We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but not perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ho'oilo House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ho'oilo House
Ranked #3 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice, but not perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights in the Nalu room of Ho'olio House in February. We had a little trouble finding the house as there are no identifying signs on the property and the picture on the website is of the backside. Since we had Dan's phone number, we called for directions and he met us in the front. Once there, we settled into the Nalu room. It has a nice (though distant) view of the ocean and the island of Lanai from the private porch, although since it faced west, it was in direct sunlight in the late afternoon when we were most likely to use it. The room layout was odd. The bed was against the wall so that my husband had to crawl over me if he had to get up during the night, and the reading lights weren't in a useable position. After turning off the bedroom light, I had to wander through the dark to find the (comfortable) bed. The bathroom has no door separating it from the bedroom, so there is no privacy. The room was clean, but not pristine. The outdoor shower was terrific! Plenty of water pressure and just a great experience. Breakfast hours were very limited, so we were only able to enjoy it one morning out of four because snorkeling, the Road to Hana, and our flight out required that we leave the B&B before breakfast was served. Dan and Amy were nice, but not particularly engaging, and didn't offer us an alternative or suggestion for breakfast when we told them of the conflict. We did love the peace and quiet of the location, about 3 or 4 miles from the town of Lahaina. Overall, we would recommend the Ho'olio House over most big hotels, but don't expect perfection.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masuresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HooiloHouse, Owner at Ho'oilo House, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - it is truly appreciated. We're happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.

We strive for excellence, but we understand that we're not always able to achieve it. For that you have our sincere apologies. I'm truly surprised that we didn't offer you to-go breakfasts on the days you had early adventures - that's unlike us. Again, you have our apologies.

We hope to see you again and we thank you for recommending us to your family and friends.

Mahalo,
Amy & Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    32
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
302
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This Balinese beauty is gorgeous. The location, view, pool, ponds, living room and decor are all exquisite. We stayed 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Even when we were up early to go whale watching, they kept breakfast for when we returned. The location is close to Lahaina and many beautiful beaches. The hosts were gracious and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HooiloHouse, Owner at Ho'oilo House, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're so happy to hear that you had a lovely stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future!

Mahalo,
Amy & Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Three words can sum up our six day stay at Ho`oilo House; extremely peaceful, far less crowded and very relaxed.

We looked forward to the very healthy breakfasts every morning especially Amy's homemade bread & biscuits, yum!!!

And the very private outside showers were as close to nature as one can get.

Their hard wired in room high speed internet connection allowed me to communicate around the world from paradise on my time line.

Charles David Dreher
Executive Vice-President
Commonwealth Capital Advisors

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BestSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cutar, Spain
Level Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the B&B last week and enjoyed two nights in Wailele and one night in Nalu. We preferred the layout of Wailele but how can you better the view from Nalu. Just such an awesome sight of the ocean. Staying in a hotel is just not us so after spending three days in Hana renting a small cottage this B&B was a great choice. We had concerns about the area but being just minutes from town when it seems like so much further is ideal. Amy and Dan are helpful and will make great recommendations for you to enjoy a meal or an activity. Cost is not the lowest out there but you do get what you pay for.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jilltim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and myself spent 2 days at Ho'oilo House the beginning of December. We both agree it was the the most picture perfect place we have ever stayed. The rooms were very well appointed, extremely comfy bed and we loved the outdoor shower. We had a beautiful view of the ocean along with the sunsets! We ordered the cheese tray along with some local wine and it was well worth it.
Breakfast was very good, along with the coffee and special teas.
Dan was excellent and gave us great tips on where to go etc...they have boogie boards, chairs, umbrellas and hats for you to use. You just can't get this kind of service in a hotel.
Thanks again to Dan and Amy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mllgdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is an absolutely beautiful property. The rooms are sumptuous, the grounds are meticulously maintained, the view is beautiful, and the pool and common areas are top notch. It's about a 15 minute drive into Lahaina. The owners were friendly and helpful. I thought the cost was very reasonable for Maui and a great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

You will find fantastic views, elegant forniture and quality in every detail. Tasty home made breakfasts, fine teas and great local coffee. For sure a very good choice for central Maui. Little bit out of town, so rented car is needed. Expensive. Probably too much....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robbybo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
10.6 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
42.6 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
17.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
16.7 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
18.0 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ho'oilo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho'oilo House

Property: Ho'oilo House
Address: 138 Awaiku St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ho'oilo House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the West Maui Mountains, this quiet, private Bed & Breakfast offers incredible views of the Pacific Ocean and islands surrounding Maui. Located on the popular west side of the island, you will be just minutes from the historic whaling town of Lahaina and the Kaanapali resort area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your Ho'oilo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho`Oilo House Hotel Lahaina
Ho'Oilo House Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing