We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, awesome views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location, awesome views”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is our third trip to Maui but first stay with Kaanapali Shores. It was better than what was expected. It is a relatively small resort, in comparison to Westin, Marriott or Sheraton. But it gives me the intimate feeling of a family: small kids playing around safely, events and activities are all family-oriented, nice staff always with smiling faces, the residents there all seem to be nice and greet each other. What is a plus for this size of the resort is when I want to get something from my room while at the pool, I don't have to travel half a mile to go back to my room.

Times supermarket is just 2 mins away across the street and has everything we need for our grocery shopping, except for large size (>1 gallon) of drinking water which we get from Safeway about 10 mins drive.

What is a nice surprise is we saw whales from our balcony every morning! Not once, I really meant to say "EVERYDAY".

The site is well maintained and landscaped. The resort was built in the 80s so do expect the 80s look of the exterior and interior walls and some wear in places such as the closet door. But everything is functional.

We can easily relax on the lounge, enjoy the breeze, spot the whales and call it a day in Maui.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenL7755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,177
    852
    289
    120
    43
See reviews for
1,047
792
46
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our first trip to Maui and my husband and I spent three nights at Aston Kaanapali Shores. Good location and accessibility to transport when we wanted to travel a little further out. No fault could be found with apartment [where we had an ocean view], property well maintained, staff very friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraLyn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We recently stayed in Kaanapali Shores and enjoyed our trip to Maui. We saw great sites, had beautiful weather and loved the ocean. We were very disappointed with a few aspects of our stay at Kaanapali Shores. I send a note to management about our experience (pointing out about the bill was wrong) and pretty much got the standard response.

There are some quirks with the place, like the complimentary tea and coffee are not replaced daily and there was no lotion in the room, which we had to request separately. The front desk staff was pretty robotic.

We did appreciate the Expedia Trip advisors on site who helped us plan our excursions.

The most alarming thing was the error was in our bill. The bill was not well itemized which seemed to be designed to confuse guests. Most hotels have electronic tracking that you can monitor from your tv for daily charges. When we checked out, I noticed the first 2 nights that we had paid as a deposit was still on the expense side rather than on the credit side. When we pointed this out, the staff they did not think it was a big deal, and did not even apologize for this $400+ error in the bill. My concern is this may be happening to several guests please double check your bill carefully.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Spartan621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
As always, we do appreciate our guests sharing their feedback in this forum. However, it remains our goal to ensure that things are accurately represented to readers and potential future guests. Along those lines, we wanted to clarify that this guest's bill was in-fact correct. It was simply being misunderstood by the guests. We utilize a property management system that has been in use internationally for decades. With the exception of the extremely rare "manual" misposting that can occur in any business that employs people, we do not have issues with guests' bills and are very careful to make sure that guest accounts are accurate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Shores Dec 30/12 - Jan 9/13. Our kids and their Significant others had a 2 bedroom unit and my wife and I had a 1 bedroom unit. We asked for adjoining units when we booked in August and that request was met. We asked for ocean view units and that request was met as well. The units were clean, tidy with all amenities we could want. The beds in both units were very firm and comfortable. The A/C worked like a charm. Daily maid service ensured the rooms were fresh everyday. Both pools were warm and clean and the facility as a whole was well cared for and clean and tidy. The staff were genuinely pleasant and friendly. Amenities are only a 2 minute walk across the street for groceries and outstanding pizza.
There are plenty of beach loungers and the beach was clean. The only negative we could add is not the fault of the resort. The beach is narrow and steep and rocky in the water as compared to, say the Kamaole beaches down in Kehei. Little kids would be better off at the pool; not an issue for our age group.
We really enjoyed the resort though and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends or stay there again. Price was OK as well Our rating would be excellent for the resort, backed off to very good due to the beach comment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I brought our baby boy to Maui for the holidays and my parents joined us there. Aston Kaanapli was in a great location: we were able to take our baby south to Whaler's Village and Kaanapali Beach when he woke up early in the morning from jetlag, and we were able to drive north to Kapalua Beach during his naps for excellent snorkeling (sea turtles!). We could also simply walk out to our beach and wander south along the sand.

We brought our baby to the pool almost every day, where he absolutely adored kicking and splashing the water. With a grocery store and coffee shop right across the street, and both our restaurant and the one at the Kaanapali Beach Club next door, meals were easy to plan. In the evenings, my wife and I were also able to play some tennis at the well-lit courts.

All in all, we had a fantastic time at the Aston, and hopefully we'll have a chance to return in the future!

Room Tip: Rooms on the southeast side next to the bus turnabout will experience some vehicle noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai Ju L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We came to Maui for the New Year with a 14,17,and19 year old.They are a tough crowd. We arrived at unit number 903, and were overwhelmed by the gorgeous views as soon as we opened the door. We kept the door open all the time so we could hear the surf. We overlooked the pool and of course the beach. The 2 bedroom,2 bath condo exceeded all of our needs. The kitchen was well equipped, including soap for the washing machine(which I used), toiletries were abundant, and beach towels were traded for towel cards. We had free DVD rentals, however we did not rent a single one. There was never a hard time getting a beach or pool chair, and more than once all 5 of us were utilizing a chair. We all took numerous walks(or runs), saw monk seals, just had a great time. The staff was great,from housekeeping to waiters to front desk. The location of the resort was fantastic. A grocery store,subway,and snorkel shop were across the street, while an ABC store was a few doors north. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. The kids, along with my husband and myself had a trip of a lifetime!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Kaanapali shores. We had an ocean front one bedroom suite. The view of the ocean, beach and rainbows was great. The room was well maintained, well-cleaned, and well-equipped. The service was prompt and friendly. The rooms were a little small and the wind really caught in the patio doors- but those were minor. Overall, a nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.1 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Property: Aston Kaanapali Shores
Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing