We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inexpensive place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Inexpensive place”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Aston Kaanapali Shores is an older resort but clean and well suited our purposes. We wanted a spacious, clean, inexpensive place to stay in Maui and that is exactly what we got. The room was clean and the kitchen had everything we needed. The pool area was not fancy with waterfalls and such but was nice. The area just to the left on the beach was great for snorkeling. Saw sea turtles, eels, and lots of fish. If have a fancy new resort then this one is not for you. But if you want a clean place to sleep when you come back from your adventures then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,193
    861
    292
    121
    44
See reviews for
1,064
800
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The property and rooms at Kaanapali shores are beautiful. The pools, although small, we're well-kept and clean. The landscaping and rest of the hotel were very well maintained. We really did like the hotel but it wasn't what we were looking for on our honeymoon. It had many kids so we never really found a quiet spot by the beach or pool. They did not provide any room service and only had one underwhelming restaurant on the premises. The beach was nice but I would recommend to take the five minute trip down the road to Kaanapali beaches.

The room itself was very clean, modern and pretty. The kitchen wAs great and we would highly recommend picking up some food at the food store across the street. The maid service was simple, but thorough. They included free DVD rentals daily which was great! The bedrooms did seem to have thin walls though, hearing doors opening and closing all morning and the birds are quite loud.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends traveling with families or groups but not those looking for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: The only way to get a ocean view room is to have a 2 bedroom rental but we did have a very small oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SME85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Aston Kaanapali Shores in Maui. My husband, two daughters ages 13 and 7, and myself were very well pleased with our stay.
Pros: Beautifully landscaped, plenty of room in our one bedroom condo (the girls slept on the hide-a-bed), right across the street from the grocery store (We were able to get breakfast and lunch foods and keep in the condo), helpful staff, great location, nice pools, and good food in The Beach Club restaurant.
Con: The only negative thing we could comment on are the extra charges ($19 per day) at the end of your stay. We were aware of the charges before we went, but my complaint is that they should just include the charges in the regular price. That way people don't feel like they are being price gauged.
We loved our visit here, and we would love to come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DLKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

We spent a week at this hotel. We had a great package that included free DVD rental, free wifi and credit at the restaurant, bar and coffee shop. the place is only a shot drive to Lahaina and there's a good set of shops across the road for supplies.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LyNeTtE29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed here with my wife and two kids (along with 3 other families in different rooms) and we had an absolute blast! All the employees were very friendly and made sure we were well taken care of. The view from our 8th floor balcony (lanai) was breathtaking and having morning coffee or evening cocktails from there never got old.
I would absolutely advise anybody to stay at the Kaanapali Shores and we will for sure be back.

Room Tip: The view is obviously better the higher up you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pkrpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on points--we are Diamond Resorts owners at the Kaanapali Beach Club next door (we have stayed there many times). We got a great offer to stay here for 50% off the points and thought the full kitchen and laundry in the unit would be a nice change. We get to use the KBC facilities, too.

A couple of comments on this place. It is fine--the location is great (we knew that from staying at KBC), and the unit is comfortable enough (we're in a 1-BR ocean view on the 6th floor).

Front Desk: We actually checked into two units on two different days. Both times the front desk check-in ranged from indifferent (the first night) to incompetent (two days later). They seemed completely flummoxed by the second reservation. At first she had no record of us. I produced an email printout with a confirmation number. She disappeared into a back room for awhile, came back and brightly announced that we'd "be in our same unit." We said no, we had reserved TWO units and were checking into the second one. (We were a party of four and wanted to split up when the second unit was available.) She disappeared in the back room for a long time and then came back and was ready to proceed. Then she said she had to "see if our room was ready." It was after 3 p.m., so I said, "I thought 3 p.m. was check-in time"? She said, and this is a quote: "Yes, 3 p.m. is check-in time, but we don't guarantee that your room will be ready then." Huh?

Both times it was like pulling teeth to get any information about resort amenities, etc. I think this place needs more intelligent and better trained front desk personnel. The concierge desk was great, in contrast.

The two units seemed a bit dated--the furnishings and fixtures seemed worn, toilet handle hard to pull, bedroom door stuck, etc. They're also cramped. For two people, it's fine, for four, that would have gotten old fast.

Like I said, this place is OK, but next time, I think we'll just stay "home" at KBC!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank leftydana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here last year, same week and had another great week! We checked in early, but our room was not ready. We mentioned this was our second time here and were promptly upgraded to a Penthouse Suite! They also sent up a bottle of wine! Very thoughtful and appreciated!! Our room was ready in about one hour. It was very nice, updated appliances, beautiful granite in kitchen and bathroom and nice ocean view. Groceries across the street (we skipped CostCo this year, as the Times Market has same stuff, same price and it was just the two of us) We ate at the restaurant three times and it was very good. The Happy Hour Mai Tais are just as good as we remembered :) We were able to get beach loungers everytime! My husband and I toured several other resorts, many higher-end. Kaanapali beats them all! No loungers were allowed on other beaches, and if they were, you were charged extra! Sitting on a comfy lounger beats sitting on a towel anyday! We had housekeeping daily, and coffee daily. I had no trouble connecting with the WiFi. This is a wonderful place and I know the Management reads these posts. I want to say THANK YOU AGAIN, for the wine!! We are looking to go to Kaui next year and will choose an Aston property! Maholos!!

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room and ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotmomjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,003 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Property: Aston Kaanapali Shores
Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing