We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed 10 nights, had a wonderful time. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. We ate at The Beach Club the food and service were excellent, pricing no more than driving somewhere else. We had a studio and would stay here again. We watch lots of turtles and whales from our chair at the beach. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate requesting the staff is winderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,170
    850
    286
    120
    42
See reviews for
1,043
788
46
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I rarely have unpleasant stays at hotels, we make the best of things and don't have huge expectations. But we are staying here now and are pretty disappointed so far. I booked a studio with kitchen , to be a little more affordable, and when we checked in, they claimed we ha only booked a regular hotel room. Took awhile to get things straightened out, got our studio. But it is located between the gift shop and the kids camp....noisy. We are in the interior of the hotel, not oceanfront and ok with that. But there is a grove of trees in this large courtyard and at might and very early morning, hordes - yes a ton of birds screech loudly. We and our 1 yr old aren't getting much sleep. Worse yet, the beach is pretty nonexistent. The picture on trip advisor is more than deceiving, it's just wrong. There is now a sea wall there to separate the higher hotel grounds from the maybe 10 feet beach. It's not usable at all. We have to drive -and be warned, pay to park. Will not be coming back here at all

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jkramer510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We appreciate these guests sharing their perspective on things, and wish we could have provided something more in keeping with their expectations. All of our records indicate that these visitors reserved a hotel room category (as opposed to a studio). However, as a goodwill gesture they were provided the upgrade at no $.

With respect to their comments on the beach, as is true on most coastlines in an island environment, the expanse of beach changes with weather patterns. Our beach is no different and can change with large winter swells. It usually isn't long before an expanse of white sandy beach reappears, which is more typical of what it looks like during the year.

The beautiful flora and tropical landscaping in general at the resort does make a comfortable home for many of our indigenous birds. They do sing their songs at dusk and dawn, which many find a beautiful part of the tropical ambience. Those that do not enjoy their song usually close their doors during that brief period.

We do wish that we were able to provide a more satisfying experience for these folks and hope that they were/are able to enjoy the rest of their Maui experience.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Liked having all the amenities in the condo, such as washer/dryer, full kitchen, two TV's.
The drawback for me is that the bedroom was on the side where the parking lot was, so I didn't get to listen to the ocean lull me to sleep at night. I actually slept on the couch in the living room one night just to hear it. I dont know if all the units are set up this way. It was still a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Csharp12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

1st time in Maui and staying at an Aston hotel.

Good hotel but the staff are the standout.
We experienced a problem with our bedding arrangments and the problem was handled by Ross at the front desk in a professional and friendly manner.

Recommended for the hotel but the staff make it special.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familytraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wainwright, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I just got back from Maui and I wanted to share my experience with you. I cannot say enough about how great the service was at the Aston Kaanapali Shores. From the Front Desk to House Keeping we could not have asked for more accommodating individuals. I have stayed at hundreds of different establishments in my travels but never have I received the service I received at this hotel/resort on such a consistent basis. Great Job!!!

We had a one bedroom room with an oceanview and it was great. Lots of room for the two of us, kitchen was good with all the requirements to make our stay comfortable. We did pay a resort fee per day but this included not only WIFI but a daily paper and free rental of 2 DVDs per day to watch in the evenings in our room. Our room was made up each day which is not included in a lot of condominium style establishments and everything was cleaning and inviting.

I would not only return to this hotel in the future, I would recommend it to my customers. Thank you for the great stay and the great employees you have working at your establishment.

Room Tip: Room 718 was excellent due to the view and the space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was our third visit to Aston Kaanapali Shores and another great experience!!! I love this resort. From check in to check out everything was wonderful. I can't recommend this place enough. Everything you need with the comfort and location necessary to make your trip to Maui a memorable experience. Great for families and couples. Best of both worlds. Get the ocean view room it is worth the extra cost. Why fly all that way and not to be able to see the ocean from your room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bjfOKLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I with our 3 kids (4, 6, and 11) spent 3 out of our 8 nights in Maui at this hotel. This is a large property and the grounds are well maintained and clean. We stayed in a garden view suite that was more like an ocean view - awesome!! Our suite had an equipped kitchenette but we did not use it because I just did not want to cook while on this vacation. The furniturein in the room was ugly as my kids put it. Yeah, they need to update! Rooms were clean and housekeeping did their job.
Pools and pool areas were okay and clean.
They sent a bottle of champagne to our room on our anniversary day which we really appreciated - very nice touch from them.
The shops across the road were very convenient.
Overall, we enjoyed our 3 nights here then left for Wailea for the most amazing and awesome 5 nights of our vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivian327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.1 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Property: Aston Kaanapali Shores
Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing