We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good place for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kaanapali Ocean Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Salem, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good place for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 night. Nothing fancy but very near a great beach. We ended up with an ocean view. I would say it was worth what we paid. We spent most of the time taking in the Maui sites as we were spending 5 more nights at the Westin.

Room Tip: Ask for side that faces the condos and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    54
    35
    32
    27
See reviews for
35
80
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was our second stay at the Kaanapali Ocean Inn. We were just as happy as the first time we stayed there. It is a dated and tired old hotel, but the maid service is excellent and the front desk will do a lot to make sure you are happy there. The beds are hard but the rooms are clean and have plenty of space. But having said that - who goes to Hawaii to spend time in their room except to sleep and shower and change from beach wear into your shorts and t-shirts. The hotel is located right off the beach and takes 3 minutes from your room to sun and sand and ocean. What could be better? And the beach in front of the hotel is rarely crowded, unlike the other big hotels along the beach. The Royal Lahaina provides beach towel service for the pool and beach. The food at the hotel is very good and the prices are reasonable. The pool is great to swim in if the ocean is too rough on any given day and you can usually get a deck chair without any difficulty. The staff is friendly and will help you out anyway they can. I would definitely recommend staying at the Kaanapali Ocean Inn. Value for your money is the best in that part of Maui.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firsttrip_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The location of our room was just steps from the beach. We had somewhat of an ocean view from our balcony. Love the size of the room but the bed was as hard as if I was sleeping on the floor. The staff is very friendly and attentive especially Rosario and Dominic. I was disappointed though when I found the emergency water container in case of a hurricane empty!! Thank goodness there wasn't a storm when we were there. This place has potential if they were just take the time to clean it up. Attention to detail would go a long way.

Room Tip: Try to get the third floor if you want a chance at an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidewallcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lahaina hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is my 3rd visit to Maui but it's the first time I've stayed at the Kaanapali Ocean Inn. The first 2 visits I was with family and we stayed at the Royal Lahaina Resort. I found out after booking this hotel that we (my boyfriend and me) would have all the amenities of the Royal Lahaina Resort for about half the cost of staying in one of their rooms. The Ocean Inn is kind of their old version of the hotel. The thing that you have to think about when you're going on vacation that really determines your hotel needs is "How much time are you ACTUALLY going to spend in the hotel." Honestly, your answer should be "Not much." So if you want to spend $300/night to have the most modern contemporary room with a flat screen TV and free wifi then this hotel isn't for you (and you should probably review your definition of the word "vacation") The things we were looking for in a hotel were: great location, low price, convenience, pool access, beach access, no roaches, a bed, a shower, and a toilet; this hotel satisfied all of those basic requirements plus a little more. I will admit we've had some minor issues but because the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful they aren't worth mentioning. If you have a problem just talk NICELY to the people who are there to HELP you because you'll never be happy if you approach a problem with a bad attitude. Yes the rooms are a little outdated and could use some remodeling but you know what? They are pretty darn clean even if they look kinda dingy. I haven't seen a single roach since we've been here (compared to the 3 I saw in my Royal Lahaina Cottage) Also the showers are very small but big enough for one adult that is a healthy weight. So if you're the typical inactive American you should stay somewhere else unless you're planning on not bathing, which I don't recommend. Don't get me wrong, we were born and raised in the USA but seriously we're heading towards Wall-e/Idiocracy. About the luau; it does get old after a few days but we've found that it's kind of nice sitting on the balcony reading and having those sounds surround us while the sun sets. The only reason to let it be an issue is if you have small children, elderly, or yourself that need to be asleep before 9pm. If this is the case you should stay somewhere else or stop living by a schedule while you're on VACATION. I'm writing this review because I read all of the others and frankly I find the majority of them to be extremely shallow. We have been using our room to sleep, shower, and store our stuff and that's really all you need when you're planning on being out and about. If we visit Maui again I'd love to stay here. Give it a chance, save some money, and quit being snobs. Aloha!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MissMel0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This place is terrible! You have to pay for parking ($15) a day, to use the safe ($3.75) a day, there is no ice machine on site - you have to go to the 3rd floor at an adjoining hotel, it is so outdated and dirty - you would not believe it. There is mold in the bathroom - painted over & the paint is peeling, a wire with a cap on it hung down in the bathroom next to the wall, the bedspreads & skirts were like from the 50's. Pay a little bit more & get something nice - you'll be glad you did. Gary Holden needs glasses! He's the president of the facility.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katnumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

OK. We had a garden cottage room reserved next door at the Royal Lahaina and while checking in we were asked if we wanted an ocean front room and we said sure. So, they sent us to their property right next door. First of all, the review would have been two stars, but the amazing view boosted it. There was no elevator and we were on the 3rd floor... tough with 2 kids and lots of luggage. The room itself was rather shabby. Old TV. Old furnature. Small beds. Not very comfortable.

But, it was ocean front and an amazing view! That made the room better. We were able to sit there and watch whale and dolphins right outside our room. Otherwise I would have gone back to the front desk and asked for my garden cottage room.

It is an easy walk to Whaler's Village and the Sheraton at Black Rock. The beach was great and not crowded.

Room Tip: If you stay here, stay ocean front and the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris101264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel/ resort having read the very negative comments on trip adviser. Sure, it is an old structure, but the room was light and airy, the bed comfortable, and it was spotlessly clean- what more do you want? The reception/ bell staff were really helpful. Food at the Royal Ocean Terrace was good and reasonably priced (don't be tempted by the Castaway Cafe next door where the service is lousy/ nonexistent).

Room Tip: Book early to get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.0 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#29 of 31 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
4.5 mi away
Napili Shores
Napili Shores
#20 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 606 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#16 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#10 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 stars 746 reviews
14.5 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
3.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Ocean Inn

Property: Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Address: 2780-A Kekaa Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kaanapali Ocean Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Kaanapali Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Ocean Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Ocean Lahaina
Kaanapali Ocean Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing