We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming with the Shark(y)”
Review of Maui Surfer Girls

Maui Surfer Girls
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Maui Surfer Girls offers the best surf lessons and surf camps on Maui. Our surf school caters to small groups, families and newlyweds, with small class sizes and professional instructors (most of whom are female!) We started in 2001 with our summer surf camps for teenage girls, with a mission to build self-confidence through the sport of surfing. We quickly branched out to offer year-round surf lesson to men and women, and kids starting at age 5! Our teen camps have grown to be extremely popular, and in 2017 we are excited to be offering our women's camps year-round. Please check out website for upcoming camp dates. We look forward to sharing the spirit of aloha with you on Maui’s warm waves.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Swimming with the Shark(y)”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

A big "thank you" to our instructor Sharky who taught a rag-tag group of four novices to stand up, ride some waves, and enjoy Maui's beauty!

Before getting in the water, we had a prep session on surfing etiquette and technique with a focus on keeping safe and having fun while also making sure we set our goals (whether it was simply to catch a wave, stand on the board, etc.) Then it was into the water where we talked more about surfing and Maui as we caught wave after wave- all of us with big grins on our faces. Sharky is super patient, ever encouraging, a great teacher, and always focused on making sure you relax and enjoy yourself. I have zero regrets about going with Surfer Girls, and am so glad we found a place that shows such great appreciation and care for their students!

Thank you!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HeyJoesOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauisurfergirls, Owner at Maui Surfer Girls, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for your feedback! Sharky is definitely one of our best and was moved by your positive words. He asked me to write and say a big "mahalos" to the "rag tag" group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    874
    18
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A Must-Do!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We just got back from a wonderful trip to Maui and our lesson at Maui Surfer Girls was definitely a highlight. We worked with Sharkey who was awesome! At first we were worried because we couldn't get an 8am time slot, but the 10:30 was just fine! He gave great instructions and helped us immensely out on the water. After we'd wipeout, Sharkey would find us and make sure we were okay. He also gave tons of encouragement which was helpful because by the end we were really tired, but so happy since every one of us was able to stand up multiple times.

Remember your sunscreen, especially on the back of your legs and neck! Two of our group members forgot to apply it and we decided against heading back to the car to grab it. Needless to say, they were pink afterward. The only other thing you really need are your towels and I'd recommend a hair tie if you have long hair and it's your first time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveler998877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merion Station, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Family Surf Lesson!!!!!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I just wanted to take a moment to thank Sharky and Meryl who gave our family a great lesson! We all had a great time and everyone caught several waves. The instructors took the time to really help each of us individually. Our family is now hooked. Our 15 and 13 years old boys both learned to catch waves on their own. My ten year old daughter rode in a head stand and she and I rode a wave tandem. My wife also had more great rides than she could count. All in all, a great day! Thanks again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Can't Go Wrong Booking Maui Surfer Girls”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our entire experience with MSG was top notch! From the smooth registration to the contact with Dustin before our lesson, the whole process was smooth and easy. But the real reason to book MSG is for the personalized attention - and that is what we experienced when Sharky taught our 13 yr old son and 10 yr old daughter to surf. He could not have been more accommodating, spending individualized time with each of them and catering to their skill level. But, even better, Sharky shared a love for the ocean and surfing that I'm sure will last beyond the lessons. Way to go Maui Surfer Girls! We will highly recommend you to anyone interested in learning how to surf and learn about the real Hawaii spirit!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nckovacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I spoke with Dustin several times about lessons. She suggested a semi-private lesson because I have 3 daughters. They had a great time on July 5th. My wife decided to also join the lesson. My 10 year old got up the first time and everyone in our group got up on the surfboard. Way to go Sharky.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dodson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Surfer Girls also viewed

 

Been to Maui Surfer Girls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing