We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit, worth the return”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mala Ocean Tavern

Mala Ocean Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Mala Ocean Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Kapunakea
Description: Seaside restaurant serving Mediterranean and Asian cuisine.
Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Second visit, worth the return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Had been here two years ago, and it lived up to my previous raves. Was daughter's birthday and I called ahead to let them know. They wished her a happy birthday when we arrived, and got us a waterside table (for a party of 6, so not that easy). Wok fish was great, if not as spectacular as last time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JJWLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    794
    345
    157
    64
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not like it used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had dinned at Ma'la five years ago when we came to Maui and remembered the food to be outstanding, expected difficult parking and cozy dinning environment. This trip was disappointing. Nothing that was served justified the price. Everything seemed overpriced; 13 dollar margarita? The service was not bad just average. I wished we had skipped Ma'la and headed to Merriman's instead, comparable prices with great views, food and service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TNeumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cramped, rushed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

came recommended but we were not enthused. on vacation we went to 8 high-end restaurants in west maui. this was our least favorite.
good - unique food. great views.
poor - cramped dining, high price, felt rushed from server, nothing special
overall - would not go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jordanconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

This location doesn't look 'grand' from the exterior and it isn't on a hotel property or associated with a mall. Parking sucks. The venue itself is small. That said, this is one of the best places to eat on Maui. The food is incredible. The venue is on the water. We watched two turtles playing in the surf about 15 feet from our table. The food, the service, the venue- just magic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but food didn't quite match the ambience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were visiting Maui on our honeymoon. Ma'la is steps from the ocean as you enjoy your dinner, but the food and service was not as fantastic as we expected. One of us got the Adult Mac 'n Cheese and the other got the Ahi Burger, with a calamari appetizer to split (it was a bit chewy).

Pros:
- Half of the restaurant is on a deck that is over the water
- Convenient location (the main road in downtown Lahaina)
- Waiting area consisted of park benches on the ocean (beautiful)

Cons:
- Long wait
- Could be more romantic if it wasn't so busy and tables crowded together
- Parking was difficult (no lot - park wherever you can find space)
- Food was okay, nothing to rave about
- If you get a table inside (not on the deck) at night, you won't be able to see the water

Overall, Ma'la has arguably one of the best restaurant locations in the area, but don't expect privacy or 5-star food. Don't get us wrong, the food was enjoyable, but what you're paying for is clearly the view. Definitely a fun place to try if you can get a table out on the deck before sunset.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheSparahAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mala Ocean Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Mala Ocean Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing