We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the time and money”

Ulalena by Maui Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.00*
and up
Ulalena Show at Maui Theatre
Ranked #4 of 19 Concerts & Shows in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 'Ulalena is a world-renowned Hawaiian theatre production dedicated to telling the story of Hawaii's people. The critically acclaimed stage show outlines the islands’ creation, transformation and rebirth by integrating ancient Hawaiian history with state-of-the-art theater technology, and stunning music, chant, dance and acrobatics. 'Ulalena speaks to the imagination and inspires the human spirit to keep the Hawaiian culture alive. An invaluable cultural experience and a must-do on Maui!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth the time and money”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We opted to buy tickets for the show only, although there is a dinner package available. We prefer to dine leisurely and not worry about timing. The Ulalena show is captivating and thoroughly enjoyable. It tells the story of Maui with music, dance, acrobats, customes and special effects. The aerial acrobat in the waterfall is especially beautiful and mesmerizing. The scene changes are varied enough to keep you interested and the music performed by a live band using some unusual and exotic instruments is very powerful. After the show we had a chance to meet and speak to the performers who have all led fascinating careers. The show has been going for 13 years.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kinn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    205
    100
    29
    32
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
217 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wife loved it”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We got a package deal with dinner at Ruth'sCriss , great dinner, this also gave us VIP seating. A very high production show.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank bullwinkle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Ulalena is Beautifully Done”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a nightly showing of Ulalena. The show was absolutely fabulous and authentic Hawaiian. The music and dancing where traditional and unique at the same time. The set and the props were colorful and imaginative. It kept our attention for the entire 90 minutes. The performers were engaged in the story and did a great job connecting with the audience. We purchased the dinner package and ate at Ruth Chris' Steak House before the shore. The meal was fantastic. We then received VIP seats and were in the second row, and think we had the best seats in the house. I would recommend this show to everyone visiting Maui.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank swilson628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetaskiwin, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This show is a history of the islands performed by a hard working cast and directors. It may not be everyone's choice but should see it once. It is a very nice theatre.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayner48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A spectacular performance!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

An absolutely beautiful show depicting the many people's who have made the Islands what they are today. We enjoyed it so much, we plan on seeing it again next time we go back. Very professionally done, it's a must see!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AZtraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulalena by Maui Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Ulalena by Maui Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing