We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay, nice area with only a few small shortcomings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kahana Villa Resort
Ranked #21 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good stay, nice area with only a few small shortcomings”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked this place through a timeshare exchange so we didn't have much to go on. The timeshare was advertised as beachfront & I'll say that is a stretch but close enough for what we were looking to do. I'll try to be detailed in order to help others make a very informed decision.

First, the area is pretty nice despite anything else that is written you will probably be happy here. The property is located in Kahana between the highway & beach directly across the street from Kahana Beach Resort & we learned at check-in that the two resorts share amenities so they may well be managed as one (I am not sure). It is easy to tell the property isn't the newest on the island but clearly the management cares about the upkeep & does what is necessary to maintain it.

We rented a 2 bed / 2 bath condo & was pleasantly surprised at the size & space that we actually had. This wasn't a tiny 2/2; about 900-1000 square feet I would guess. Clean tile floors at the entry, bathrooms & the full kitchen with well maintained carpets throughout the rest of the place. Fully stocked with a half dozen bathroom towels & another half dozen beach towels as well as enough dishes for a family of 8.

There were only two things that I would call inconveniences but neither were terrible. 1) In the kitchen & bathroom we found tiny sugar ants. They don't hurt anything & do not bite but we had to wash the counter tops each time we prepared food to make sure they were gone. 2) The island is pretty nice but the temperature does get a little warm so the AC was necessary. The entire place was cooled by a single window unit & in order to cool the upstairs to a comfortable temperature we had to keep the downstairs nearly ice cold. Hint: Switch the upstairs ceiling fans to pull air up instead of blowing air down to pull the cold air up the stairs!

More good stuff now. Across the street at the Kahana Beach Resort you do have access to the water & a small sandy beach. It doesn't look like much but it holds a hidden gem. Grab your snorkels & go to the submerged rocks about 75 yards down the beach. Dozens of sea turtles hang out here eating the algae off the rocks & you can literally get within inches of them without much effort. We would never have tried this but one of the staff members pointed us this direction & it was one of the highlights of our snorkeling adventures. Keep in mind though that these turtles are protected by Federal Law & you can get a $10,000 fine for touching them so look but keep your hands to yourself!

The hotel offers a site-seeing briefing at 8:30 a couple mornings each week. I would advise to go listen to the spill as it is free & is full of good information but it is a sales pitch funded by Expedia so they will try to sell you their merch. We were already planning to do many of the things they covered so getting some tips from them on where to visit, where to park, etc... was cool. It only took about 45 minutes & they bought me coffee so it was worth it. In the end we walked about one block north to Boss Frogs & purchased our excursions for close to a 40% discount. Hint: Snorkel gear is only $1.50 per day from Boss Frogs so unless you are bringing some really nice snorkel gear with you I would not carry the extra weight with you on your flight here.

Shopping: Not much within walking distance but tons within a few miles.

Snorkeling: I would recommend a visit to Honolua Bay. It is a few miles north of the hotel but worth the drive. Park on the side of the highway & walk through the beautiful canopy of trees to the waters edge. There are two steps right at the beginning that are pretty steep but after that it is a smooth walk.

I'll post more about the excursions for your reading pleasure.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom that we booked had a king bed in the master suite, 2 twin beds in the 2nd bedroom upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share this detailed review of your stay at Kahana Villa. We are happy you found our property beautifully-maintained and spacious. We are glad our accommodations were clean and well-equipped. Your experiences and excursions in the surrounding area will certainly be helpful to those planning a stay. We appreciate your feedback, which will help ensure a pleasant stay for all guests. We hope you will choose to return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    63
    29
    6
    12
See reviews for
51
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Used our timeshare exchange for this resort. Reading the reviews tripadvisor, I knew that this wasn't a new luxury resort, and that was confirmed when we got there. This is an older resort, so doesn't have the nice lobby, lots of activities and the rooms have definately been used. They are now part of a resort group, so the resort activities were shared with the resort across the street, but you couldn't use the other resort facilities and beach chairs etc...

There is beach access across the street and either down a cut-through or 100 yards down the road to a small park. It had some great snorkeling. I saw 4 sea turtles feeding in the shallows in one day.
No restaurant on site, but the brew pub and steak house down the street, easily walkable, were both really good. Plus a convenience store and McDonalds in the shopping center down the street if you need that sort of thing.

Our 2 bedroom unit only had an AC unit in the living room, with the bedrooms upstairs. This was off when we arrived, and was really stifling the first night. We were there in late May and also had a heat spell, so was barely comfortable to sleep at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit near the lobby, it's farther from the highway and closer to the beach.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Debi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for exchanging into Kahana Villa. We are happy you enjoyed the beach and even saw turtles feeding in the shallows. We are committed to ensuring our guests are experiencing quality and comfort while staying with us, and are sorry you weren't completely satisfied. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Location is not the best as its located quit a distance from lahaina, buses are also not the best. The cleaning staff only enters your room once a week to give u fresh towels and dish cloths, if you've ever washed dished you know one is not near enough for a week. The villa itself is above average, however there was a disgusting problem COCKROACHES, on average we killed about 2, 3 per day. I always got my bf to kill em and didn't even think of what they were till the day before we left. When I figured out what they were I was mortified hints this review. Don't plan on ever returning and highly suggest booking another location.

Room Tip: Book a different place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara6065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for staying at Kahana Villa. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. As a timeshare resort, we offer a midweek cleaning on weeklong stays in lieu of traditional housekeeping services. Daily visits are available on request. We offer our sincerest apologies for the unwanted visitors. We can assure you their appearance is neither typical nor related to any cleanliness issues. Weather is the prime culprit. Our climate is one of the wettest on the planet and requires us to employ a regimented pest control program. The service has done an excellent job keeping bugs at bay, and we are both surprised and disappointed you were subjected to the intrusion. Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lahaina hotels

New York, NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Kahana Villas Resort July 2013. The location is
Good since it is near the beach but away from downtown Lahaina.
The property has a good pool
Friendly staff and it is equipped with a full kitchen, balcony, living room with a sofa bed, one bathroom and a dining area.
You get maintenance when you need it.
I have stayed here on at least 3 other occasions.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dailynews2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for staying at Kahana Villa. We are happy our location was convenient and our staff friendly. We appreciate your generous review hope to have you back soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Clean but dated and small. We stayed in E bldg for 2 wks. It was noisy, near the freeway.Kitchen cabinets were dark and old. The pots and pans do not have covers except 1 out of 3. The bed is very soft and sagging in the middle. My husband had to sleep on the floor because the bed was too uncomfortable. The room was ok size. The kitchen was very small. It was convenient to have washer and drier with detergent provided. The housekeeper kept the room clean. The new towels did not smell fresh. The garden outside was clean and well maintained. If you want to stay here, then ask for upper units facing the ocean. The front desk has limited hours.

Room Tip: Choose upper rooms and not in bldg E.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodlife9886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Kahana Villa. We are committed to providing our guests with world-class accommodations. We are sorry to didn't meet your expectations to the fullest. Your feedback will help us address the concerns you raise and make a future visit that much more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in unit F410 which is newly remodeled! The bathroom and kitchen have been completely upgraded with granite. The furniture in the bedroom and living room are brand new as well and it has a new flat screen TV. This corner unit has an amazing view off the lanai! We went in February of 2013 and we were able to see several whales while on the lanai. The amazing sunrise and sunset views makes this unit memorable. Although this unit is across the street from the beach, there is easy access to the beach. There is an area near the rocks where you can spot several giant sea turtles as they come up on shore. The resort also has a pool / spa / bbq area which is nice and we used on several occasions. The downside is that there is limited front desk hours but we never had an issue to where we needed them. We loved this unit so much that when we go back in the end of July 2013, we will be staying in the same unit. It is a 1bdrm but it sleeps 4 as there is a brand new sofa bed in the living room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Reshmi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Kahana Villa. We are happy you enjoyed our renovated accommodations with an amazing view! We are thrilled that watching the sunrise and sunset from the lanai made this an unforgettable trip. It sounds like you had a great time on the beach and using our pool, spa and barbeque areas. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband, myself, and my parents spent the week here. Overall the place was very clean. The living room furniture was tired, old, stained, tattered and worn however. In our unit both bedrooms were located on the 2nd floor. As well as both bathrooms. One side of the stair case was completely open, no handrail just open air all the way up to the 2nd floor. No handrail mounted along the wall on the other side either. My 75 yr old mother lost her balance while climbing up and with no rail anywhere to grab she fell off the open side. She was ok but could’ve been ugly. My parents stayed in the master bedroom and were very comfortable and happy sleeping in the king bed & happy with the master bath tub. My husband and I stayed in the 2nd bedroom with two twin beds and we were as comfortable as a grown up can possibly be in a twin bed lol. We didn’t hear any traffic noise from the busy street – we were tucked away in the back of the property & it was peaceful. Bldg. E I believe. The location of the property is fantastic. Beautiful beach right across the street – great sea turtle viewing! Wow. The swimming was just ok – sharp jagged rocks & murky water in many parts. Now the paddle boarding was awesome. They are available for rent and we enjoyed that. There is a gas station a few blocks north on the same road within walking distance that sells healthy snacks, gifts & souvenirs -- classic flower print Hawaiian shirts, coffee and nuts for very very reasonable prices. I was happily surprised to find fabulous deals for quality gifts there to take home to friends.
Now the bad news: the staff at the front desk and the staff at the restaurant/bar were honestly – not very good. Specifically they were snide, rude, curt, sarcastic and spiteful. No joke. The evidence is here in the reviews – seems management won’t respond to any complaints regarding their unprofessionalism. Just as others have complained it started with the woman at the front desk. I too was taken aback at the abrupt tone she took with my husband right off the bat. She never smiled nor uttered a hospitable word to any of us the entire duration of our visit. No "Welcome to Kahana Villa". No "Enjoy your stay at Kahana Villa". No "Thank you for staying at Kahana Villa". She just looked the other way anytime she saw any of us walk by. It became quite hilarious eventually. A few nights into our stay my husband and I intended to celebrate our wedding anniversary with a drink at Kahana Sands. As we took our seats at the bar I smiled at the bartender. He scowled while trying his very best to ignore us. I noticed he’d also brought his three kids to the bar. Dad was too distracted attending to his children to serve us. And he did not give a rats behind if we got any service at all I assure you. None of the staff there did. It was utterly beguiling. There’s also a lady who waits tables in the same place– she was so curt with us --all I asked for was a cup of coffee – my husband and I got up and walked out before she could take our lunch order. Enough was enough. We wined & dined anywhere but there for the remainder of our trip. We won’t be returning to Kahana Villa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MaryElisabeth38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Kahana Villa. We are glad that your stay was peaceful, and appreciate the detailed feedback that you have provided. This feedback is crucial in making improvements to our resort to ensure a pleasant experience for all guests. We are happy that our location was fantastic for ocean views and turtle watching! We are committed to providing our guests with exceptional service. We hope you will give us another opportunity to make a better impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#16 of 41 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sands of Kahana
Sands of Kahana
#11 of 41 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hono Koa
Hono Koa
#36 of 41 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Gardens at West Maui Hotel
0.9 mi away
Kulakane
Kulakane
#17 of 41 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mahina Surf
Mahina Surf
#7 of 41 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Villa Resort

Property: Kahana Villa Resort
Address: 4242 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8969
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kahana Villa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kahana Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Villa Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Villa Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing