We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacks Aloha Spirit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kahana Villa Resort
Ranked #25 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in a 2 BR, 2Ba unit in January, 2013. The unit was spacious, clean, and well stocked with kitchen utensils, plates, towels, etc. That's it for the good news. The front desk is staffed on a minimal basis only. You are frequently referred to one of the two properties across the street for assistance and they are not overly helpful. Sometimes the person at the front desk was moderately helpful, other times they were surly. The person who gave us our keys at check in did not bother to input the correct date for our departure, so our room keys expired a day early. We discovered this when we returned to our room on the last evening of our vacation and found ourselves locked out. Eventually, we got the facility across the street to make us new room keys so we did not have to spend the night sitting in our car in the parking lot to escape the rain, but it was a fiasco for which no apology was offered. I guess we were supposed to feel grateful that we were allowed back into the unit we had paid for in advance for our last night. Our room in Building E was immediately adjacent to the highway and the room was so loud that one of my daughters hardly slept for the entire stay, even wearing ear plugs. In an apparent attempt to save money, the hot water heater had been turned down so low that only one person could shower in the morning and expect hot water. Maintenance did come and reset the temperature on the hot water heater so 2 or 3 people could shower on the same morning, but the customer should not have to make a special request for hot water. When it rains, as is does very often in Kahana (much more than in Kaanapali just 5 minutes away), water came in through the closed wood slats on the windows and soaked the carpet in one bedroom. I reported this to the front desk, thinking I was doing them a favor as there was obvious water damage on the wall by the leaky window. They did not seem particularly interested, let alone appreciative that I had brought this to their attention. The 2BR units are constructed with the Master BR as a loft which extends over the living room. This effectively makes the Master BR an extension of the living room so that conversation or noise from the television in the living room unavoidably affects someone trying to sleep in the Master BR. Finally, although you can rent their hard wired ethernet internet connection for $15/day or $40/week, the complex has no wireless internet, a pretty basic feature that most travelers in 2013 would assume a reasonable resort would offer. Overall, although the room rate we paid was very favorable, there are many choices of places to stay on Maui and I would not recommend staying at Kahana Villa.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SDTraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for our lack of Aloha spirit and the room key difficulty. While the latter was a regrettable mistake, we offer no defense for the former. It falls well below our standard. Our proximity to the highway makes for easy ingress into and egress out of the resort, but can result in bothersome traffic noise in rooms close to the highway. We are sorry your daughter’s sleep was compromised.

The hot water difficulty was an unfortunate oversight and not intentional. As you mentioned, we were able to correct the issue promptly once we were notified. This applies to any work orders, which are completed the same day. Thank you for reporting the leaky window. We appreciate your effort to bring it to our attention. Wiring for Wi-Fi is scheduled to start in April at our Soleil Management Hawaii properties, beginning with Sands of Kahana. We do not have a start date for Kahana Villa. Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate your feedback and will work that much harder to provide a satisfying vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 149 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a very nice area of Maui to stay in lots of things close by to see and do.Unfortunately our week started off badly when we checked in and were placed in the unit furthest away from the beach and closest to the highway(non stop traffic noise).Despite the time of year complex seemed about half empty, and these units should have been the last ones assigned if the management cared at all for their guests. Neighbours in next property had daily parties and owned dog which barked all night long. Not to mention not a single day or night went by(no I am not exaggerating) without a car alarm going off in the parking lot on the opposite side of the unit. On the plus side unit was large and well laid out, nicely furnished. with kitchen dining room and living room on entry level and two bedroms, two bathrooms upstairs.Had three issues other than location within complex, 1) the sliding patio door frame had come apart and pulled away from window glass causing whistling like a boiling tea kettle whenever the window was closed and the wind blew.... which was all the time! 2) guide wheel on shower glass door was broken causing an ungodly noise whenever it was opened or closed. Both these items were reported to office more than once but no one from maintenance ever showed up to do anything I ended up doing a temporary fix on patio door myself but never got rid of whistling. .3) poorly fitting vertical cloth blinds(several different lengths in use on same span and long blinds would catch on window frame-thereby leaving gaps open) were used to cover the large window over the sliding doors. This window opens onto the master bedroom upstairs and the poor fit results in a feeling of a total lack of privacy from the residential neighbours across the fence. Also these blinds are totally ineffective at blocking out light, venetian blinds would be far superior for this use. Mens washroom by check in office was out of order when we checked in and a week later was still out of order and didnt appear as if anyone had even looked at it in entire week we were there. Swimming pool was unheated and was around 75 degrees for length of stay. Any activities which were listed took place on other properties. I notice in some of the other reviews people have indicated that manager and staff went out of their way for them, I would have to say our experience was the opposite, staff appeared to be totally disinterested in providing service, even to the point where after mid week maid service we returned to our room to find dirty pillowcase lying on the floor in the middle of the hallway. When we went to print our boarding passes for our return flight their internet room was down but were told we could go across street (surprise surprise) to use their internet room. We were exremely surprised to find that they charged for printing boarding passes as we have never encountered this anywhere else. We got the message ..we will not be staying here ever again. The Beach in front of Kahana Beach Resort is very clean and lots of sea life here we saw multiple turtles, spinning dolphins in water seal on beach. Nearby Dolly`s bar and grill , Maui Brewing Co. Brew Pub and Black Angus restaurant all within walking distance Nice surroundings, nice area, but as far as Kahana Villa goes we were extremely unimpressed by our experience in this property.

Room Tip: If you want to stay in this area I would suggest a building on the water side of the road, stay away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank whiterockbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

We regret your disappointing experience. As a timeshare resort, we are obligated to assign our owners the most desirable rooms, followed by exchange guests, then retail visitors. We are booked to capacity most of the time and are able to grant room changes based on availability. We are sorry you were subjected to noise from our neighbors and would have moved you to a quieter location had we been able. We are sorry we did not respond with our usual alacrity to your maintenance issues. Work orders brought to our attention are typically completed the same day. The men’s washroom was closed to repair the sink someone tore off the wall. The work took longer than expected to complete, and we apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Let me start by saying, I never write reviews for ANYTHING. But I feel like I should for this.

Once we booked at this resort, we reviewed the comments on this website and were terrified. But let me tell you, everything was perfect. It was clean, quiet, and spacious. We had a 2 bedroom condo, with 2 bathrooms, a living room, a breakfast nook, a personal kitchen, and laundry equipment. This was BEYOND convenient. Sure the furniture is outdated, but if you go to Maui, you won't be spending much time indoors to begin with, so why spend so much money on a fancy place. This was cheap and perfect for us. We had ALOT of room. There were only 3 of us in a 2 floor complex. The staff at the front desk were very friendly, very helpful when we had questions about various activities. The cleaning staff were also really friendly, and respected our privacy! The swimming pool and hot tub were also clean and just perfect. This resort was very close to alot of the beaches and nearby activities we booked on Kanapaali beach. It was a maximum 20 minute drive to anything really.

We really didn't have a problem with any of the issues others experienced. All I know is the next time my friends and I go to Maui, this is the place we want to come back to! Thank you for making our experience just perfect :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Building F :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maui475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for reconsidering your review policy. We’re happy your "perfect" experience at our resort inspired you to share your comments. Many of our timeshare owners and guests enjoy our spacious condo units. They provide everything you need to have a wonderful time on Maui, including plenty of privacy and room to stretch out. We are happy they met your expectations. It’s good to know our resort staff displayed plenty of Aloha spirit during your stay. Providing helpful, friendly customer service is our top priority. Our close proximity to wonderful beaches and nearby attractions is another reason to stay with us. Thank you once again for your generous review. We hope you will consider us on your next visit to Maui.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was the worst experience in a lifetime. I should have listened to other reviews. We made our arragements a year in advance. We invited another couple to have the RCI experience. Since we are Hilton RCI owners we had no idea what garbage was. We were given the worst room in the place. The "L" wing is an entire disaster. Our room was the end unit 50 feet from the highway. Our "guests" had to sleep in twin beds. The gentleman fell from the bed to the floor since he has a queen bed at home. Only his pride was hurt, luckily he missed the night stand. The only way to cool the upstairs was to open the windows. Well, all they heard was wind noise and cars traveling day and night on the highway. Yes, the place was clean but hot, hot, hot, upstairs in November. My husband finally used the bedspread off of our bed to funnel some of the small wall airconditioner air upstairs. Otherwise, no relief from the heat. We were very disgusted with the staff. They were rude and couldn't care less about the room they gave us. Beware if you use RCI points, they don't like you at all. And if you ask to avoid "L" wing like we did, they just laughed and gave us the worst room in the place...... room 401. The staff walked around with scowls and we never saw staff at the pool area. The man cleaning the rooms wouldn't even look at you even if you tired to smile. Uck..........beware, you are in for a nasty treat if you get "L" wing.

Room Tip: If you ask to avoid "L" wing, they give it to you!!!!!!!!!!!!! With scarcasm to boot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Sherry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I never write reviews, but after reading all the negative reviews, I feel compelled to say something. We were VERY happy with our 2BR, 2 Bath condo (the photo shown above is not the right photo). We rented from Kaanapali Beach Properties (great service!!) and had side by side condos (E609 and E610) for our family of four and our good friends' family of four. The kids loved running back in forth between the two condos and playing. We had everything we needed and more for our two week vacation. Condos were nicely maintained, clean and well equipped with full kitchen, laundry, beach toys, beach towels, ice cooler, beach chairs, movies, books. The A/C was great, we were never too hot as some reviewers noted. We loved the full ocean views from the two-story, floor to ceiling windows and sitting out on the lanai. Almost every night we walked with the kids to the nearby McDonalds for ice cream or across to Kahana beach and looked at the sea turtles. We loved trying out the different beaches in West Maui but I think Napili beach was our favorite and it was only a few minutes drive away. The pool was pretty small and located in the parking lot, but the kids loved it (and the "hot pool") and we used the BBQ grills often. This resort offers a great value for those staying longer in Maui. I did a LOT of research for this trip and at $135/night, this was by far the best price I could find for nice 2BR, 2BA ocean view condos in West Maui. We could have squeezed into a 1BR condo, but the extra bedroom was by all means worth it with two young kids. We were very pleased with our accomodations and the service from Kaanapali Beach Properties.

Room Tip: Rent units E609 or E610 from Kaanapali Beach Properties! Both are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I read the online reviews and was a little apprehensive. We had a booking issue with our regular timeshare and needed a place for one night. The manager and staff went out of their way to accomodate us. The unit was clean and comfortable. Thanks to both Jim and Missy. You were great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Aloha, and thank you for staying with us. We are happy we could step in and provide you with clean, comfortable accommodations when you needed them. We appreciate your generous review and kind remarks, and hope you will consider us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I did read the reviews before we travelled. But, each unit is individually owned, so you never know for sure what you are getting. We had a 1 bedroom unit in building E, the middle building on floor 3. Partial ocean view from the lanai. 1 air conditioning unit in living room only, set to 72 but my thermometer always said 77. The bedroom had a wonderful ceiling fan but was always 79 and 80, even with the windows open for the tradewinds. I wasn't expecting to always be hot! The pool was the only way to cool down. It is across the st. from the beach, you can use the public beach access, but there aren't facilities across the st. for guests use. We had ants when we arrived in the kitchen, a man came and sprayed, they were better after, but still had a few. I used bleach wipes, that helped only a little. The dryer hadn't been vacuumed in forever, it had lots of lint, so I cleaned it out myself because I was afraid of fire! The unit is older. The furniture was comfortable, except the bed, it was really uncomfortable, no support. We used RCI to exchange to go to Maui, won't stay here again however.

Room Tip: Some of the 2 bedrooms suites had all the bedrooms upstairs and the ac was downstairs, heard complai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.1 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#13 of 43 in Lahaina
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sands of Kahana
Sands of Kahana
#12 of 43 in Lahaina
712 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hono Koa
Hono Koa
#29 of 43 in Lahaina
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Gardens at West Maui Hotel
19.8 mi away
Maui Beach Vacation Club
0.9 mi away
Kulakane
Kulakane
#16 of 43 in Lahaina
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Villa Resort

Address: 4242 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8969
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: $201 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kahana Villa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kahana Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Villa Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Villa Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing