We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST LUAU EVER!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Lahaina Luau

Royal Lahaina Luau
Book In Advance
More Info
$200.98*
and up
Maui Sunset Dinner Cruise and Royal Lahaina Luau Combo
Ranked #8 of 19 Concerts & Shows in Lahaina
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Myths of Maui Luau The last rays of a spectacular sunset, beating drums and the call of the conch shell signal the start of Maui's most exciting and longest running Polynesian luau. You will enjoy a breathtaking celebration of traditional Hawaiian, Tahitian, Samoan and Maori dance and music as performers weave the legends of the South Pacific into a spellbinding performance you are sure to treasure for years to come.
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEST LUAU EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great people...great experience! Very entertaining and educational! this is a must see!Beautiful!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ronigirl1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    356
    199
    95
    77
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Owasso, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Royal Lahaina Luau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great Staff. Great Food. Great experience. My wife and girls (teens) really enjoyed this. We will definitely do this again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Too expensive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We did not get this Luau on any kind of discount and paid full price for VIP accommodations. The food was fair, but felt as though you were eating in a cafeteria. The show and the sunset over the ocean were the highlights. The dancers are beautiful and athletic and the fire dance is cool. Overall I felt it was overpriced (over 100.00 per person) but if your in Hawaii a luau is something you have to experience. My advice would be to plan ahead and find discount tickets, its not worth paying full price.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AJIandKMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good show, good enough food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Get discount tickets for the show through your hotel / timeshare... No need to pay asking price. Very good show, including hula and dancing from various regions - Hawaii, Tahiti, Samoa... And excellent fire dancers at the end. Food is typical luau food and was good - run very efficiently, so we appreciated not waiting around forever in lines etc. This was our second time here - came here 3 years ago and our boys wanted to go back because of the fire dancers. Great show for kids - they even have them learn to hula on stage at the beginning!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia Fields, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unimpressive Food, Banquet Seating, Great Fire Dance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Honestly, the local buffet at home had better food. The purple yams were interesting, something new to try. Chocolate cake was moist but the coconut pudding was not right. The steak, according to my carnivore mate, was pretty good but the chicken and pork was average. He spit out some type of mandarin salad-violently rejected. Vegetarian options were limited, the highlights were fried rice and stir fry noodles (add soy sauce, salt and pepper). Most drinks were unlimited but came with 80% ice unless made to order. There was no id check. Some guy went through the line as we waited to enter and asked if we might get a cocktail after entering. A yes earned you a smiley face stamp on your left wrist, which meant nothing once you entered. It wad family style seating at banquet tables filling an outdoor area near the water. It felt like we were at a wedding reception as distant friends of the family. Many of the performances felt like a school play or low-budget community event...and then there was Fire...The absolute best part of the entire experience. The fire performer dropped his flaming baton twice but that didn't take away from the wonderful performance. Find a discount because full price is definitely not worth it...Unimpressive Food, Banquet Seating, Great Fire Dance.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Artist_Aboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Lahaina Luau also viewed

 

Been to Royal Lahaina Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing