We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a one bedroom apt that was small but adequate. Supposedly it was an ocean view but really it was a garden view. The grounds were beautiful and the pools were fine. The best part was its location on a wonderful sandy beach. The property is halfway between Lahaina and Kapalua. I really enjoyed the open air restaurant, which was near the water. It was excellent for breakfast,lunch or dinner and reasonably priced at least by Maui standards. The rooms are individually owned and may vary in terms of furnishings. Ours needed a better equipped kitchen. Internet service was available but spotty. All in all, I would recommend it but don't expect the quality of high end resorts.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,317 - 1,323 of 2,634 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

If you don't want your vacation ruin, please book your package through Expedia, not Neat Group.
They misrepresent your package deal by booking the wrong package. When you call, a person from India probably, can't understand them and have to repeat several times. Very confusing and misleading. They won't help when they make the mistake. On the other hand. The Aston staff will work with you when you arrive. They can only go by the package they receive, which was the wrong one. They did give me the onebedroom condo that I paid through Neat Group, but had to upgrade $60 per night. Neat Group only booked a hotel room. Again, use Expedia or other good web sites.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 98th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. Had a ground level "garden view" which ended up having half an ocean view and was about 70 yards from the beach. We would leave the lanai doors open 24/7 and just walk to and from the beach from sun up until bedtime. Service was good and friendly, grounds are clean and well kept. The beach is sand but the reef is immediately accessible once in the water - perfect for snorkeling. We explored the reefs everyday and found some amazing fish and even had a swim with a sea turtle one morning! Can't go wrong with The Shores, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were booked into the Kaanapali Beach Resort nixt door but through a mistake on their part we ended up in the Kaanapali Shores. The first room was not great because the air conditioner was not cool enough for us. When asked to fix it the maintenance tech. remarked the we must be from Alaska because the room was plenty cool. Not his decision!!! After the first night we were moved to another room where the AC and everything else met our needs. The view was excellent and the room was very clean. Other than the one maintennce tech's remark, the staff were very friendly and the place was a pleasure to be on except there didn't seem to be a "kids" pool so it's not great for adults if you plan to spend time in and around the pool. It can go from very quiet to the volume of a car crash in seconds.

Room Tip: Anywhere in the 150's will give you a great view of the pool and the beach/ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

We're very pleased to learn that these guests thoroughly enjoyed their visit. I am responding only to apologize for the comment of our maintenance person, who thought he was being humurous, but should not have made such a comment. We do apologize for that and will counsel him on this to avoid a similar, future occurrence. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in a 2-bd condo just last week and we had a fabulous time. There were 5 of us with an adult needing some assistance. The view was amazing. Although we weren't in an ocean view suite we could easily see the ocean and beautiful sunsets.
Tip: when reserving your room be sure to ask how close it is to the elevator. We had an elderly person in our group and although the views were great the walk was too long for him. Also, when checking in do not bring all your items out of your car. Most of the rooms are far away from the front desk. We took out our things before checking in then had to load everything back in to drive to our room. The staff are excellent and very friendly. We even received a bottle of wine and box of chocolates once we settled into our room. There are many fabulous restaurants nearby, but there is a supermarket within walking distance. Bring your bathing suits as there are pools and hot tubs.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HawaiiBorn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Aston Kaanapali Shores for the first time in Oct/2012. We rented two privately owned units from the owners through a company called Kaanapali Beach Rentals .com. I booked very last minute because I got a great deal on the flight through Hawaiian Airlines. The management company was very professional and organized. We ended up booking two rooms during our stay because the rest of the rooms were already booked out. We stayed in unit 843 for our first 5 days and 647 for the second 5 days. Both rooms were very nice and had been renovated. I have to wonder if the people who rated lower were in the units that hadn't been renovated yet. Both rooms had extras you wouldn't get in a hotel room like boogie boards, beach towels and the best part a washer and dryer. The view of the beautiful garden and ocean was nice from both rooms and they had a wonderful patio great for sitting outside to have breakfast in the mornings. The view from 843 was a little better but overall we liked the layout and decor of 647 a little better (843 has a tub and 647 has a big shower so if you have kids to bath you might need the tub). AKS is right on Kaanapali Beach with great snorkelling right out front. The restaurant on site was just ok for dinner, but I am sure they could probably do a good breakfast if you want to eat out. There is a great supermarket right across the street with everything you could need from groceries to liquor to boogie boards. Overall AKS is not the Weston but you are not paying Weston prices either, we will definitely return back to this property on any future trips to Maui.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T00MuchFun21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The room had not been updated. The toilet broke and the dryer wasn't working. The room did not compare to the rooms offered by the hotel. Do not book through this individual. The hotel has no say so about private owned rooms within the complex. If you have a problem you have to go through the owner and trying to get the repair done is a hassel you do not want to go through while you are on vacation.

Room Tip: See above comments
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank bogga2011-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,184 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $262 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing