We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time”
Review of Maui Garden Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maui Garden Oasis
Ranked #8 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Loved our experience here the price was great and the breakfast every morning was fantastic. The manager of the B&B even packed us a great breakfast for the morning we left early to drive up to the top of Haleakala.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Citywes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 236 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

We spent two nights at the Garden Gate. Our room was large, with a beautiful view of the ocean. We had a large, comfortable king bed. The bathroom was big and had a great shower. Everything was very clean. The continental breakfast was served on the patio, with lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, and the best-ever homemade mango bread. Great coffee too. Geri is an extremely attentive host, and was extremely helpful with suggestions for tours and day trips. This was a great introduction to Lahaina. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I loved my stay. Jerri was spot on for her dinner recommendations. The deluxe ocean view room was great. I watched whales and sunned on my porch. I loved it! Thank you! And I also loved your little dog Coco.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eajuneaz@
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Location is very convenient both to reach some great beaches as well as Lahina centre full of shops & restaurants; room was great and fully equipped; wonderful breakfast served in their ttpical garden including fresh fruit and continental serving; Geri & Steve helped us a lot in rendering memorable those days we spent on Maui island! Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatFede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We arrived on Thanksgiving day to a very gracious reception. even though we interrupted their thanksgiving dinner. Jeri and Steve were remarkable and passionate about engaging and accommodating every guest that stayed there. Steve is a wonderful guide, Jeri is a very gracious host. rooms were clean and comfortable. I recommend Garden Gate B&B as a great home base to explore the west coast of Maui. Steve & Jeri will not steer you wrong and will make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPzzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I spent 6 nights at the Bed & Breakfast in the fall of 2012. The staff has a great amount of pride in their work and work hard to ensure that you enjoy your stay. The breakfasts are simple (in accordance with Hawaii regulations precluding anyone without a restaurant license from cooking a meal), but are enough to start you off on your morning.

Think of this great B&B as a launching off point for exploring the island. If your intent is to travel to Hawaii to lay on a beach, then (1) don't go to Maui and (2) stay at a resort. If your intent is to spend almost everyday doing something outside, such as surfing, golfing, exploring the National Park, hiking, etc., then this is the perfect B&B for you.

You are able to walk to a beach from the location, but the better beaches require a drive. You really need to rent a car to enjoy Maui. Don't come to Maui unless you can afford to enjoy it. Although this B&B offers a great value compared to other locations, the difference between what you would pay for a condo or resort and this B&B is largely consumed by the cost of eating out for lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper deck. You can see the ocean and sun on the deck in the afternoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with my partner, we wished we had longer. I picked this place as we wanted something different from a big hotel on the beach and Garden Gate didn't disappoint. You are in the local neighborhood not far from central Lahaina, if you wanted to walk which we did a few times it's about 40 minutes. But we also had a car which you definitely need if holidaying in Maui. The room we had was on the ground floor and was like home from home, a big king bed, your own kitchen and dining area and our own veranda. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. But for us the highlight of our stay was Steve and Jeri, they were amazing hosts and could not have accomodated us more. Steve gave some fantastic advice of where to visit in Maui and the best places to eat and he wasn't wrong on any of them. And if you don't want to eat out they also have BBQ facilities aswell as cooking in your room. As we only had a short amount of time in Maui (big mistake) Steve's advice of where to travel was 2nd to none. Had it not been for Steve we would have missed out on one of the highlights that I've ever seen in the world, driving up to the top of Haleakala. Breathtaking. Anyway I spent alot of time beforehand researching of where to stay in Maui and I have no regrets on staying here and highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonRomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.5 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,636 reviews
19.5 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,185 reviews
13.8 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
#4 of 11 in Lahaina
39 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ho'oilo House
Ho'oilo House
#2 of 11 in Lahaina
364 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Garden Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Garden Oasis

Address: 67 Kaniau Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1836 (Formerly Garden Gate Inn)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range: $162 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Garden Oasis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Garden Oasis offers elegant and affordable vacation rental accommodations in west Maui, Hawaii. Our accommodations are centrally located one mile from historic Old Lahaina Town and the Kaanapali Beach coastline. We are also located 30 minutes away from Kahului Airport. Our Maui home features decks with panoramic ocean views of Molokai, Lanai, and Oahu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maui Garden Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Hotel Lahaina
Garden Gate b&b
Maui Garden Oasis Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing