We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 3, 2005

We stayed at Garden Gate over Christmas 2004, and would recommend it with some qualifications. Above all, make absolutely sure that you're *not* getting one of the small second floor rooms ("Standard/Budget Suite") -- our room was too small for us and our luggage and the bathroom was uncomfortably tiny. We were upgraded into a larger room (the "Deluxe Studio," I think) for a couple of days, since no one was booked there, and that room was very spacious and had a nice mini-kitchen and sitting area. Definitely worth paying the extra money for. Also, make sure that you have some other source of information about what to do in the area, as we only saw Jaime in passing and when we did get tips from Bill they tended to be curtly delivered (although I think they were a bit stressed in their preparations for Christmas). With those qualifications aside, though, there were some very nice things about the B&B. The breakfast is a nice pastries-and-fruit affair in the lovely courtyard area, there's lots of beach equipment to borrow for the day, and the location is a reasonable drive from area attractions. I'd recommend looking around before reserving here, but if you get a large enough room, this can be a good option.

10  Thank WFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 235 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2004

We reserved two nights of our honeymoon at this B&B. Beware, the website and the owner, Jaime, are very misleading.

We thought we were reserving one type of room but was actually given another when we arrived. Jaime was very rude, although her husband tried to be kind. The room we were given was smaller than a dorm room and the partial ocean view was smaller than the size of your hand.

The owners, Jaime and Bill, offered us the chance to stay only one night as an apology. And, we would receive a full refund for the second night. However, we have yet to receive the refund and when we contacted the establishment we were screamed at and threatened not to make a complaints otherwise we will never see any refund.

Our suggestion to you, is when booking a B&B use Hawaii's B&B association. Also, ask the owners many questions about the establishment and the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank asil73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 11, 2004

As the owner of a bed and breakfast it is inevitable to encounter clients who are unhappy with their accomodations for whatever reason. For the most part, however, if you come knowing what to expect of a place, you will throuoghly enjoy your stay in Maui.
As a response to "Fort Lauderdale's" review of our home, we would like to share our version of the situation: Our guest was unhappy with her room and decided to leave an enitre day early, and even though it is against our policy (which is cited on our website and in our confimation letter) we told her we would refund her money for this day. That is a loss of income for us, but it mattered to us that she was not satisfied. The reason this woman remained upset is that we had to charge her a mandatory $25 service-cancellation fee. That is part of our policy, and we simply can not afford to provide a refund withut this fee. So in all fairness, this "reviewer" has left out some details, as she was actually refunded her money minus the $25. We are always happy to refund as long as it is in accordance with our 30-day refund policy.
Here at Garden Gate, we are a small, family operated establishment, and as traditonal B&Bs go, our rooms are perfect for those on a budget, who would rather spend more time out and about, than hanging out in their rooms. Each of our rooms is unique, clean, and comfortable, many of which offer partial or full ocean views. For guests who do not have a view, our garden and decks are always available for everyone's use. Our guests' happiness is of utmost importance to us. Any thing you need to know about us is posted our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Redmond, WA
240
Reviewed June 28, 2004

We stayed with Jamie and Bill in January, 2004 and we would not recommend this B&B!

Our room was the best room they had in the B&B, and we were told that our room had a private balcony. However, this wasn't exactly true, since a portion of our balcony was shared with any other guest who wished to make use of it. This was very disconcerting, since other guests could (and did!)look directly into our room whenever they were on the balcony! As a result, we had to have our blinds closed night and day.

Furthermore, the other guests were often on the balcony early in the morning and late at night talking and laughing loudly. Being woken up by loud laughter right outside your bedroom at 6:30 am is NOT my idea of a peaceful vacation. I greatly resented being misled by the B&B owners about the balcony and not being told our room was a "fish bowl".

Our other big problem was with the breakfast service. When we checked into the B&B Bill told us that breakfast was served from 7:00 - 10:00 am. However, we came down at least four different mornings between 9:15 and 9:45 and found that breakfast had already been cleared. After the second time this happened we asked Bill if he could the breakfast back out. He didn't, although he did put a few pieces of fruit and a muffin on a plate for us. However, he offered no explanation as to why the breakfast had been cleared 45 minutes early.

Unfortunately, breakfast continued to be cleared early during the rest of our stay at Golden Gate and we often came down before 10:00 only to find we would not be getting breakfast because they had already cleared the food. If they tell guests that breakfast is served until 10:00, then they should serve breakfast until 10:00!!!

All in all, I would NOT recommend staying here!

24  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Westbrook, MN
11
Reviewed May 2, 2004

We thoughly enjoyed our stay with you. Breakfast was good. It was fun visiting with the other guests. We made use of the lawn chairs, bookie boards or what ever they were called. It was nice having everything so handy. The rooms were very clean and the location was convenient but quiet. Thanks

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Austin, TX
1
Reviewed April 26, 2004

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, WA
1
Reviewed January 29, 2004

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Vacaville, CA
1
Reviewed January 11, 2004

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,213 reviews
19.5 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
#4 of 11 in Lahaina
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
466 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ho'oilo House
Ho'oilo House
#2 of 11 in Lahaina
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maui Guest House
Maui Guest House
#3 of 11 in Lahaina
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 67 Kaniau Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1836
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range: $65 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast offers elegant and affordable vacation rental accommodations in west Maui, Hawaii. Our accommodations are centrally located one mile from historic Old Lahaina Town and the Kaanapali Beach coastline. We are also located 30 minutes away from Kahului Airport. Our Maui B&B features the Lanai room with a private deck and panoramic ocean views of Molokai, Lanai, and Oahu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Hotel Lahaina
Garden Gate b&b
Garden Gate Bed And Breakfast Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing