We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ho'oilo House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ho'oilo House
Ranked #3 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Quiet. Relaxing. Great place to chill and re-energize. This is exactly what we were looking for. No crowds. No loud music. Just beautiful trade winds, palm trees, ocean views but close enough to great restaurants but far from the hustle bustle touristy places. There is a great trail for taking morning walks close by. And the best part is there was fresh piping hot Gluten free muffins every morning + gluten free cereal and fresh fruit + great coffee for us coffee snobs from the Pacific Northwest! Thank you Dan & Amy! Everything was Perfect!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    32
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
305
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Airy & clean little B&B up in Launiopoko. Ten minutes drive from the action of Front Street but far enough to feel like you're in the Mediterranean. Amazing views of West Maui coastline and mountains. Outdoor shower and marble tub made it even more special. Simple breakfast in the morning. Bottle of Veuve waiting in the room on arrival was a great touch too. Many Mahalos Dan and Amy :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnnyscaccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankenmuth, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week on our honeymoon in May 2011. It was one of the best weeks!!! So happy we started off our honeymoon here. Dan was extremely helpful and guided us toward the perfect week of Maui fun for us. We did the couples massage and personal meal with the chef. Both amazing experiences. I would highly recommend both. We would definately stay here again. The grounds is wonderful, I took atleast 2 showers a day in the outdoor shower. Breakfast was wonderful each morning, love the committment to sustainability.
If you have a chance, stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossland, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We found it expensive here relative to the other places where we stayed. There's no doubt this place is beautiful - the grounds are well landscaped and private although it is in a residential subdivision, and the common areas and guest rooms are well decorated. The room was larger than I expected. We had a room at the back which we loved, and we both agreed that the outdoor shower with views of the mountains was awesome!

The breakfast is adequate - cereals, yogurts, juice, coffee, hard boiled eggs, and toast and muffins.

However, we found the reception cold, and little to no hospitality or welcoming atmosphere, and although we tried not to let it bother us, it did put a bit of a damper on the visit here.
There was no attempt by Dan or Amy to engage in any conversation - and Amy didn't even introduce herself to us. We almost had the impression that it was a bother for them to act as b & b hosts, and interact with the guests.

I saw that they were presented with awards for their outstanding hospitality, and the trip advisor reviews are great (which is why we chose this place) but we failed to experience it. Maybe we missed something, but I wouldn't stay here again, nor would I recommend this place to friends and family. All the other places we stayed at in Maui were beautiful too, some in better locations, and all provided a welcoming atmosphere and outstanding hospitality.

It's a shame, because this place could be awesome.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank edesem123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed at Hooilo House for 4 nights during our honeymoon and we just loved it! I loved the fact that there were no children running around and the whole place was just so tranquil and peaceful. There was a delicious breakfast each morning of fresh fruit salad, muffins and granola - a light and refreshing way to start the day. I loved how you felt like you had the place to yourselves even though the place was full the entire time we were there. Amy and Dan were great hosts - I liked the fact that if you needed something they would help but they were very discrete and let guests relax and not bother them. It really is the perfect place for a couple's retreat! My favourite thing about the stay was the shower! My god I loved it so much. We stayed in the Honu room and the feeling of having a hot shower at night with the cold night air about was just fantastic!! The shower head itself is not a big jet but a continuous and heavy flow of water - really different but still powerful and great. My partner absolutely loved the bath in the room too. The bed was enormous!! Really a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissWizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We went to Ho'oilo House for our Honeymoon and was very impressed. A bit pricey, but worth the money and had a wonderful stay. The rooms are decorated very well and the outdoor shower is a huge plus. Whole building is beautiful and clean. Very friendly staff who took special care to address my food allergies. Great location too...not too close to the madness of the big hotels, but close to everything. Only about a 15 minute drive to Pacfic Whale Foundation and a lot of water activities. Nice quiet beach just down the hill.

Room Tip: All are nice and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelandseeitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at the Ho'oilo House. It was a great place to come back to after our morning and afternoon excursions on the island. Very quiet and peaceful. They have everything you need for the beach: chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, sun hats, coolers. Dan gave us great suggestions on which beach to go to.

The outdoor shower was wonderful and breakfast was always delicious.

Thanks for sharing your beautiful B&B with us and we hope to be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
10.6 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
42.6 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
17.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
6.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
16.7 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ho'oilo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho'oilo House

Property: Ho'oilo House
Address: 138 Awaiku St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ho'oilo House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the West Maui Mountains, this quiet, private Bed & Breakfast offers incredible views of the Pacific Ocean and islands surrounding Maui. Located on the popular west side of the island, you will be just minutes from the historic whaling town of Lahaina and the Kaanapali resort area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ho'oilo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho`Oilo House Hotel Lahaina
Ho'Oilo House Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing