We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip it”
Review of Royal Lahaina Luau

Royal Lahaina Luau
Book In Advance
More Info
$200.98*
and up
Maui Sunset Dinner Cruise and Royal Lahaina Luau Combo
More Info
$197.18*
and up
Maui Atlantis Submarine Adventure and Royal Lahaina Luau
Ranked #7 of 17 Concerts & Shows in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Myths of Maui Luau The last rays of a spectacular sunset, beating drums and the call of the conch shell signal the start of Maui's most exciting and longest running Polynesian luau. You will enjoy a breathtaking celebration of traditional Hawaiian, Tahitian, Samoan and Maori dance and music as performers weave the legends of the South Pacific into a spellbinding performance you are sure to treasure for years to come.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Skip it”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We bought ours as a package with another daytime activity. After I computed the cost, I realized how overpriced it was. Crowded, food was "ok", checkin was slow and long, and when I told the woman I didn't want my picture taken she snapped at me.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SueB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    432
    254
    113
    89
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McLeansboro, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“get ready for a show”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

don't think you will just show up and get tickets it won't happen. this thing sells out fast. it is 7 nights a week.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jsandusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An entertaining show”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Reading about luau's in Maui, it sounded as though some were too traditional and history laden for teens to enjoy. We stayed at the Royal Lahaina Resort, and noticed the long lines into their luau. An easy destination after a day on the beach, so we booked the Royal Lahaina Luau and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The show was very entertaining and at the same time, gave us a glimpse at the history and people of the islands; anything more would have been too heavy for entertainment. The food was fine, the open bar was a plus, you immediately got to know the people around you due to the seating style, and we enjoyed that as well. The price was most affordable for a luau. The location on the beachfront was gorgeous. Our family enjoyed it, and it was apparent the people at our table did as well. Recommend that you attend this luau.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise5296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disorganized and slow!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Regular show like all others. Food is typical to all Luaus. Parking and check in is absolutely horrible, all in their poor effort to get everyone a picture to try and over-sell it to you later for an arm and leg...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WalGor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“No, not so much!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Have you ever been to a Chucky Cheese kids party on a Saturday afternoon. Same cramped seating. Thank god we had open seats at our table or I would have had a fit. The food was on track with other luaus. It was madness when it came time to eat. Seat assignments are done before you get there. I could not find that in the small print anywhere. The show was a show. It was not the best I've been to, but not the best by far. Sort of the Lawrence Welk of luaus. Won't go back to this one.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HuskerTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Lahaina Luau also viewed

 

Been to Royal Lahaina Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing