We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool Hawaiian breezes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hono Koa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hono Koa
Ranked #37 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cool Hawaiian breezes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Had a wonderful visit. Jim at front desk very helpful and extremely friendly. Concierge Amy Williams very knowledgeable. Great location if you want to relax. We had a 1st floor condo. Really nice accomodations! Highly recommend!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for visiting Hono Koa, Christine. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Some people refer to those cool Hawaiian breezes as the winds of heaven. Whatever you call them, few things are as intoxicating. Our concierge staff is happy to help. We will pass on your compliments to Amy. “Spacious” describes each of our three two-bedroom condominiums, which range from 1,151 to 1,419 square feet. All of them have two baths and full kitchens. Thank you for sharing your comments. We hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Maui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    27
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
50
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We love going to Maui and staying in Hono Koa. Excellent service and always clean and accomodating!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for visiting Hono Kona, Maui L. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Providing friendly customer service with plenty of aloha spirit is our top priority. We appreciate your comments and hope you will consider us again on your next visit to the islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I both travel a fair amount for business. This has allowed us to stay in some very nice places. The one thing in common with all these places is after several days/weeks of traveling, one place looks the same as the next. We live in beautiful San Diego. We can walk around Seaport Village if we want generic ocean-front and fine dining. This is not what we are looking for in a relaxing vacation.
We have been coming to the Hono Koa for 11 years and every experience has been outstanding. For the first 8 years we stayed for a week and now we stay for 2 weeks because we love it so much. The property is in an incredible location, every room has an ocean view. We can hear the waves crashing and the sound lulls us to sleep every night. Depending on the time of year there is beach access with steps cut into the deck. From here we can snorkel on the reefs and swim with the turtles every day in water that is crystal clear. One year I actually watched whales breach from the master bedroom window. One of our favorite things to do is grill out by the pool at sunset as we watch the turtles feed on the reef and the sun slowly slips below the clouds over Moloka’i and finally into the ocean. Because it is located in West Maui it sprinkles every day. We enjoy sitting in the hot tub when it rains and waiting for the rainbows that come out as soon as the clouds pass over. A huge positive is the fully equipped kitchen and large units (range from 1000 to 1400 SF). The kitchen allows us to relax and not worry about running out for food every meal which saves hundreds $$$ not to mention the hassle. We often eat out on the lanai to take advantage of the view while we eat…but you can see the ocean from the dining room table too.
The best thing about this property is the laid back feeling. There are only 27 units. Each unit has a view. The furthest unit is no more than 100 yards off the water, most (not all) of the people staying there have been coming for years and are owners. If every unit was occupied to capacity, 4 people, there would be approx. 128 people total. At some of these resorts you could have 128 people on your floor. 20 floors per building, 3-4 buildings…… at the Hono Koa you get that real “get away from it all” feeling. If you are looking for a 5 star resort that could be literally anywhere in the world then the Hono Koa is not for you, but if you want to feel like a local and stay at a property that is walking distance to beaches, dive/snorkel/bike rental, deli’s, restaurants, coffee shops, fish and farmer’s market then the Hono Koa is a great little secret on a fantastic island. This is what we love about it. After our stay at the Hono Koa we are ready to go back to the mainland and face our hectic lives. We look forward to this sabbatical every year and for many years in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank 2112ttucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for visiting Hono Koa. We are delighted you continue to choose us for your yearly Island retreat. We are famous for our ocean views and soporific waves. Swimming with the turtles sounds like a blast. In reading your extensive review it is clear you know how to enjoy the good life. Sitting in the hot tub in the rain? Count us in! We appreciate your enthusiastic advocacy and are happy we can offer a relaxing respite from your hectic lives on the mainland. Thank you for sharing your informative comments. We look forward to seeing you again next time and for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We had the privilege of staying for a week at this condo. The view was spectacular from our balcony and it felt like we were at the resort pretty much by ourselves. My kids loved the pool every morning at 9 to start the day. The bbq's pool side were also a big hit at the end of the day for dinner. If you are looking for something a little more quiet than the big resort this is your place. The rooms were very clean and the cleaning staff went out of there way to help with anything you asked. I was a little worried about their being no AC but the open windows and trade winds kept everything at acceptable levels. The nice thing about having your windows open was I fell asleep every night to the sounds of crashing waves, something I'm already missing now that I'm back at home. We really enjoyed our stay and have no problem recommending this place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nashman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for visiting Hono Koa. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our balconies offer some of the most scenic ocean views on Maui. Or as you put it, “spectacular.” We’re happy your children had something to look forward to at the beginning and end of the day. There’s nothing like swimming to work up an appetite for delicious barbecued meats. It was our pleasure to provide you with courteous service and clean accommodations. We’re glad you liked the natural air conditioning (trade winds) and sleep inducer (crashing waves). Thank you for sharing your comments. We hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Maui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

We first visited Maui about 6 years ago and rented a Koa unit (the huge penthouse type) in the front of the building. It was DIRECTLY on the ocean with a 180 view! It was breathtaking to see the whales right from your lanai and the sea turtles would come out every morning! The unit itself is very large with a wrap around lanai. The master has ocean on 2 sides and was great. The kitchen and baths were updated with granite counter tops and the place was clean. The front desk was friendly and helpful. I was a little worried about not having air conditioning but they were right about the tradewinds...there was always a nice breeze. We liked it so much we booked here again and got another Koa unit for the view! Does not have the big resort busyness but that is what we wanted. All in all a great smaller resort in a great central location!

Room Tip: The Koa units in the very front of the building rooms 101, 201, 301 and 401 are awesome. The highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovemaui2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

We have owened here for about7 years and love it . The staff are great and treat us like family. They're member us and cannot do enough for us. We have stayed at other place on Mauibecause we needed anextranight. After we havestayedelseware we really appreciate our Rwsor as it was the best of all we have stayed in. Anyone who is not happy here is not happy anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We are a healthy family of four (mom, dad & two kids). The layout of the 2 bed/2 bath condo was great but there was no air conditioning so we needed all the windows open at all times for fresh air. Unfortunately we were surrounded by smokers - yuck! We had a ground floor unit and there were smokers in the parking lot blowing their stink into our back bedroom. There were smokers on the lanai's on the water side of the condo giving us no reprieve and there were smokers at the pool - yuck!

We arrived on Christmas Eve 2011 with a 4:00 pm check in. We were hoping to get in early to get to a special dinner but no such luck. When we got there we were told we wouldn't be able to get in until 5:30pm. That wasn't the agreement and wouldn't work for us. As it turned out we were let in at 4:30 (late) while the cleaning crew worked on our unit. We all used the master bedroom to get ready. At least we were able to get to our Christmas Eve dinner on time.

The pool was ICE COLD and the hot tub hovered around 80 degrees, not good. When we told the guys in the front office they told us to call maintenance; the phone number was next to the hot tub. When we opened the drawers in the kitchen they fell out. Much of the dishware was plastic. The fans in the bathrooms were so loud it seemed like we were standing in an engine room of a large ship. OSHA may recommend ear plugs for your safety while you use the bathroom.

We will NEVER return to this dump.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 105.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Hono Koa, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for visiting Hono Koa. We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay. We cater to smokers and nonsmokers alike and are sensitive to the needs of both. Trying to create a peaceful coexistence is tricky in light of the fact Hawaii has not banned public smoking. We are sorry the smoke interfered with your enjoyment. Water temperatures, particularly in winter, are governed by the proximity of the pool and hot tub to our building, which blocks the sun. In winter the pool does not receive the warming rays of the sun until around noon, which doesn’t allow much time to heat the water by sunset. The water generally warms up in summer due to the longer days. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Makani Sands
Makani Sands
#25 of 42 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kulakane
Kulakane
#17 of 42 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lokelani Condominiums
Lokelani Condominiums
#13 of 42 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kahana Villa Resort
Kahana Villa Resort
#24 of 42 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#11 of 42 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maui Sands
Maui Sands
#21 of 42 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hono Koa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hono Koa

Property: Hono Koa
Address: 3801 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hono Koa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hono Koa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hono Koa Hotel Lahaina
Hono Koa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing