We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drums of the Pacific Lu'au”

Drums of the Pacific Lu'au
Ranked #6 of 18 Concerts & Shows in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience exciting lu'au entertainment right at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa. The sound of the conch, the beating of the drums, and the echoes of the Hawaiian chant signal the start of Hawaii's most exciting Lu'au. "Drums of the Pacific" Polynesian Spectacular takes you on a journey through the islands of Polynesia, complete with a traditional imu ceremony and the exotic flavors of native Hawaiian cuisine. We feature authentic dances and music of the old Hawaii, Samoa, Fiji, New Zealand, Tahiti, Tonga, and Rarotonga in the hottest Lu'au Show in the Islands. See a preview of our lu'au here. Our Drums of the Pacific adventure includes:•Greeting with a shell lei and fresh mai tais or fruit punch for each guest •A delightful performance of Hawaiian music •Traditional arts and crafts demonstrations •Impressive torch lighting ceremony •Authentic imu ceremony - the unveiling of the main dish, Kalua Pua'a. •Friendly greetings by Royal Polynesians, followed by a Polynesian fashion show featuring the islands most exotic pareaus (sarong) in creative styles. •An all-you-can-eat generous buffet including Kalua Pork, Huli Huli Chicken, Grilled Fish, Polynesian Rice, Vegetables Makamaka, Tropical Fruits Anuenue, Soba Noodles, Lomi Lomi Salmon, Pacific Ahi Poke, Tossed Green Salad, and Poi (taro). •Lavish dessert bar featuring Macadamia Nut Lu'au Cream Pie, Haupia with Toasted Coconut, Pineapple Cake and Bread Pudding. It's a great Hawaiian Lu'au Feast served throughout the first half of the show. •Open bar featuring beer, wine, mixed cocktails, mai tais, and fruit punch. Join us for an unforgettable experience on your vacation. We'll see you there. ALOHA!!!
Tacoma, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Drums of the Pacific Lu'au”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The food was very good and the fire performance was excellent. However, you were seated at long banquet tables squished next to your neighbor with no elbow room to speak of. Also, drinks were included in your ticket price but if they put alcohol in the mixed drinks it was a mystery to me. Even the couple across from us felt the same way, stick to wine or bottled beer. They are building a new location for this Lu'au to be completed in October 2013, hopefully that venue is a little more upscale.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan H, Director of Sales at Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your feedback. It is a valuable tool in helping us to better ourselves and we appreciate the time you took to post this. We have listened and created more spacing among the rows and are providing fresher drinks at the greeting. Our traditional luau grounds are in the midst of a renovation and we are very excited for the unveiling! We hope you are able to join us again in the future at our new and improved location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    712
    419
    241
    102
    74
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Disappointing is the best word to describe this experience. We were hoping to see the "real" luau or as close as it comes, this place is NOT it. From the begining we were told to arrive at 5:30- waist of time, no friendly greetings or demonstrations, just wait in lines.. That was followed by getting "hoarded" to the long tables, being squeezed by stranges ( which is not too bad after a number of extremely watered down drinks).The dinner was mediocre.Btw, no show during dinner. The show itself, is located at the construction site.. And lasts about an hour, the performance has left a lot to be desired.Nothing as it looks like in the photos of the event.. If you have an option of going to another venue for the luau experience, do so. This place is definitely not worth the money it's charging. If you are planing on visiting Kauai visit the luau at Kalamaku Luau.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatyana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
2 reviews
“Great food and performances - but temporary venue was unacceptable.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The food was fantastic, performers were entertaining, and the servers were very polite and attentive. However, we were expecting an amazing Luau venue as seen in pictures and videos during our research. We were not told when we booked that the main venue was being renovated, so they had the Luau in a temporary spot next to a construction site, with a green plastic sheet blocking the site to our rear, and extremely cramped seating space. The stage was short and small, so the view was impaired, and the "preferred" seating was often times worse than the general seating. .

Until they are back in their main venue, I certainly cannot recommend this Luau. Even then, we have a poor taste in our mouth, especially since we booked through an Expedia concierge, which is the same service the Hyatt Regency uses. If you are going to give your customers a less than ideal experience, let them know beforehand and lower the price accordingly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cjoconn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not nearly good enough for the money spent”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Ok let's start by saying we were given poor advice by the Hyatt concierge who told us that showing up before 5:30 was absolutely unnecessary. Totally wrong. After checking in at the desk we were sent down a long walk way past the main stage to meet someone who would seat us. No friendly greeting as the staff was too busy talking to each other. Finally acknowledged, we were led to the absolute worst possible seats in the place - backs to the stage, sun shining directly in our face and a perfect view of the toilets and construction site. So much for listening to the concierge. I then stopped the hostess and asked if we could get different seats and I was very rudely dismissed with the comment that we got what we paid for. I practically had to grab her to keep her from walking away, telling her that I was not asking for an upgrade - just different seats, she waved her hand towards a mostly empty table way off to the side and said you can go over there if you want and walked away. I did not even get into the fact that nowhere was there a published price difference for different seats.

The server for the table was great. Quick with the drinks and a big smile, friendly comments and happy attitude. Unfortunately that was the highlight of the night. Thank goodness they were efficient at moving the crowd through the food lines because our off to the side table of rejects was the last to go up. The food while plentiful was anywhere from bad to pretty good depending on which item you were eating. Salads and fruit were fresh and delicious. Side dishes modest at best. The main dish chicken and pork both had a good flavor but were very dry and would have been greatly improved with some sort of sauces. Desserts were inedible, tasting very much like the packaging they had to be frozen in just before being served to us.

Oh and the show, well that was the worst part of it all. I had hoped for some glimpse into other cultures through their stories, costumes, song and dance. What I got was a lesson in tying a sarong, an emcee who erroneously thought he could sing and two hula dances with no explanation of what I was seeing. I learned more from watching the hotel info channel. We definitely did not pay that much for a mediocre meal and a 30 minute total show if you can call it that. Seemed more like what I would see for free from street performers.

Supposedly rated as the best luau in Maui, we had to wonder what the others would have been like. Please don't waste your time and money on this one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank redrockred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
“Upgrade to VIP! Awesome.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Great experience as a VIP. Got to get food first, Awesome server Blythe recommended plenty for fantastic drinks. Very personable. Show was a perfect way to end out second day in Hawaii!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JasonEverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drums of the Pacific Lu'au also viewed

 

Been to Drums of the Pacific Lu'au? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing