We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Luau”

Kaanapali Sunset Luau at Black Rock
Book In Advance
More Info
$111.00*
and up
Kaanapali Sunset Luau in Maui
Ranked #10 of 19 Concerts & Shows in Lahaina
Attraction details
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful Luau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

It was over a year ago that we went to this luau but it was a fabulous time. The food was excellent and the dancers were very enjoyable. There was one dancer that just made the show for us. He really got into the dancing and hollering. He was fantastic. He made me want to get up and dance and holler. Wish I knew his name to ad to this review. The only downside we found were the drinks were not the greatest. The Mai Tai's tasted like just juice, not much alcohol in them at all. Oh well, that wasn't important to us, what was important was we had a great time.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank OADiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    95
    47
    23
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
544 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Nice Luau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Really loved the show. We did pay the extra $10 to get premium seating and were up front which was worth it. The food was quite food - I did not expect that. The mahi mahi was cooked perfectly and the pork was also good. The teriyaki steak was over cooked - if, you like your steak well done it may be ok. I guess the drinks were ok - husband said they were a little watered down.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poorly run”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Perhaps they just had a bad day, but MAN was it a bad day for the luau.

First, they mis-timed everything so we never got to see the diver off the rocks after lighting the torches. The fish was downright soggy and the rest of the food was below average. Add to that the cheesiest MC in history and a number of non-islander girls performing the dances, and the whole experience was just "off".

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MattySamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Consider a Better Luau”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

My wife and I recently returned home to California from Maui. On this trip we decided to try the Sheraton "Kaanapali Sunset Luau at Black Rock" having attended the "Old Lahaina Luau" on our last trip. The Sheraton luau is only performed a couple nights a week while the "Old Lahaina Luau performs nightly. This trip we brought along four adult relatives. As instructed we arrived to the Luau at 5:00 pm only to wait in a long line of patrons also waiting to enter the Luau. It was very hot standing in line for about a half hour before a server finally provided a Mai Tai beverage to the adults. Many patrons faces and clothes were wet from perspiration. About another half hour went by before we were finally allowed to enter the lawn area where the Luau is actually held. We were directed where to sit and immediately offered adult or non-alcoholic beverages. The adult choices were limited and not quality brands. A male host standing onstage began to welcome the audience and direct the festivities. It was clear from the beginning that everything was orchestrated as to time. After a brief period the food was put out on long tables "buffet" style. Most of the food was pretty good except for the small piece of steak we were given which was grainy and tough. Throughout the dinner the host continued to talk about everything and anything. The performance by the dancers was good including the fire dancer. The entire act by the dancers is only about 20 minutes as the host utilizes a lot of time (fluff/filler) to thank everyone in the world and especially the audience for weddings, anniversaries, military service etc.. Overall, the luau was pretty good but not as good as the " Old Lahaina Luau" in our opinion. The cost is about the same $98.00. The outdoor setting is better at the "Old Lahaina Luau" and the dancer performance better orchestrated. If you want to save money and go to the " Kaanapali Sunset Luau at Black Rock" simply stand on the open area pathways (perimeter) at the Sheraton like a lot of people did and watch the show for free. In essence, we paid $98.00 each for our dinner. Aloha.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank SeniorExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“More Fun, Better Food Than Old Lahaina Luau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We enjoyed both this luau and the Old Lahaina Luau. Both are loads of fun with top notch staff -- you should go to both if you are re-visiting Maui another year -- but I give a clear edge to the Sheraton for two reasons.

Bad news first: Both luaus' drinks are VERY weak. Seriously, the mai tais' strength barely gets past that of a beer. But that's a standard annoyance at big open-bar gatherings.

First edge to Sheraton is the food, particularly if you like steak. The buffet presentation is more open-air and appealing at the Sheraton. Old Lahaina makes a big show, understandably, of pointing out that the pork you'll eat there was cooked and shredded that very evening from the pig everyone sees ceremonially taken out of the underground ovens. (Sheraton has the pig-removal ceremony too, but dinner is immediately thereafter, so I assume the pork we eat was roasted a bit earlier.) But Old Lahaina just lets your steak sit in a buffet bin, while Sheraton has a separate buffet table just for freshly-cooked steaks. And they're great steaks considering the price and setting.

Second edge to Sheraton is the excitement of the dancing, including not only Hawaiian dances (to which Old Lahaina somewhat sanctimoniously says it limits itself) but also the dances of other Polynesian isles, including fire dancing! The kiddies fell asleep at Old Lahaina during the dances, but no one was sleeping at the Sheraton!

One final note: the Sheraton is self-serve, including for drinks, so you don't need to tip anyone other than the open-bar bartender if you wish. Old Lahaina has full table service (although you have to get your own food plates at the buffet, of course). It is WONDERFUL, friendly, attentive service, but as a result, tipping is rightly due. It follows that the Old Lahaina is about 25% more expensive than the Sheraton -- 5% base price difference, plus 20% for the tip difference.

Bottom line: Go to the Sheraton luau first. If you want to try another very good, more serene luau on your next trip, try the Old Lahaina next.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Emkay_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaanapali Sunset Luau at Black Rock also viewed

 

Been to Kaanapali Sunset Luau at Black Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing