We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful place to relax.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ho'oilo House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ho'oilo House
Ranked #3 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to relax.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Nestled not too far from downtown lahaina the views are spectacular. The house is beautiful and very balanced. We stayed in the "honu" and enjoyed it very much. The bathroom with outdoor shower was great as well. A private couples massage on the lani is highly recommended and you also have the option for a private dinner by personal chef but the menu wasn't our thing, be sure to ask though as it may change from time to time. Breakfast is continental but very tasty, loved the granola and muffins. Amy and Dan are always willing to help and answer questions and have plenty of boogie boards, beach umbrellas, and towels for your visit. Enjoyed our stay and hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NyRoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    32
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
302
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Ho'oilo House is a very special type of B&B. It's filled with beautiful hardwood furnishings, and from what we saw and heard from other guests, all the six bedrooms are really comfortable and well-appointed. The main living/breakfast room is really welcoming and looks out over the pool, which in turn gives you stunning views of the ocean. Amy and Dan have truly created a place which is serene and peaceful and lovely. Having a (very private) outdoor shower, out there, in the amazing flower-scented Maui air, was just incredible and reminded us nightly that we were a LONG way from London. True, the breakfasts were perhaps a bit samey after 5 days, but it was fine and we never went hungry. We stayed in two different rooms whilst we were there: Kipuka is larger and has a view of the gardens from the lanai; Kohala is slightly smaller but has an ocean-facing lanai - and a not-so-private toilet, which we coped with fine, but I guess if you were a newer couple, you might want to consider when choosing your room! As far as location goes, Lahaina and all the beautiful beaches of West Maui are just a short drive away, so all in all, it's just a lovely, very special place that we wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HornseyHobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Ho'olio House is one of the nicest B&Bs I have had the pleasure to stay at - ever. I have stayed at many places and rarely have they been so wonderful to behold. Only 6 rooms, each individually decorated and the website allows you to pick which room you want when you start the booking process. The large living room is welcoming so that you don't need to stay cooped up in your own quarters. In any event, each room also has its own outdoor terrace. The view from atop over the sea is wonderful - soothing and beautiful. Only 2 minor points which could be improved: 1) the continental breakfast is very limited and gets boring after two goes and 2) it would be nice to have umbrellas by the pool. Any & Dan are wonderful hosts and can help you organise all sorts of activities, ranging from a private dinner to a snorkeling adventure.

Room Tip: Make sure to check each of the rooms on the webiste and pick the one which looks good to you when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Only minutes from Lahaina but worlds away for peace and relaxation. Amy and Dan were perfect hosts and will arrange anything you need to make your trip a treasure..Our room was elegantly appointed with comfortable furnishings, a private laniai, a soaking tub and an outdoor shower. (Trust me, it's private and perfect for a tropical island. Only wish we could do the same at home in Colorado.) Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room did not have an ocean view but we did not feel the loss. It was large, exceedingly comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights as we island hopped on our honeymoon. Complete privacy and barely saw the other guests. One minute to the beach and 10 minutes to the action of Front Street. Great outdoor showers. Coming back here when we return to Maui is a no brainer!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Visiting from Australia,on our first trip to Hawaii,also on our Honeymoon Ho'oilo House was our first stop.WOW !Location perfect ,sensational views,lovely breakfast,polite,friendly host & staff members.Peaceful setting.Did I mention the serenity & calmn atmosphere?The attention to detail in our room & surrounding areas would draw your line of sight to another unique corner & surprise.Ho'oilo House exceeded our expections,we have already recommeded this unique B&B to many friends & work colleagues.What are you waiting for?
J Doherty.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed at this B&B for 5 days and have a decent flavor of the place. Beauty is the eye of the beholder but I would be hard pressed that anyone can walk away from this place and not say its uniquely stunning. The rest is up to what you prefer or not. The outdoor showers are nice if you don't mind stepping on some stones to get to it and only a jet stream (like a hose) spray. Also some reviewers wrote it's so romantic. It's only romantic if the people in the next room are not showering at the same time. In my case I didn't mind the stones, spray or neighbors and loved the outdoor shower. Choose your room wisely to suit your taste. We stayed in the Wailele room after reviewing all the rooms on the website. We wanted a larger room that had toilet with a door you can close and a bed that wasn't pushed against the wall. We were not disappointed. It was beautiful. Couple things to know about the room. Lighting is poor in the bathroom. They only had high hats in the ceiling. It was no big deal for us but some may have an issue here if you like a lot of light. The lanai outside is facing the back. There are two chairs and only one chaise as shown in the website. Your view is of a hedge but totally private. All perfectly fine for us and we couldn't have been happier. As for the breakfast, folks, it's a basic continental spread. After reading some of the reviews I thought it was going to be fantastic. Nonetheless, it's good coffee and some fresh foods that will get you going in the morning. They do a nice job with the spread and you can count on it being there waiting for you in the morning. As for the owners, Dan & Amy, I found them polite and efficient. We just didn't find them welcoming. One day our room wasn't cleaned and I called the office to let them know a new set of towels and soap would make us happy. A person was covering the phones since Dan nor Amy were around. He was extremely apologetic. I said it could wait until they got back. Not much later Dan and Amy fixed up the room with a slight apology from Dan only. I now was getting peranoid that we did something to upset them so I looked up some of the reviews and found some folks had the same experience. We actually felt better thinking it wasn't us and it's just how they seem to be. No big deal but I gave them a 4 because it would be fantastic if they were more welcoming and you felt they were happy out of all the places one could choose you chose Ho'oilo House.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartinDavidThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
10.6 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
42.6 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
17.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
16.7 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
18.0 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ho'oilo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho'oilo House

Property: Ho'oilo House
Address: 138 Awaiku St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ho'oilo House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the West Maui Mountains, this quiet, private Bed & Breakfast offers incredible views of the Pacific Ocean and islands surrounding Maui. Located on the popular west side of the island, you will be just minutes from the historic whaling town of Lahaina and the Kaanapali resort area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Ho'oilo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho`Oilo House Hotel Lahaina
Ho'Oilo House Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing