We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic B&B with the kindest people!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 12 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B with the kindest people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I visited this b&b a year ago. We were greeted by the owners who explained all we needed to know about the place, the activities and the dos and donts. They even upgraded us to the luxury room! Whenever we needed any help with arranging activities they were there for us. Definitely visit!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rozinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    51
    23
    9
    12
See reviews for
18
124
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wesel, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This bed and breakfast is a wonderful place, especially because of its owners, Steve and Jeri. These two cared for us and treated us like family. Steve gave us so many good advices and was incredibly helpful. Jeri made the best breakfasts (also to go for our day trips) and a banana bread to dream of!!
Our room (ocean view) was very cosy and the bathroom was very big and modern. Our room and all the rooms accessible to us were always super clean.
We are so happy to have spent our time on Maui here at the garden gate, and we will definitely come back on day... Thank you very much Steve and Jeri, for the great time we had with you!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carounderwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed three nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Actually our entire stay in Lahaina (5 days) would have been perfect here. This b&b is in a residential neighborhood. It's central and easy to get to the main attractions in Lahaina and surrounding areas. The property is beautifully presented and the neighborhood is really quiet, which is something we are particularly fond of. When you step through the gate you will be pleasantly surprised at the size of the property and the beautiful garden/patio area. We had a wonderful warm welcome from Jeri and Steve, both are fabulous hosts. The only regret we have is that we booked a standard room which was smaller than we anticipated but that's ok because that's what we booked and we know for next that we will definitely go with an ocean view room. Our room and bathroom were both immaculately clean. I'm really fussy about clean/fresh smelling bed linens and towels and all smelled like they just go out of the dryer - lovely! The bed was really comfortable and air conditioner was running nicely. Oh boy it does get hot in Lahaina and you definitely need a/c. We felt very much at home here and hopefully we come back next year :D

Room Tip: We recommend that you go for an ocean view suite or deluxe studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pink L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in the Ocean View room, stunning.The place is welcoming with a very nice lobby. Steve and Jeri were both very helpful, to find good restaurants and plan our trip for the day.We liked the healthy breakfast in their nice garden,the atmosphere is very friendly. The place is run very efficiently, is clean and freshly painted. It is close to Old Town Lahaina which we enjoyed.We loved restaurant Honu on Front Street, where you could have lunch right at the ocean and watch the waves.We stayed for two nights and would have liked to stay longer!

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heemstede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed two nights. The places is very nice, welcoming, clean... the staff is very helfpul and friendly. My room was very small but enough for a short stay. Breakfast was basic but tasty... i didn't like the don't do breakfast on sundays...(beeing a Bed & BREAKFAST) however that's something I knew the moment I booked, so it wont affect my review, just a comment for "you" to know. The other thing is that you if you don't like walking you might need a car to move in the area. Once you have (which I did) it's perfect.

The negative thing is that AC was to loud so I had to turn it off and TV is old and the remote wasn't working properly.

I highly recommend to stay here if you are looking for a nice place to stay not as expensive as the Resorts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Went to relax and get away. Room was nice and clean. Full kitchen set up with plastic wrap and a full fridge. Jerry was very helpful at suggestions. Breakfast every day and if you have early plans she will make a bag breakfast if you let her know the day before.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Closter, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

we spent a week at the garden gate b&b in lahaina, maui. it was a great place to stay, convenient to lahaina and other places on maui. jeri is the ideal hostess, attentive, gracious, and helpful. the lanai room had an ocean view and a private balcony, well worth the extra cost. an added bonus for us was coco, the resident shih tzu, reminding us of our pup back home. the only criticism, a minor one, is for jeri to provide some healthier options such as whole wheat bread or plain muffins for breakfast; not that the pastries weren't delicious. if we ever return to maui we will be sure to stay at the garden gate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obsessedtraveler299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,577 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
2.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Maui Guest House
Maui Guest House
#2 of 12 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 12 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 67 Kaniau Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1836
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast offers elegant and affordable vacation rental accommodations in west Maui, Hawaii. Our accommodations are centrally located one mile from historic Old Lahaina Town and the Kaanapali Beach coastline. We are also located 30 minutes away from Kahului Airport. Our Maui B&B features the Lanai room with a private deck and panoramic ocean views of Molokai, Lanai, and Oahu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Hotel Lahaina
Garden Gate b&b
Garden Gate Bed And Breakfast Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing