We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth The Price of Admission”

Ulalena by Maui Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.00*
and up
Ulalena Show at Maui Theatre
Ranked #4 of 18 Concerts & Shows in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 'Ulalena is a world-renowned Hawaiian theatre production dedicated to telling the story of Hawaii's people. The critically acclaimed stage show outlines the islands’ creation, transformation and rebirth by integrating ancient Hawaiian history with state-of-the-art theater technology, and stunning music, chant, dance and acrobatics. 'Ulalena speaks to the imagination and inspires the human spirit to keep the Hawaiian culture alive. An invaluable cultural experience and a must-do on Maui!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 537 helpful votes
“Worth The Price of Admission”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

You can't visit Lahaina without seeing Ulalena at the Maui Theatre. It is a well done, and entertaining production. Staff is friendly, accommodating and happy to see you. Performers are professional, and production is well done. Keep in mind that this is not Las Vegas or Broadway, but a well done, and entertaining local production.

Get the Dinner Package which is a fantastic value, and you will have your choice of eating at Lahaina Prime Rib and Fish (my choice) or Ruth Chris (if you want to stick with a well known brand that you probably already know). You also get VIP seating for the show (there is not a bad seat in the house, but this puts you close up).

Support the Theatre, support the performers, and have a great night out in Lahaina!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Critics_Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    799
    206
    103
    30
    32
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dinner and a show - one of the best on Maui”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We saw Ulalena a number of years ago, but it was even better this year. They have an awesome VIP package that includes dinner, preferential seating, and parking. We chose the dinner at Ruth's Chris. Dinner was wonderful and even included a glass of wine. We sat in an excellent location in the theatre, and were treated to a backstage event with the performers after the show. Our parking was taken care of as well. With our "senior" discount, the entire event was less than what we would normally spend for dinner in the Lahaina area. It will be a "must see" for us on all our future trips. The performance changes a little each evening since the performers are given some flexibility in how their role plays out for the evening. Great deal!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelGal84965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A must do if on Maui”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a very slick production. There is a large cast who all performed faultlessly. It is the story of the islands from the original settlers to modern times.

You are strongly reccomended to read the synopsis before the show, because otherwise you will miss the importance of some of the scenes.

We reccomend seats on the left (as looking as the stage) because the musicians are high up on the right, and those just below them will miss some of the performance.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kebab65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Great evening!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely evening. We had dinner VIP tickets which included a delicious dinner at Ruth Chris Steakhouse. We chose dinner before the show rather than after. The performance was so beautifully done. The singers and musicians were outstanding. The dancing was very enjoyable. Overall, well worth the price of the tickets.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Show”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The show was very good and a pleasant break from shopping.This show was recommended to us by friends and we are telling our friends about it. The show is in a previous movie theater so all of seats are pretty good. The center section is always the best for any show. They do sell snacks if you are planning on going to dinner afterwards.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 468PennyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulalena by Maui Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Ulalena by Maui Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing