We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome show” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ulalena by Maui Theatre

Ulalena by Maui Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.00*
and up
Ulalena Show at Maui Theatre
Ranked #4 of 19 Concerts & Shows in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 'Ulalena is a world-renowned Hawaiian theatre production dedicated to telling the story of Hawaii's people. The critically acclaimed stage show outlines the islands’ creation, transformation and rebirth by integrating ancient Hawaiian history with state-of-the-art theater technology, and stunning music, chant, dance and acrobatics. 'Ulalena speaks to the imagination and inspires the human spirit to keep the Hawaiian culture alive. An invaluable cultural experience and a must-do on Maui!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Went to this show on recommendation from our Westin staff. Excellent show, very well done. It was nice to see something different as we have done most typical Maui vacation stuff here over the years. Dancers & musicians were awesome. Great performance!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherlock44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    205
    100
    29
    32
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“History of Maui ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Show was very artfully done. It was a good history of the Maui culture. Percussion section was outstanding. They made the show. Some narration would have been helpful. I had to read my program to know what was being presented. UnfortunatelyI was not able to do this until after show, it was then I was to able to better understand the presentation.

Helpful?
Thank JRA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Would go again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were there about ten years ago, it is still the best show in town. I would tell visitors to be sure to see this production. It tells the history of Maui.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharkphilpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, Hawaii
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This show was a combination of modern dance and hula. It was dynamic and engaging. Yes, if you do not know the Hawaiian language or the stories & myths of the culture, you could get lost. My husband had a hard time following parts, but I understood it perfectly. Dancers were amazing, band was over the top. We did the VIP tickets and were not disappointed with the cast afterwards. Would definitely spend the money again. The fact the venue was built just for this show is something in itself.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sniffer0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I read the reviews and knew that they were polarizing but I took a chance anyhow. Too expensive for what it was. A very average show. Likely as authentic as Disney.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spunkykiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulalena by Maui Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Ulalena by Maui Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing