We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy, and turtles nearby” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ma'la - An Ocean Tavern

Ma'la - An Ocean Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Ma'la - An Ocean Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Kapunakea
Description: we sit on the waters edge at Mala Wharf serving Mediterranean and Asian Cuisine
Agoura, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Yummy, and turtles nearby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stopped for lunch, to avoid the crowds. The food is wonderful. There are also a dozen sea turtles that frequent the beach just outside the restaurant. Hush....don't tell anyone our secret restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    339
    156
    62
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ma La's A Must Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Ma La's was one of many wonderful experiences while in Lahaina. We knew we wanted to stop in and casually ran in to it about lunch time. We must of had the luckiest lunch day because we got the most amazing table and beat the lunch crowd. We were actually on our way to another restaurant but wanted to drop in for a quick appetizer and mi ti drink. They truly had the most amazing drinks and food. We loved it so much we wanted to come back the next night for dinner and did where it only got better! Just note, try and make a reservation in advance because this place is humming and you may just have to wait awhile if you just drop in, There is seating/dining at the bar and that works nicely too. The plus to that is you get to have there amazing bar staff right there. They are awesome. The service is wonderful and I can't wait to come back next year again for lunch and dinner!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Super fish and what a location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

You will think it is dump from the outside but love the inside and who eats outside the restaurant anyway. I recommend this if you are in Lahaina

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and great sunsets!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Ma'la's was recommended to us by a local photographer (No Ka Oi Surf Photography with Maui Wave Riders). We wanted a good restaurant where the locals eat. We arrived to find the restaurant directly on the water with a small park along the ocean front which afforded great sunset views! The menu was very interesting and the staff made us feel welcome. They gave our kids fun magnetic tropical fish too. We had a great time and would definitely go back. I recommend calling a couple of days ahead for reservations for sunset. The restaurant is small and the number of tables directly overlooking the ocean is few. Don't despair since most of the tables get a nice view and one can pop out side for an unobstructed view.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
2 reviews
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I saw this restaurant on the Maui info channel. It looked and sounded like a nice place to try. We went to dinner early to avoid the rush at dinner time / 4pm. We walked in and were greeted nicely. Then our male waiter came over to seat us. He kinda looked us up and down and spoke condescendingly to us. We are on vacation so all we cared about was relaxing and enjoying Maui. We ordered drinks that came out quick and were fantastic. My wife convinced me to order a nice meal instead my usual. I took her advice and ordered the $45.00 dollar seafood special. When my meal arrived it was in a small bowl and had so little seafood I could barely find what was suppose to be in it. One shrimp, 5 quarter sized clams, 2 scallops, 1 tsp of crab. The red sauce was the worst tasting sauce I have ever had. The reviews on this place seem good but I was extremely unhappy. So far it's my worst Maui eating experience. Don't believe everything you read..

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ma'la - An Ocean Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Ma'la - An Ocean Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing