We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely peaceful, far less crowded and very relaxed...”
Review of Ho'oilo House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ho'oilo House
Ranked #2 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Three words can sum up our six day stay at Ho`oilo House; extremely peaceful, far less crowded and very relaxed.

We looked forward to the very healthy breakfasts every morning especially Amy's homemade bread & biscuits, yum!!!

And the very private outside showers were as close to nature as one can get.

Their hard wired in room high speed internet connection allowed me to communicate around the world from paradise on my time line.

Charles David Dreher
Executive Vice-President
Commonwealth Capital Advisors

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BestSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for Ho'oilo House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 358 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed in the B&B last week and enjoyed two nights in Wailele and one night in Nalu. We preferred the layout of Wailele but how can you better the view from Nalu. Just such an awesome sight of the ocean. Staying in a hotel is just not us so after spending three days in Hana renting a small cottage this B&B was a great choice. We had concerns about the area but being just minutes from town when it seems like so much further is ideal. Amy and Dan are helpful and will make great recommendations for you to enjoy a meal or an activity. Cost is not the lowest out there but you do get what you pay for.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jilltim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and myself spent 2 days at Ho'oilo House the beginning of December. We both agree it was the the most picture perfect place we have ever stayed. The rooms were very well appointed, extremely comfy bed and we loved the outdoor shower. We had a beautiful view of the ocean along with the sunsets! We ordered the cheese tray along with some local wine and it was well worth it.
Breakfast was very good, along with the coffee and special teas.
Dan was excellent and gave us great tips on where to go etc...they have boogie boards, chairs, umbrellas and hats for you to use. You just can't get this kind of service in a hotel.
Thanks again to Dan and Amy!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mllgdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is an absolutely beautiful property. The rooms are sumptuous, the grounds are meticulously maintained, the view is beautiful, and the pool and common areas are top notch. It's about a 15 minute drive into Lahaina. The owners were friendly and helpful. I thought the cost was very reasonable for Maui and a great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

You will find fantastic views, elegant forniture and quality in every detail. Tasty home made breakfasts, fine teas and great local coffee. For sure a very good choice for central Maui. Little bit out of town, so rented car is needed. Expensive. Probably too much....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robbybo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We LOVED our stay at Ho'oilo House. The pictures do not do this place justice, it really takes your breath away. We stayed in the Akala Manu room; the mountain and water views were perfect for us. And the bed was huge and so comfortable!

I didn't get an opportunity to meet Amy, but we saw Dan every morning and he was very helpful with any questions that we had. They were running a promotion where if you check into the B&B on facebook you get a free beach tote - I recommend doing that because the tote was very helpful for us the week we were there! They also have many beach accessories available to you, from umbrellas, coolers, beach chairs, etc. You will get 2 fresh beach towels in your room every day which are great as well.

The breakfast is fantastic, I miss having fresh fruit and freshly baked muffins every morning! And the POG juice is definitely worth trying, it is so yummy!

I had seen some reviews on here that Amy and Dan were a bit stand-offish, but that was not our experience at ALL. Dan was very friendly and thoughtful. On our last day I got to breakfast later than I had the previous days, and there weren't any muffins at the table. I assumed they were just out of them, which was fine, but Dan saw me and quickly brought out more for me.We also had an issue with our outdoor shower doors when we arrived, and Dan had that resolved right away when we brought it to his attention.

I would love to go back to Ho'oilo House someday! I recommend this B&B for anyone, it doesn't have to be just couples.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leahrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Ho'oilo House mid October for our Wedding/Honeymoon/Vacation in Maui. We both loved everything about the Ho'oilo House and it was even better than what we expected. Some of the highlights included... the perfect distance from the action on front street, the most amazing views as you drive down the road to get to the main road.. I have so many pictures of the sky, it was one of the prettiest views we saw in Maui, the room itself was very clean and perfect, I loved the music thats pipped in to the rooms, it was so nice for nap time! The outdorr shower is amazing, and the views from our shower was perfect, we stayed in the Akala Manu. I could go on and on and on, trust me, this is the place to stay in Maui. we toured around the island and I cant say there wa sanother area I rather have stayed in. I hope to be bale to return one day!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
42.6 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
17.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
10.6 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
16.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ho'oilo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho'oilo House

Address: 138 Awaiku St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range: $324 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ho'oilo House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the West Maui Mountains, this quiet, private Bed & Breakfast offers incredible views of the Pacific Ocean and islands surrounding Maui. Located on the popular west side of the island, you will be just minutes from the historic whaling town of Lahaina and the Kaanapali resort area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Ho'oilo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho`Oilo House Hotel Lahaina
Ho'Oilo House Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing