We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pass this place up”
Review of Ho'oilo House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ho'oilo House
Ranked #3 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't pass this place up”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Just got back from our honeymoon and the Ho'oilo House was one of the highlights of the trip. It is in the perfect area, set away from the chaos of hotel chains along blackrock beach, yet still only a 10 minute drive to said beach - a 4 minute drive to Front Street. Dan, the owner, was knowledgable, funny, and friendly - happy to help at every turn. They put out a delicious breakfast every morning and keep the residence looking immaculate. This was a little pricier than what me and my wife are used to but it was absolutely worth it. Don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    33
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
307
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kirra
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

What a great place to stay, Dan and Amy were fantastic hosts. The breakfast was really good with lots of fresh fruit, home made bread and lovely juices. We had a hic up with our car hire and did not end up with a car but no need to worry, it was really easy to get a taxi up and down. taxi was there in under 10 min and was about $20 to get to Lahaina. Will definatly stay here again on our next trip to Maui

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qldfaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were married at Ho'oilo House a few years ago, so although our experience can't be called "recent," it may still be helpful for anyone considering a wedding on site. For us, our wedding (just the two of us, the minister, and the photographer) went off without a hitch. We worked with the recommended coordinator (Leah, though that may have changed) and everything was planned and executed perfectly from beginning to end. We shipped our dress and suit ahead of time, and the coordinator made sure they were pressed and ready to go. She also handled the flowers, which we selected ahead of time, and they were perfect. The woman who did my hair and makeup was awesome, and the minister we chose (Kimo) was delightful. Our photos were just beautiful with the Maui mountains and ocean as the backdrop. It was exactly what we wanted in a wedding--a simple, elegant ceremony. If you're a control freak, this may not be the option for you, but we wanted a low-stress wedding, and we sure got it! One note: if you want to be married ON a beach, look elsewhere--but at least in our experience, the photographer drove with us to a small beach at the bottom of the hill, where we got some good shots.

We chose Ho'oilo House because it was small (read: private) and adults-only (again, may have changed). We stayed in Kohola, which offered a lovely view of the water. The outdoor shower was pretty amazing. The only time we saw other guests was at breakfast (delicious, BTW), and even then everyone seemed to keep to themselves. Note that the location of Ho'oilo House is somewhat residential, so you will have to drive a bit to get to a public beach with parking. But all told, Ho'oilo House is an excellent place to consider for your Maui vacation. I wouldn't be commenting years later if I didn't still believe it to be true!

Room Tip: We stayed in Kohola, which faces the ocean and is near the gazebo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AyBeeOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Great place to stay. We only stayed one night, but it was an excellent stay. The views are magnificent, food great, and felt very comfortable during stay. Please expect that there may be a few bugs, but no major concern as the enviornment was authentic to a Hawiian experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 643Dre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freeport, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Ho'oilo house for the 2nd time in as many years. We had such a great visit that I am sure we will visit again as soon as possible.
The service is friendly and excellent, the room is comfortable and quite, the location can't be beat for location or views.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This property is located high above Lahaina with a fantastic view of the sunset.
Dan and Amy were superb hosts! Breakfast was relaxing, the outdoor showers were invigorating and the rooms were perfect! Lee and Marsha

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Whether on the mountain side or the pool side, all six units are quiet, roomy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMM1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Breathtaking views, peaceful gardens, stunning design, and absolute privacy. We simply can't stop telling people about our dreamy experience at Ho'oilo House. We stayed in the Akala Manu room for 4 nights in early March, and were truly living the Maui dream. Dan, the owner, greeted us with kindness as he gave us a small tour of the beautiful house, and from then on we felt as if the Balinese style palace was all our own. The breakfasts were delicious; fresh tropical fruit & juice, warm baked bread, and Kona coffee poolside. Our beautiful room was private and romantic, with a heavenly stone outdoor shower from which we could enjoy the sun or stars, palms and mountain views. Geckos and insects are part of the tropics, but our encounters with both only happened outdoors. The room was meticulously cleaned each day. They even left us champagne flues when they saw we had a bottle on the shelf! Enjoyed using their beach umbrellas and grass mats. The location is ideal -- just minutes away from beaches and restaurants, in a quiet, affluent neighborhood. A jogging path is nearby, and everywhere the views of the mountain and the ocean are breathtaking. Everyday we dream of returning to Ho'oilo House. It truly is that wonderful!

Room Tip: Side rooms have the benefit of partial ocean and mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
10.6 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
42.6 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
17.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
6.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
16.7 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ho'oilo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho'oilo House

Property: Ho'oilo House
Address: 138 Awaiku St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ho'oilo House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the West Maui Mountains, this quiet, private Bed & Breakfast offers incredible views of the Pacific Ocean and islands surrounding Maui. Located on the popular west side of the island, you will be just minutes from the historic whaling town of Lahaina and the Kaanapali resort area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Ho'oilo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho`Oilo House Hotel Lahaina
Ho'Oilo House Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing