We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Drums of the Pacific Lu'au
Save
Review Highlights
Nice Luau, good food

This luau is at the Hyatt Regency Hotel. We chose preferred seating which was nice. We were served... read more

Reviewed March 13, 2020
MeeShellMidwifeRN
,
Hughson, California
via mobile
Good food, good show - bring a jacket

Not a bad seat in the house. We had general admission and it was just fine. Seating at 530, show... read more

Reviewed March 9, 2020
DBoell
,
Orlando, Florida
Read all 2,247 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Maui
from $31.74
More Info
from $144.79
More Info
from $79.95
More Info
from $119.79
More Info
Reviews (2,247)
Filter reviews
2,247 results
Traveler rating
985
608
360
173
121
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
985
608
360
173
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vip seating general seating preferred seating fire dancers general admission vip tickets staying at the hyatt pork chicken nuggets food was great buffet line great luau mai tai our waiter salad luau experience front row
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
555 - 560 of 2,247 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2017 via mobile

Maybe I built up expectations too high, but I really wasn’t impressed. I do believe that every Hawaiian visitor should probably enjoy a luau at least once. With that in mind, we will probably try again.

I freely admit that our experience may not be representative of the normal experience, but the overall evening simply didn’t live up to the hype.

First, think carefully about paying extra for the VIP access. The best I could gather, the only real valuable benefit was the shorter wait to sit down. After that, we were all part of the same cattle herding process as everyone else. Clearly, it is all about the numbers for them. In theory, we were supposed to be able to go through the buffet line first, but that time was wasted waiting in the assigned location for the family picture (not worth the money because we had to wait so long that the awesome sunset was missed).

I may not know luaus, but have grown up on pulled pork and all forms of slow roasted pork. It was acceptable by large volume banquet standards only.

Two days later, we ate at a little restaurant next to a much smaller facility that hosts luaus. As we peeked enviously through the fence, we voted to try that one next time.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank gymdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2017 via mobile

First half of the programmer was slow and boring. Second half, especially last 30 minutes was great. Good way to understand and learn about Polynesian culture . Liked the Lu’au setting where we have opportunity to share large dining table with other tourists ... was pleasantly surprised to see the number of vegetarian options in the buffet and how nearly they were tagged as Vegan or Vegetarian as the case may be. Hula dancers were beautiful and skillful. Staff in general were very nice and courteous. Overall a nice evening ... could have be shorter by at least an hour !!

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Venkat_KR_Raman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2017

The #1 luau was fully booked so we tried this one - big mistake. Felt like cattle being led into an over-packed area. The show was boring and lack lustre. The food was so-so at best. A family sitting with us ended up leaving. Hundreds of dollars and an evening down the drain. The only reason for two stars versus one star, is that the walk around the grounds afterwards was quite nice.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2017 via mobile

Awesome Christmas morning adventure! Lots of whales. Had to cut the engines the whales were so close and swimming towards us at one point. Very educational and smooth ride. Would go again if we had the time!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank 36susann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2017

It's a fun night for a couple or the family. Dancers are enthusiastic and seem to enjoy themselves.

The food is average, the setting is nice and close to the beach.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews