We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast”

Down The Hatch Maui
Ranked #37 of 238 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Description: Are you in the Lahaina, HI, area and looking to try something delicious? Down the Hatch is Maui's top takeout and curbside seafood restaurant, offering a multitude of choices that are guaranteed to get your mouth watering. This establishment was founded in 2015 by three native Georgians who have since migrated to Maui. They specialize in Hawaiian cuisine with a southern twist, creating every dish with locally caught seafood and dressing with fresh ingredients. There's no end to the delicious seafood options this takeout and curbside restaurant offers. Split some crispy calamari or lava lava shrimp as an appetizer for the whole group, and then dig into entrées like a grilled fish salad, macadamia-nut-crusted Mahi, or a lobster and crabbed stuffed grilled cheese. They also offer catering services to help make your weddings, birthday parties, and even boating outings a huge success.
Restaurant details
Description: Are you in the Lahaina, HI, area and looking to try something delicious? Down the Hatch is Maui's top takeout and curbside seafood restaurant, offering a multitude of choices that are guaranteed to get your mouth watering. This establishment was founded in 2015 by three native Georgians who have since migrated to Maui. They specialize in Hawaiian cuisine with a southern twist, creating every dish with locally caught seafood and dressing with fresh ingredients. There's no end to the delicious seafood options this takeout and curbside restaurant offers. Split some crispy calamari or lava lava shrimp as an appetizer for the whole group, and then dig into entrées like a grilled fish salad, macadamia-nut-crusted Mahi, or a lobster and crabbed stuffed grilled cheese. They also offer catering services to help make your weddings, birthday parties, and even boating outings a huge success.
Reviewed August 19, 2019 via mobile

We had the Hawaiian Sweet Bread French toast with ice cream, bananas, strawberries and blueberries. It was excellent. People next to us had a huge plate of chicken and waffles. Great little place for breakfast before hitting all the shops or activities on Front Street.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank JACagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Manager at Down The Hatch Maui, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Aloha,

Thank you so much for the excellent review of our restaurant The French toast tower is a personal favorite! The Chicken and Waffles is a fan favorite that we serve all day long! Hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 290 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2019

We loved the laid back atmosphere of this restaurant. The food was absolutely delicious! This was recommended by a friend who did not let us down.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank D1906PHrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Manager at Down The Hatch Maui, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2019

Aloha,

Thank you so much for the excellent review of our restaurant. We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us so much. Hope to see you again soon.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019 via mobile

We stopped in here for some lunch and noticed it had previously been highlighted on travel and cooking shows. Initially looking at the menu, the prices are a bit high even for tourist standards but that all changed once we got our meals. The plates here are HUGE!

I had the chicken and waffles which was great. My wife had the lobster grilled cheese which was unreal. Both meals were fantastic and fairly large portions that made it a worthwhile trip.

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank Foreman212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Manager at Down The Hatch Maui, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2019

Aloha,

Thank you so much for the excellent review of our restaurant. Yes we were featured on DDD, Mr Fieri had our Lobster and Crab grilled cheese! It is very large and can be split by two people! Hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019

This place did the job for booze and sustenance late at night. This is pretty obviously a local's joint. The fish tacos that I had were very good and of decent value. The DJ music was annoying. Overall, this isn't a place that I am likely to return to, but I appreciate that it is open late at night.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fzedlach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Manager at Down The Hatch Maui, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2019

Aloha,

Im sorry you did not enjoy the late night. I would invite you come join us during the day. It seems that might be more of the atmosphere that you are looking for. We are a completely different place before 10 pm.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019

This restaurant was almost good. There was live music and a relaxed atmosphere with friendly servers. For the most part, the dishes that my group and I ordered had perfectly cooked shrimp and fish that melted in our mouths. However, one dish featured dry and overcooked fish that almost tasted like chicken. With that exception, I'd gladly come here again.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank em-2115
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Manager at Down The Hatch Maui, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2019

Aloha,

We have live music everyday 930am to 1130am as well as 3pm-5pm. Im so sorry your dish was not cook correctly. I apologize for this mistake. I am glad that the rest of our party enjoyed their meals. I do hope that you personally will come by and give us another chance, hope to see you soon!

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Down The Hatch Maui also viewed

 

Been to Down The Hatch Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.