We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
As Lu’aus go.... this was a good night out.

Yes it was big (about 500 people) but the setting was good, the numbers were well managed and both... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
LJSpence
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
via mobile
Disappointing at Best

We were looking to have an authentic Hawiian experience, and what we got was a very typical catered... read more

Reviewed yesterday
MrsAY
,
Boston, Massachusetts
Read all 2,105 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Lahaina
from $125.00
More Info
from $142.19
More Info
from $115.00
More Info
from $109.37
More Info
Reviews (2,105)
Filter reviews
2,105 results
Traveler rating
927
577
337
152
112
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
927
577
337
152
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviews general seating vip seating preferred seating fashion show fire dancers general admission vip tickets staying at the hyatt pork chicken nuggets food was great buffet line great luau mai tai our waiter free drinks luau experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
410 - 415 of 2,105 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2018

This was our first ever luau. the show was good. Talented performers. There was a lot of talking during parts, maybe to give performers time to change? A friend was at another luau at the same time and she sent me photos of the men at the other luau and I do feel a bit cheated with Drums of the Pacific, sorry guys, perhaps their talent makes up for the not so much "Magic mike" appearance. All the performers were very talented.
The buffet was ok but nothing to share on instagram. The only real option for young picky eaters were mcdonalds type chicken nuggets and some baked ziti type pasta. The service was really quite great to be sure.
The other issue I had was for general seating we got there an hour before to be second in line to choose the best seats. But when it opened the staff sat us. We ended up with an ok seat but why did we get in line an hour early if we didn't get to choose our seats? Oh and people who showed up just a bit before the doors opened totally try to get in front of the line and act all stupid when those of us who waited an hour tell them there is a line. It is ridiculous how these poor planning folks try to whisper to each other how they can skip the line.
It was a good show but I think there are others that are less pricey that have better food.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2018

This is our 3rd time to this luau.......great greeter-table assignment person then it went downhill......the wait person was obsessed with rule of not more than 2 drinks in front of a person.....all he would have to do is walk away for a couple of minutes. He insisted on bugging us as there were people across the aisle (preferred seating) that were doing the same - also his station - weren't being bothered by him at all. The food this time was so-so, our other luaus were better--seemed dried out and not as flavorful.
We enjoyed standing in line and visiting with other people....not an overly hot day.
BUT the entertainment portion of luau was great as ever.......not sure of another return.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank boenski7035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017 via mobile

Our family thought the views were incredible! Tiki torches burning, smell of the salt air, and layers of colors during sunset really set the mood. Especially loved the Tahitian dance and fire dance. Will recommend

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank surfrider2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017 via mobile

Maybe I built up expectations too high, but I really wasn’t impressed. I do believe that every Hawaiian visitor should probably enjoy a luau at least once. With that in mind, we will probably try again.

I freely admit that our experience may not be representative of the normal experience, but the overall evening simply didn’t live up to the hype.

First, think carefully about paying extra for the VIP access. The best I could gather, the only real valuable benefit was the shorter wait to sit down. After that, we were all part of the same cattle herding process as everyone else. Clearly, it is all about the numbers for them. In theory, we were supposed to be able to go through the buffet line first, but that time was wasted waiting in the assigned location for the family picture (not worth the money because we had to wait so long that the awesome sunset was missed).

I may not know luaus, but have grown up on pulled pork and all forms of slow roasted pork. It was acceptable by large volume banquet standards only.

Two days later, we ate at a little restaurant next to a much smaller facility that hosts luaus. As we peeked enviously through the fence, we voted to try that one next time.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank gymdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2017 via mobile

First half of the programmer was slow and boring. Second half, especially last 30 minutes was great. Good way to understand and learn about Polynesian culture . Liked the Lu’au setting where we have opportunity to share large dining table with other tourists ... was pleasantly surprised to see the number of vegetarian options in the buffet and how nearly they were tagged as Vegan or Vegetarian as the case may be. Hula dancers were beautiful and skillful. Staff in general were very nice and courteous. Overall a nice evening ... could have be shorter by at least an hour !!

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Venkat_KR_Raman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews