We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal we had in all of Maui” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sale Pepe

Sale Pepe
Ranked #13 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in all of Maui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I didn't expect to have a better Italian meal while visiting Maui than I had while visiting Rome, but that's exactly what we got!

This place is a must visit... The food is authentic (you can hear Italian being spoken from there open kitchen, always a good sign), the atmosphere is casual and welcoming, the music fun, the design is cool, and the service was perfection. I'm a vegetarian, and the staff recommended items from the entire menu to create my meal... The pizzas here are insane, and I'm from NYC! We had the Margherita (Classic!) and Quattro Formaggi.

The menu seems to change constantly but the staff seemed well briefed on everything. The atmosphere of the place is just really warm and wonderul.

Helpful?
2 Thank DrMarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    81
    30
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overall poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I knew it was a challenge when they could not make a gin and tonic. It just went down from there. No fresh bread, rolls or oil to dip etc. they make pizza! But no bread. Pasta was under cooked. No beef, pork veal. One chicken dish that they covered with more salad. Go somewhere else and pass on this wanna be italian restaurant Waitress was no help at all.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalePepeMaui, Owner at Sale Pepe, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Ciao. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at Sale Pepe. As we are bona fide Italians from Milan via south Italy, we aim to offer our customers an authentic Italian experience.

Classic drinks like aperol spritz and negronis are available but we do not serve gin and tonics, etc. We did our best to accommodate you with gin and soda. We wish we were made aware of your displeasure with this drink. We would have made another suggestion.

Regarding the lack of bread and oil on the table upon seating, very traditional at Italian-American restaurants, we have opted not to offer this since there is so much house made bread (pizza, crostini, etc.) already on the menu.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your chicken Milanese. Other proteins available on the night you visited us included tuna carpaccio and a beautiful filet of tuna. Pork was available the evening before. We change the menu daily. We hope that you can appreciate our desire to present a new, inspired presentation based on the best local ingredients available to us.

We are a new, small establishment and only one month old. We are doing exceptionally well thanks to the support of the Lahaina community. Your experience is not typical of the average visitor and we would like to extend an offer to you to visit us again. We can be reached at info@salepepemaui.com at your convenience.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“"Great food at an affordable price"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We found this place when searching Trip Advisor for Italian restaurants in Maui, otherwise would never have found the place. It's behind Front street near the post office (used to be KFC). It's rather small so you must have a reservation. We called to inquire and were told they were completely booked, but they'd try to fit us in. We were warmly greeting and offered seats at the small bar which we accepted. The bartender, our server, was attentive and great. The food was very well priced, nothing over $20. We had pasta with kale and sausage $15 and pasta with pesto $12, both were excellent. Also had grilled vegetables. Stone Cap chardonnay was nice at $36 a bottle which is reasonable for Maui standards. Overall, enjoyed our meal because it was priced so well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laura1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great addition to Lahaina restauarants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Nice to have a new restaurant open and do such a nice job, straight out of the box. The food and atmosphere were both very enjoyable and we have been twice in the last month. I happen to be a fan of fresh herbs and they have them right on your table to add as you like. We ave tried the apps, the pizza and the pastas and all were good. My personal favorite was the chicken liver crostini... losta flavor !!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatFlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Real Italian in Lahaina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Our newest restaurant in Lahaina turned out to be a treat. At first we kept passing on the place because of the line. One time, we could get right in so we did. It is located in the old KFC location by the Ulalena theatre. Parking is always a challenge there but we were lucky and found a spot immediately. Service was prompt and attentive for us. It is small (after all, it used to be a KFC) but maybe being small will help it last a while in Lahaina like their neighbor Thai Chef.

It was really warm in there. I am sure it's the pizza ovens but they will need to address that as summer is just starting in hot Lahaina. The food was much more Italian based than I had really envisioned and what we had was really good. We will definitely go back. Their bar menu is very small but they had Peroni so it was ok with us. Keep it up Sale Pepe! Trying your pizza next time!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sale Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing