We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was just ok this time”
Review of Roy's - Kaanapali

Roy's - Kaanapali
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's - Kaanapali is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $49
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Roy's Kaanapali! Since opening the original "Roy's" in Hawaii Kai in 1988, I have set out to explore "new directions," blending classic European cooking techniques with unique influences of Asia and the Pacific, guided only be the freshest local ingredients and my own sense of freedom. Every night our menu features a selection of "Roy's Classics," which are menu items that have been favorites since the beginning. These are noted with the "Y" symbol. In addition to these Classic dishes, Executive Chef Ryan Ferguson along with Sous Chefs John Balisco, Marc Urquidi, & Jessie Anacleto offer a unique selection of seasonal items & nightly specials. Cooking has been my life... Thank you for making it part of yours. Roy Yamaguchi, Chef/Founder
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
465 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“it was just ok this time”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We come to Maui 3-4 times a year and frequently eat here. We have always enjoyed eating at Roy's ,but this time it was lacking. We asked if the tomatoes in the tomato salad were ripe before we ordered it and were told they were very ripe. They were not.

we also ordered the short ribs which while they were good,they tasted more like pot roast than short ribs.We also had the chicken which was too done .

That said ,we have had many more good experiences here than bad ,so we will try it again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelLikeaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    654
    346
    167
    65
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tasty Hawaiian Style”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We used to go to their old Kahana location and liked it. This is the first time we went to their Kaanapali Kai location. Their Hawaiian style food quality is great for the value and very tasty. We tried the entrees that reflect Hawaiian local cuisine: ribs and pork belly. They were nicely done (almost melting in your mouth), which showed the effort that went into preparing them.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank osky_sy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiseID
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another wonderful experience!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We celebrate our anniversary each year at Roy's. This year we went back for a second time because my husband had to have the beef filet again! Food was great, service was wonderful. Note that the menu changes daily, the first time my husband had the filet it was served on a bed of mashed potatoes and was topped with blue cheese crumbles. At our next visit, he didn't even look at the menu, just ordered the filet again. This time it came with mushroom sauce and was served over mixed vegetable saute. When my husband mentioned to the waiter how much he had enjoyed the blue cheese, he immediately whisked away his plate, and returned it a minute later with the blue cheese! Great service. The appetizer sampler boat is enough for a meal. Our favorite special occasion restaurant on Maui.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerBoiseID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs Village, AR
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Mai Tai on Maui for the second time in a row”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The past two times I've been to Maui, my friends and I have held our "Best Mai Tai on Maui" contest. Both times Roy's won. Kimo's gave them a very close race this visit, possibly tying it. Roy's is a great place to eat. The food is always great and different from other places. It's a little pricey, but worth every penny!!! My friend and I sat at the bar while waiting for our husbands to finish playing golf. The bartender was great. He gave us tastes of different wines to help us decide which we wanted to drink. Brought us edamame to snack on, too. We made dinner reservations and our husbands were running late finishing golf. They were so nice to hold our table overlooking the golf course till they came in. My husband and I ordered the Canoe for Two as an appetizer. You gotta get this. In fact, there's enough there to each order one for a meal. We then had the crab cakes for dinner. So good. And you MUST order the chocolate souffle. It's absolutely to die for. If you are celebrating a birthday/anniversary, they'll even bring you one for free. Just let them know.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Auntjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Always been a fav.”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We have been going to Roy's since it's inception beside MacDonald's in Kahana. Food great, service very good. Must try

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jphupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's - Kaanapali also viewed

 

Been to Roy's - Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing