We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Pioneer Inn Grill and Bar
Ranked #40 of 265 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Enjoy Breakfast, Lunch, Happy Hour and Dinner at the historic Pioneer Inn Grill and Bar. Breakfast favorites include macadamia nut pancakes, loco moco and huevos rancheros in addition to healthy favorites like oatmeal or yogurt with fresh fruit. For lunch and dinner we offer the freshest fish, Maui grown burgers and steaks and a full range of small plates including hearts of Romaine caesar salad, seared ahi and kahlua pig sliders. The historic whalers saloon is the perfect place to watch the fishing boats come in with their catch while enjoying one of our Mai tais or another tropical favorite. We offer local draft beer and know that you will find our resident African gray parrot entertaining.
Redmond, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The Pioneer Inn was our most visited restaurant in Lahaina. We had breakfast lunch and supper here. The food was always prepared with care and well presented. The service, with one exception, was cheerful and unrushed.
If you are ever lucky enough to be here on a Tuesday night you will be treated to the outstanding music of Ah Tim, an incredible local artist who should charge admission, he is that good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    285
    116
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, England, UK
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We liked everything & disliked nothing! The menu had what we wanted, the service was excellent & it was all well priced.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bentley1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great service!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Service here is wonderful! We went twice, once for lunch and once for breakfast. Lunch was excellent, and my husband enjoyed his breakfast, but my macadamia nut pancakes were not that good. I would still return and order something different the next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glu4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Spirit of Maui”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Welcoming in its airiness of open windows, doors and the soft full voice of the Maui Musician singing Hawaiian songs. The service was splendid. The authentic island fare of calamari, ceviche and coconut prawns were yummy!! Graced with locals I always take that as a sign that the restaurant is approved by the best source. Food was moderately priced in comparison to the restaurants I popped my head into. Drinks were $6 rather than $12 or high as $15 in other places.

I have already recommended this great find to some other travellers I met.

The ambience is authentically Hawaiian. It keeps the spirit of the Pioneer Inn as it was many years ago. Classic....I expect Humphrey Bogart to be hanging out here at one of the tables.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kbarker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty good food!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Convenient location,view of the water too. Service was fairly fast considering how busy they looked. We ordered calamari,which were huge chunks! So good. Both of our entrees were delicious too. Sat outside to enjoy the fresh air and sunshine,a great place to stop.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pioneer Inn Grill and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Pioneer Inn Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing