We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed!”
Review of Ho'oilo House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ho'oilo House
Ranked #2 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mae Sai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

When we first booked at the Ho'oilo House for the splurge of our honeymoon we were so excited and had tonnes of anticipation for our few days. Sadly our visit was anything but what we had hoped. I love ambiance and unique architecture, so looking at the Ho'oilo house really peaked my interest. I will say it was beautiful, but mood and ambiance only go so far. Our first impression of the place was that it was dirty and some of the items in the rooms needed to be updated. We are not picky people and have travelled abroad, so small inconveniences are usually not a problem, but there were so many at the Ho'oilo house it ruined our stay. The first day my wife was lying on the bed and a baby cockroach crawled across right next to her! We had already stayed in upcountry Maui in an open air B&B and never had anything like this, so we were quite surprised. We decided not to mention this incident right away, as this was Hawaii after all and some bugs have to be expected, but things from there only got worse. My wife was often visited by these small cockroaches, and killed many more in our two days there. The culmination of our disappointment was one evening when we were going for a nice romantic bath together only to find 3 cockroaches scurrying around, definitely a mood killer!

Dan resolved our cockroach issue promptly and offered us a new room for that evening, which was appreciated. All in all we were very happy to leave the Ho'oilo house! By far our worst and most expensive stay on the island. We will not be coming back, and also would not recommend it. A big let down for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EvandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    33
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
8
311
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Wow what a fantastic place, when we found this on the internet we just had to book it for our Honeymoon and it was everything we expected and more. The layout of the rooms, breakfast area, pool and gardens are tranquil, the views amazing.
The location is also great with only a few minutes drive into Lahaina where on Front Street you can find an array of great restaurants and shops with easy parking.
Dan and Amy are very friendly who have built up an exceptional B&B, to give great service and make an excellent breakfast, which you can enjoy by the pool.
Our room was spacious, very clean and the outside shower gives a real tropical feel.
We stayed for 9 nights from the 31st october, but didn't want to leave.
We can't wait to return very soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hms228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was a family vacation. The family chose to stay on the beach at Lahaina. Although the setting is perfect for familes, I am so glad to have enjoyed the tranquility and beauty of this Balinese inspired pavillon with its exquisite architecture and sumptuous furnishings. The beautifully maintained gardens offered breathtaking views to the island of Molokai. The morning breakfast was more than satisfying. The gentle sounds of Hawaiian music in the rooms lulled one back to a more distant time of this royal kingdom. Dan and Amy were charming, helpful, and very accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacromonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were expecting a lovely B&B, but we were not prepared for the exceptional experience and setting of the Ho'oilo House. Our entrance to the main room was at once impressive. A great room with welcoming and comfortable furnishings, soothing water features, wonderful wood and stone accessories, and astonishing views of the Pacific Ocean, invited us to appreciate the beauty and peace around us. We had chosen a room with an ocean view, and the furnishings and accessories were stunning. The door to our room came from Bali, carved and beautifully ornamented. Our shower was open to the sky, and on tiptoes, I could see the ocean. The lanai was situated so that we could enjoy the ocean view and breezes, the beautiful landscaping of the grounds, and the peace and quiet of the surroundings. Breakfasts were delicious, including homemade granolas and breads or muffins, fresh fruits, and yogurts, and delicious coffee and juices. Our mornings and breakfasts were enjoyed sitting beside the beautiful pool and looking out at the ocean view. The proprietors were gracious and welcoming. Although expensive, this stay was one of the highlights of our Hawaii trip and our time at Ho'oilo House will remain a sweet and exceptional memory. (N.B. We were there in July of 2012.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I finally made it back after being away from this perfect getaway for 4 years. Dan & Amy remembered us, which was unexpected, yet very much appreciated. They are such pleasant people to deal with as well as just have a casual conversation with. They make us feel like family whilst we are enjoying the entire B&B for what it is: a quiet, peaceful, tranquil, adults only, romantic, non-typical tourist luxurious getaway. You will find it is WELL WORTH it. We just got home today after fantastic 5 night stay for our anniversary. Do yourself a favor, and go book your stay now!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseshoe Bay, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

You may not believe this, but the other morning as I was coming down the stairs, I truly belived that I could smell the wonderful aroma of baking bread. What a disappointment to suddenly come to the realization that I was back home in Texas and NOT in Maui. Amy and Dan, you spoiled me and my family. What a wonderful relaxing and pampered week for all of us! Thanks for sharing your hospitality and bread to "die for".

Affectionately,
Dolores and Adrian Guinn, (also the Bennetts and Thorntons.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolores G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just got back from our stay at Ho'oilo House in Maui last week. This B&B is a gem; our entire stay was blissful. Everything was wonderful - serene green property grounds, our unique Bali style suite, the living/common areas. We stayed in the Kipuka Suite and loved everything about it. Here is a list of things we enjoyed about our suite:
* The generous suite size
* Comfortable king size bed with high quality linens
* Spa like outdoor shower
* Natural paraben/sulphate free bath products
* Bath robes and Turkish cotton towels
* Beautiful private lanai facing the gardens
* Regular housekeeping (believe me all B&Bs do not offer daily housekeeping which can get a little annoying)

The B&B hosts - Dan and Amy were amazing and a great asset for local information. They were extremely friendly and yet provided privacy to the guests. All recommendations we got from them (from restaurants to things to do were great). They provided us beach umbrella, sun hats and chairs (which honestly are a must if you were going to use public beaches)

The breakfast every morning was great, one thing to note as stated by other reviewers is that it is almost the same breakfast everyday (besides the baked vegan muffins, scones - which were yummy). I didn’t have any problem with that but my husband got a bit bored of eating the same every day. Their website states exactly what the breakfast will be, just something to know I guess(http://www.hooilohouse.com/your-visit/breakfast.htm). My favorite was all day access to variety of loose leaf tea. Every morning, we enjoyed waking up early, sitting in our lanai listening to the chirping birds... We enjoyed eating our breakfast by the pool every morning with ocean views and chit chatting with fellow guests.

As mentioned by other reviewers, there are geckos/insects outdoors and in the lanai - again they are part of Hawaiian outdoors, we were not bothered by them atall. One thing to improve on - I think the Lanai could use extra cleaning (sweeping the floors more regularly and cleaning the chairs cushions etc), again I think it is probably impossible to keep it spot less given the outdoor winds and leaves from the garden... The pool was very clean.

All in all, I think this place is great value for your $$ (at least for Maui) and a really good option to stay at if you are looking for peace and are OK with driving 5-10 minutes to the closest beach. For something of equivalent luxury at a resort(if possible to find) you would be paying upwards of 600-800$+ per night(if not a lot more).

This was our Babymoon trip and we truly enjoyed every moment of it. On last day of our stay, Amy and Dan left chocolate covered strawberries and cider in our room with a cute bedtime story book for our baby. It was very thoughtful of them to do so. Again, our entire experience yet again validates our love for B&Bs and this one being exceptional in quality and hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manjeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
42.6 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
10.6 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
480 reviews
17.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
18.0 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
983 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ho'oilo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho'oilo House

Property: Ho'oilo House
Address: 138 Awaiku St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ho'oilo House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the West Maui Mountains, this quiet, private Bed & Breakfast offers incredible views of the Pacific Ocean and islands surrounding Maui. Located on the popular west side of the island, you will be just minutes from the historic whaling town of Lahaina and the Kaanapali resort area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ho'oilo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho`Oilo House Hotel Lahaina
Ho'Oilo House Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing