a single hotel room while still having a private bedroom and bathroom for each couple. The full kitchen was good for saving some money on meals as well (there's a grocery store across the street, and a larger Safeway a few miles down the road). The suite was very nice with pleasant decor and a good-sized porch that overlooked the gardens and had a partial view of the ocean as well. There was a larger master bedroom and a smaller second bedroom that had two twin beds. After a call down to the front desk, a very nice person from the housekeeping staff came by to put the beds together to form a single king-sized bed. It was comfortable, but keep this in mind if this would be an issue for one of the couples sharing the suite. The grounds were nice with two pools and two hot-tubs, plus direct access to the beach. The pools weren't that large, but never appeared to be overcrowded. The hot-tubs were rather small, and they were always full, especially in the evening hours. Don't bother with the coffee stand in the lobby -- it was expensive and tasted like cheap, watered-down hotel coffee. You're better off just brewing the complementary coffee in the room -- and since you have a full kitchen, you can rest assured that the coffee maker is clean by cleaning it yourself. Sarah the concierge by the pool was awesome!! She helped us book a variety of outings, and was always willing to answer all of our questions and call around for us. The ground-level parking lots filled up by the late evening, but there was always availability in the 3-level garage. By the end of our stay, we learned that it was easier to just park in the garage anyway, since you could take the elevator directly there instead of going through the lobby. Note that you get a parking sticker to put on your windshield, but they also require you to take a little blue ticket from the machine on your way in -- and then to give it to the gate operator on the way out. We managed to forget this a few times, which resulted in a lot of grumbling from the gate person. Overall, this was a nice family-friendly resort -- and it offers a few ways to cut costs by selecting a single unit with multiple bedrooms and a full kitchen.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dunlin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,285 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,185 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $262 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing