We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Aloha Lani Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aloha Lani Inn
Ranked #11 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Salem, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had a wonderful stay with Melinda and the Animals that inhabit the house and yard. Such a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Melinda is a great hostess and had or could arrange anything we needed. Yes the bedroom is small, but we had access to her whole house which was very comfortable and warm. It is in a great location. This was just an overall excellent experience and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
14
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Studio City, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

What a different yet charming experience I had on my recent trip to Maui more specially at Melinda's place in Lahaina. I had a very pleasant time there, almost two weeks, very well located and very well accommodated. Melinda will offer just about anything you need and she has a great knowledge of the Island and especially all of the good surfing spots. The room is not huge but you do get your own bathroom and the price is just right to make this a great alternative to staying at a pricy hotel. Please note: Melinda does have cats so if you are allergic then unfortunately this is not for you but asides that...Fun times were certainly had there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

On a positive note: the bedroom and bathroom were clean and shampoo, towels, and soap were provided. The AC in the bedroom functioned quietly. Upon our obvious initial disappointment, the housesitter talked to Melinda (in the mainland) and offered to find us another place with a full refund. Ater some difficulty finding suitable lodging, we decided to stay at Aloha Lani. Our contact with Melinda was very limited after she returned. As the "unusual stay" reveiwer noted, the bedroom is quite small - I crawled in and out of the bed. Giving Melinda the benefit of doubt, perhaps the housesitter and her roommate have lower standards for cleanliness. Only coffee was provided. A space in the refrigerator and shelves was provided for our provisions. Cats roamed in and out of the house through a hole in the screen door. I would not recommend this place

Room Tip: Only room is too small for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rbyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda_Mower, Owner at Aloha Lani Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Aloha Unusual Guest!

Just wanted to respond to this review since I was away on vacation most of the time of this guests stay; it is not accurate and by far the worst review ever. My property does not deserve this rating, please see all other reviews for reference. Evidently my house sitter definitely must have lower standard of cleanliness because Aloha Lani Inn is always clean and immaculate.

This Guest was simply shopping based on price, and was obviously not a traveler that's used to staying in guest homes or bed & breakfasts. We offer very reasonable rates for an average size room. If this guests wanted condo accommodations at a higher price we certainly could have provided that for them at other properties we work with.

Best Regard,
Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We loved our stay at Melinda's, she is a wonderful host. We planned our stay such that we stayed at the B&B for the 3 days we wanted to do Hana trip, trekking around the volcano and exploring Lahaina. We stayed for 3 days at Hyatt and these were our beach days so we took complete advantage of the resort facilities and the fact that Hyatt is right off beach.

Our stay at Melinda's B&B (Aloha Lani Inn) was very pleasant, Melinda is a very warm host, she provided us with directions and pointers in Maui. There are 3 adorable house cats and a rabbit (lives in his pan in the backyard). We enjoyed our morning coffee chatting with Melinda, planning our day as she fed the cats, the birds and the rabbit !

Plus
- Parking available
- Very close to the beach, walking distance to Lahaina downtown...some of the best eating places in Maui, great place to watch sunset, local art work...in short a very vibrant place
- Friendly host, she even shared mangoes from her backyard with us.
-Value for money
-Small additional amenities like a cooler and ice packs to carry sandwiches /drinks (when we went on the road to Hana) were quite useful.
-Towels for beach use
- Washer /dryer available in house for a small fee ($3)


Minus
-The room is a little small, bathroom is not attached but since the whole experience was good, we didn't mind it. It was similar to staying at a friend's place.
- Wireless internet was not working during our stay but she let us use her wired internet (with our laptop).

Overall a pleasant stay and would stay at her place again whenever we are in Maui again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Well located for anyone with a car as it is two blocks from the beach and three blocks from the Banyan Tree Square and has its own parking in a town where parking is difficult near the centre. Melinda has just the one room for rental in a suburban house. It is a small crowded room for two people but has an associated private bathroom and for those who like to do their own catering, there is shared use of the kitchen, dining and living room of the house and the tropical back garden. The room has air conditioning but not the rest of the house, which is however, breezy and well-ventilated. Melinda welcomes you to her house almost as family and is very helpful with information and bookings. There are four cats roaming freely – so those with allergies need to be careful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonniesGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Melinda is a very friendly, helpful host...and her 3 cats are great! You can easily walk to the beach or into town from her home. Melinda made excellent suggestions for places to eat and a fantastic beach (airport beach) for snorkeling (with bathrooms and easy parking). The road noise can be loud at night, but all you have to do is turn on the air conditioner and sleep soundly. Melinda generously shared her kitchen and TV room. Peaceful garden with lots of birds. Can't imagine a better value in Lahaina.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seattle54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Melinda is the reason the experience went so well....she is loving and welcoming....as are her family.....the cats, birds and plants....if you want a personal touch and to see how Mauians really live....stay at Aloha Lani Inn,

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bblondinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
894 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aina Nalu
Aina Nalu
#23 of 32 in Lahaina
1,178 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
229 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Lani Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Lani Inn

Property: Aloha Lani Inn
Address: 494 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1108
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offers one guest room in a beautiful home with a tropical garden setting. Located just 1 block from the beach and just a 3 block walk to the harbor and all the shops, restaurants, night life and art galleries. Guests share the home with their hostess and can make themselves at home utilizing the kitchen, living room and dining room. Enjoy sitting at the back lanai and enjoy the birds feeding and the lush tropical backyard. Within minutes you can enjoy a walk on the beach and a beautiful Maui sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Aloha Lani Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Lani Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing