We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average meal, average service”

Pioneer Inn Grill and Bar
Ranked #39 of 267 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Enjoy Breakfast, Lunch, Happy Hour and Dinner at the historic Pioneer Inn Grill and Bar. Breakfast favorites include macadamia nut pancakes, loco moco and huevos rancheros in addition to healthy favorites like oatmeal or yogurt with fresh fruit. For lunch and dinner we offer the freshest fish, Maui grown burgers and steaks and a full range of small plates including hearts of Romaine caesar salad, seared ahi and kahlua pig sliders. The historic whalers saloon is the perfect place to watch the fishing boats come in with their catch while enjoying one of our Mai tais or another tropical favorite. We offer local draft beer and know that you will find our resident African gray parrot entertaining.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I visited Lahaina with another couple and arrived just before noon for a day of shopping. We selected the Pioneer Inn Grill because of its proximity to the water and famous Banyan Tree Park. We found the service to be lacking and the meal below par. The lemonade tasted terrible, like diluted powdered lemonade. The waitress replaced it with iced tea. And our hamburgers were just ok. Several other patrons arrived while we ate and tried to sit on the outside of the restaurant, looking out into the park. But the wait staff moved them, only to sit other diners in the same tables. Not sure what was going on but it appeared that the establishment only wanted certain types of diners in their exterior. When we needed to find the restroom, the bartender was rude about getting us a key. We won't be dining here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WorkingTooHard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at Pioneer Inn Grill and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

We were sorry to hear that you found our food, but especially our service average. We strive to have a friendly Aloha spirit, so we definitely need to improve.
We hope you will try us again and let us know if we made progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
There are newer reviews for Pioneer Inn Grill and Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 454 of 689 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

Pioneer Inn Grill and Bar is such a cool place to hang. Breakfast is very reasonably priced and the Bloody Marys do just fine. Happy hour starts at 3:00 pm everyday and drink prices will keep you ordering more. The parrot even gets into the festivities. I and my girlfriend both ordered the fish and chips basket for dinner one night and would recommend it to anyone based on flavor, quantity, and price. Give the bar and grill a go, you won't be disappointed.

Thank robert r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at Pioneer Inn Grill and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for choosing our Grill and Bar. We realize there are lots of great options in Lahaina, but think we offer a great value and tasty food.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a place in the middle of the tourist area that is not a rip off. Great food at a reasonable price. Make sure & try the pineapple coleslaw

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kirk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at Pioneer Inn Grill and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for choosing to eat with us. Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Average food, average service, great location across from the harbor in Lahaina! Sat at a window table and watched the cruise ship in the harbor. I had the spinach salad, it was good with macadamia nuts, goat cheese and carmelized onions. The onions were a little slimy at first, but added good flavor. My husband had the build your own fish tacos, he said they were average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shelly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

So the table I had was right by the hostess stand with a good view of the street/dock. And the eggs Benedict was yummy with good homemade hollandaise sauce. But the menu was a little blah. And I can see how on a day when the cruise ships come in, this place should be avoided at all costs due to the proximity of the boats.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mergall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pioneer Inn Grill and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Pioneer Inn Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing