We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Simply perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LahainaLuna Cafe

LahainaLuna Cafe
Ranked #6 of 257 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Local food made gourmet... Lahainaluna Café uses only the best quality ingredients and fresh local Maui produce. All of our food is MADE TO ORDER and served fresh from the kitchen. From Asian fusion to local Hawaiian flavors, we provide an array of dishes sure to please any palate. Tucked away in the Lahaina Marketplace across the street from the Lahaina seaside, our outdoor cafe is always a breath of fresh air! We are dedicated to serving the community and providing warm friendly service with true ALOHA spirit. We look forward to serving you soon!
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The food and the people who work here are absolutely wonderful!! The food is so fresh, reasonably priced, and delicious. My parents had the fish tacos and my sister and I tried the chicken curry sandwich and the Korean beef tacos. Everything was so nice!
Roberto looked at the last name on my dad's credit card and seamlessly started speaking to him in Spanish. I think it impressed my dad and meant a lot to him. They talked about Mexico and their upbringing for a few minutes while finishing the payment- Roberto is just so personable. He brought out our food and noticed that my sister had left the table to run into a store. He returned with some foil to cover her plate so her food would stay warm. There is no end to how thoughtful this guy is. I asked for some tap water and he came back with four cups of delicious purified water. Later in our meal as he was checking on us, my mom raved about the salad dressing that they use and asked if she could buy some. He came back with a plastic container filled with the dressing and said 'Feliz Navidad' and refused extra money for it.
The other people who work in this restaurant are equally nice and responsible- most of our contact was with Roberto though. I think we will come back time and again just because of the small things that he and the other workers did to make our meal memorable and delicious. We are going to recommend this place to all of our relatives and friends visiting Maui.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wildholdyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    63
    20
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch and had a great meal. The food was fresh and delicious and the kitchen seemed very clean. Would return.

Helpful?
1 Thank drcrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best find we've made in a while”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Robert isn't the owner, but he should be! We sat outside this joint 4 times because it is next to Ululani Shave Ice. Each time, we always read the menu and saw Robert interact with everyone. And I mean everyone. Always engaging, he took time to explain menu items, make recommendations and tailor to specific needs and requests. Tonight we went for the shave ice and his cafe. So glad we did. Better food and prices than most places in town. He hand delivers food to each table and personally takes time to engage in conversation. Wait, the food is great as well. Did I mention that yet?

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jointops1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Yummy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

What a great local gem! We had the brussel sprout and kale salad with grilled chicken and the fish tacos, a cheese quesadilla and crazy fries. Everything was delicious. The ambience was super cute, in a little courtyard overlooking some shops. Great people watching. And right nextdoor to the delicious Ululuani's Shaved Ice (owned by the same folks). Can't beat the wonderful prices too. The owner took great pride in his business and came to check on us personally. Great spot!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Quenzette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gourmet outdoor eating at it's finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stumbled upon Lahainaluna and were not disappointed. Just wanted a simple, inexpensive meal (also didn't want to miss a Maui sunset by eating indoors.) The fish tacos were to die for, what a surprise for an unassuming little outdoor grill; the Korean beef was also delicious as was the hotdog and chicken quesadilla. The owner obviously has put a gourmet twist on every item, even the salad dressing was exceptional (I think it had fresh mango juice in it, so tasty!) Do not hesitate to eat here if looking for a casual less expensive place to grab a bite in Lahaina. An added benefit is that it is located beside a fabulous shaved ice shop, so you don't have to go far for dessert! Also there is a kiosk nearby that has decent prices on casual jewelry. The owner was a very hardworking man who did his best to ensure our satisfaction. We ate there twice during our stay.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank besttogetopinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LahainaLuna Cafe also viewed

 

Been to LahainaLuna Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing