We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hey Roy ! Where's the Crab?”
Review of Roy's - Kaanapali

Roy's - Kaanapali
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's - Kaanapali is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 265 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Roy's Kaanapali! Since opening the original "Roy's" in Hawaii Kai in 1988, I have set out to explore "new directions," blending classic European cooking techniques with unique influences of Asia and the Pacific, guided only be the freshest local ingredients and my own sense of freedom. Every night our menu features a selection of "Roy's Classics," which are menu items that have been favorites since the beginning. These are noted with the "Y" symbol. In addition to these Classic dishes, Executive Chef Ryan Ferguson along with Sous Chefs John Balisco, Marc Urquidi, & Jessie Anacleto offer a unique selection of seasonal items & nightly specials. Cooking has been my life... Thank you for making it part of yours. Roy Yamaguchi, Chef/Founder
Livermore, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hey Roy ! Where's the Crab?”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have eaten in many Roy's, and this is the 3'rd time in Maui, probably the last too. They need to go back to their roots when the food was good and offered a fair value. Seriously, 14 dollars for 2 crab cakes that MAYBE weighed an ounce total, not each. When they presented the plate, My wife, who orders crab cakes whenever they are offered, looked up at me with a, " is this a joke " look. It seems they have gone the route of many food establishments and are now basing their prices on reputation and the sky's the limit. Well, as far as Roy's goes, I have reached my limit. Bye bye Roy's, I'll stick with the Sea House ( Napili ), Crab cakes are 4x larger, 1/2 the price and better tasting. I won't mention the main courses other to say that they too missed the mark and are over priced as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank derek d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    355
    171
    68
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not what it once was”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our first visit to Roy's at their new Kaanapali location. The setting is nice and it's certainly more convenient to get to tha the former Kahana location if you're staying in Kaanapali or Lahaina. The service was very good as it usually is. The food however is disappointing. I really think Roy's has lost their way. When founded by Roy Yamaguchi it was a special place with innovative dishes presented in amazing ways. Since Roy sold out it's been a continuous slide downhill to mundane. I don't expect to return as there are plenty of better spots in Maui at this price.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mauij7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good as usual”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Roys is a great dining experience regardless of which one you go to. Consistent time in and time out. Upscale dinning with reasonable prices. Get the pineapple upside down cake for dessert!!! Best i have every had.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2islandlover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellarton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We gave Roy's a try and were quite disappointed. The Edamame was excellent - loved how they served it as a bar snack. Both our meals were served in sauces that unfortunately the food had to swim in. Mine was selection of fish which could have been quite nice if not for the overabundant soupy sauce which lost any flavour the sauce should have had. My husband ordered steak and unfortunately the same thing, could have been much better if not for the sauce. We felt that the dining area was just one big open space, perhaps for unobstructed views of water and resorts beyond, which really isn't spectacular. Sad to say that of all the dining choices in the area we wouldn't choose to dine here again - sorry !

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2013alwaysonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had eaten at Roy's in Ko'Olina, Oahu, last year, and we really enjoyed that experience. So we tried Roy's in Ka'anapali, Maui, this year. What a terrible disappointment! The service was below average. The food was below average. The only redeeming factors were the view of the Ka'anapali golf course and the Chocolate Souffle...... yeah, this place does not even compare with Roy's in Ko'Olina..... don't waste your time and money eating here........ :(

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shrekified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's - Kaanapali also viewed

 

Been to Roy's - Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing