We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is one of the cheapest hotels you will find in Ka'anapali, so you can't expect to get the high end class. We were upgraded to an ocean view room, which was very nice, but not surprisingly, was just near the party area, with a noisy employee party till late evening, the Saturday we arrived and needed the rest, and with early evening daily Lu'au parties. If you like the show, you get it for free from your balcony, minus the food...
The great thing about this hotel, is surely it's location, just "on" the beach. two steps out of your room, and you are walking on the beautiful sandy beach. On the downside, a few things to be aware of, and if you don't mind them, you can enjoy a nice vacation in Maui, for an affordable price.
1) Rooms are dated, old style green carpets, and bit shabby bath room area.
2) Mattress is old and not very comfortable.
3) No wireless Internet in rooms, and when in the main resort lobby, Internet beyond one hour is for $10/day.
4) No microwave in the room, which I always found kind of silly, since a cheap microwave costs one third of a single night rate.
5) When we checked in, I got a nice printed paper with the dates of our stay, to put on the dashboard of our car, showing the people in charge that we are eligible to park in the parking area. What they did not bother to tell us, is that we will be charged upon checkout $10/day for this parking.

Bottom line - for budget travelers, this is not a bad choice. If you are willing to pay average Maui rates, you can probably do better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spade121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 239 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2011

Yea its old, but you are right next to the waves. Staff will make any problem you have right so don't worry. We got the free upgrade to ocean front from ocean view just for asking when we checked in(Thanks whoever suggested that). We were on the top floor and there was a mechanical hum but the sound of the waves cancelled it out. When the hot water went out, they upgraded us to the cottages which were really great. Book this and pray something goes wrong so the great staff can make it right. The tower is worth the extra bucks. Superb location on a great beach.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ayoe6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

My girlfriend and I are in our 40's and we have both travelled a lot. We booked a package at a very low price and I have to admit, I was a little worried about what we would find. We had the absolute best stay ever! The staff at the Royal Lahaina is second to none. they even upgraded us to oceanfront after the first night at no charge. The nicest luau on the island is right there on the property. (we went twice) The entire staff couldn't do enough for us. Much Aloha. on our last day we checked out in the morning and our flight didn't leave until late in the evening. they stored our luggage for us and even provided us with a hospitality room free of charge so we could shower before heading to the airport. We will absolutly be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Guy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The location is fabulous! right on the beach, north of all the overdevelopment of Kaanapali. The rooms are very 70's, but we had a mini fridge and bought a blender and were all set up! yes, the Luau was right outside, but only from 6-8 pm so not too disruptive, and some areas of the building were more worn than others, but we slept and showered and then were out all day enjoying the island. It was clean, the staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. loved the towel service, the pools were nice. we did have a daily parking fee, but knew that up front. It was part of a Pleasant Holiday package with air and car; I would do it again! we were a minute off the beach, saw every sunrise and sunset for 6 days! if you are easy going, active and out and about, this is totally suitable. ALOHA!

Room Tip: Maybe if you have noise concerns get a room on the other side from the Luau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank citizenkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I was hesitant to go here after the negative reviews, but went anyway. It is an older hotel, but great location right on the beach (actually closer to the Ocean than most Kaanapali Beach hotels). There is no elevator, kitchen, etc and does need maintenance, but not in horrible condition. We could use the pool and towels for the next door hotel-Royal Lahaina. The price was very good and we only slept there, so I might use again. We could see the luau show next door from our balcony, which was a plus. If you are on a budget, this is a ok place to use.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The location is great! Right on the ocean, on the Royal Lahaina Resort property, but the Kaanapali Ocean Inn itself is pretty dumpy. There is no elevator, the rooms are dirty feeling due to the outdated linens & furnishings and the forest green carpet. The bathroom was useable but the shower/toilet combo area was small. The shower itself was just a stand-up and the fixtures all needed re-caulking and the ceiling of the shower was gross. On our 3rd night after being gone all day doing the road to Hana, we came back to find a trail of ants coming from the ceiling to our kitchenette area infesting our not cheap groceries & a dead beetle under the night stand... We immediately called the front desk and they moved us to a cottage still on the Royal Lahaina Resort property (a MUCH nicer place, but the beds seemed the same). Both beds we slept in were very uncomfortable, paper thin pillows and the mattresses were hard, felt like the cheapest ones you could buy. Another downfall was there were no microwaves in any of the rooms. Food in Hawaii is expensive so grocery shopping and trying to do at least 2 meals in your room is really the way to go on a budget so not having a microwave really limited our food options. Another downfall is you have to pay daily for parking, something to keep in mind when looking at other hotels that offer it for free. If you are on a tight budget the Kaanapali Ocean Inn would be suitable because the location is great, if you can spend a little more at least get a cottage or a room at the Royal Lahaina. The pools were great, the restaurant was good & the ocean just feet away made up for the crappy room & ant problem, but I would not recommend this place to a friend unless staying here was their only way of going to Maui.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abby E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We did a 4-nighter on a special. We had a beautiful room next to the ocean. However, it was also exactly where they hold parties. So, on the very night we really wanted quiet, there was a band on the grass right outside our room for 2+ hours. We talked to the manager about it, but of course, were told when it would be over, and that we'd get breakfast and a prorated credit on our bill. What we wound up with was a "goodwill" deduction memorandum for our next trip. I didn't bother to go through the motions with my credit card company and push for the tangible credit. The staff at the front desk aren't very friendly; though everyone else working there seemed most friendly. If you want a room at the ocean, not terribly costly, and don't mind that there could be a lot of noise at night, then go for it, but there are nicer places at Kaanapali on Maui. As I said, the room was nice, however, the place does need remodeling. Maui is fabulous...Aloha.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bronz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
247 reviews
14.5 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,086 reviews
4.3 mi away
Aina Nalu
Aina Nalu
#23 of 32 in Lahaina
1,198 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Ocean Inn

Address: 2780A Kekaa Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1927
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $150 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaanapali Ocean Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaanapali Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Ocean Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Ocean Lahaina
Kaanapali Ocean Inn Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing